We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
199 Kings Road Arches | The Fishing Quarter Brighton Beach, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
+44 1273 958242
Website
Today
10:00 - 18:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:00 - 18:00
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

This fishstand is something above the ordinary. We bought a bottle of Court Garden Sparkling wine from Ten Green Bottles and went down to this beach "restaurant". Its like a small stand with counters with a variaty of seafood, squids, lobster, crayfish, prawns etc specially cooked and marinated. We do as we do, ordered a lot of small plates and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Per F
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

I remember you very well. Thank you for leaving such a great review. Please , do come back to see us very soon Regards Cliff More 

Geneva
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2016

Lovely little fresh seafood hut with the freshest and most delicious seafood bites going. The fresh local lobster is simply awesome. Enjoy stopping by to this friendly little find whilst strolling the beach front lower promenade, you won't regret it (if you love seafood)! P.S. The anchovies were great too!

Helpful?
Thank DiveSailSkiTrek
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review & for mentioning some of the delicious items we offer. The local lobster is always prepared by me personally. I am glad you liked it. Regards Cliff More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Visited this stall on my first day of my first ever trip to Brighton. Tried the crab and prawn mix which, served with a small melba toast, was really yummy. Am going back again tomorrow for a larger portion! All manner of seafood on the stall including oysters, lobster and octopus. A very popular place.

Helpful?
Thank Irenepmi
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to visit us. I am so pleased you liked our crab & prawn mayo. We will be very pleased to see you again & again Regards Cliff More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Shared half a dozen gorgeous Jersey oysters (with homemade lime and chilli sauce) and some extremely tasty fresh crabmeat with the hubby. Utterly perfect!

Helpful?
Thank Georgina C
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We love great reviews Regards Cliff More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016

Nice location, great and fresh seafood, homemade sauces. Really surprised, everything was delicious and I'm not a raw seafood fan! I will come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fiamma33
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a try. We love new customers Regards Cliff More 

newcastle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Brilliant oysters,seafood and beach position the place is well worth a visit although it is just a stall on the seafront at the end of the day but the tables and chairs round the back for customers make it fantastic

Helpful?
Thank sharky1999
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

The table & chairs were this years new addition. I am glad you like them. Please come & see us again very soon Regards Cliff More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2016

Nice little seafood booth by the sea offering plenty of choices. The seafood looked fresh and delicious. The service was quick and friendly. Ordered 4 oysters (2 different types) and a lobster tail. The oysters were delicious, yum, however the imitation lobster tail was a let down, it was bland, I should have ordered their fresh lobster instead. The place... More 

Helpful?
Thank pinkysnowflake
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. I am sorry about the imitation lobster tail, but it is what it is & as you say we also offer Fresh lobster portions as well. Maybe next time ! We cook & pick the lobster ourselves & I must say it is wonderful. Regards Cliff More 

Pallíni, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016

I went to The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar because of the TripAdvisor reviews , but I have to say I was very disappointed. I got a mix , which was tasteless.

Helpful?
Thank George S
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with your purchase. It would have been nice if you had come back to us , so we could offer you something else in exchange or a refund. We are very nice people & would have been happy to do so. Regards Cliff More 

Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely warm day, cycle along the prom, sat on the beach eating perfectly cooked and fresh seafood. Baby octopus, juicy prawns and crab buns. Pretty much perfect other than the braying idiot on the next table trying to impress his new girlfriend. Still can't have everything and we won't blame the bar owner.

Helpful?
Thank andyt1993
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Love your review, Thank you. I can offer what we hope is always great seafood. Sorry the entertainment on other tables is beyond our control sometimes . Thanks again Cliff More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Amazing fresh crayfish tails for breakfast - soo good we came back for oysters later - highly recommended xxx

Helpful?
Thank Marina W
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. We are very pleased we you enjoyed your visit Regards Cliff More 

Travellers who viewed The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7
Cuisine
Seafood, Fast food, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 21:00
Monday
10:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 18:00
Thursday
10:00 - 18:00
Friday
10:00 - 18:00
Saturday
10:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 199 Kings Road Arches | The Fishing Quarter Brighton Beach, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 958242
Description
Well its that time again. Our summer season is coming to an end. ITS HOLIDAY TIME FOR US !!!! We will be back refreshed with lots of new ides next year, Mid February to be exact. Have a great Christmas & a happy New Year...

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?