We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White's Seafood & Steak Bar

44-45 George Street | Old Town, Hastings TN34 3EA, England
+44 1424 719846
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good21%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (271 reviews)
“seafood” (233 reviews)
“steak” (171 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Wine Bar, Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
44-45 George Street | Old Town, Hastings TN34 3EA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Was not overly impressed sorry. I felt sorry for my friend who was treating me. I would not be in a hurry to return.

Thank jeanjohnston2016
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Service from joe was brilliant. The Price was good and the food amazing. 🤘💪🏻 Definetly going back there

1  Thank Reviewer1289
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Let me start of by saying, £5.85 for a San Miguel. That price for that beer is a joke. There are very few draft lagers i would accept at that price. The mussels served with "Artisan Bread", there was nothing Artisan about this bread. A...More

Thank JLeac01
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Superb food and service.. This place is something very special. Both myself and my wife was made to feel very welcome and wanted for nothing.... The food was amazing we had starters main and dessert. Cannot fault any of it Delicious! This place just got...More

Thank Jackjody
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Passed by this place in the day and perused the menu and booked for that evening. Would have liked the fish pie but they had sold out .Second choice was fish stew .Along came bowls of lemon wedges and water to rinse fingers and bowl...More

2  Thank Himbug
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was good except the maim meal ,Had Garlic king prawns tasty but so overcooked, could hardly remove the shell as they were so mushy.not good at all. Was not asked if i enjoyed my meal if i had been i could have mentioned this...More

2  Thank BoardingPass605161
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The squid and prawn starters were great, the garlic sauce on the mussels was very poor, totally tasteless, looked and tasted like plain milk, no flavor at all. The sizzle dish was also very tasteless. Never got to the main course. The staff were very...More

2  Thank gillibeeni
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went with my wheelchair-bound father-in-law as he loves fish. So after parking so easily and conveniently nearby, we were blown away by the range of fish available. My preferences of fish are a bit limited, but the sea bass was delicious, despite the bones(!),...More

2  Thank pdt2
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My mum and I had a meal here recently and and it was just excellent. We both had mussels and fish 'n chips, which were fresh, delicate and delicious. There's a good wine list too. Our only complaint would be the handling of people waiting...More

1  Thank Nicola S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's best to get here early if you want to enjoy outside seating as it gets very busy. Came here for wine and scallops and enjoyed both. Service was friendly and efficient and the standard of food is exceeds most other eating places. A real...More

1  Thank Brilliana
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Hastings
Lansdowne
327 reviews
.71 km away
Chatsworth Hotel
290 reviews
.74 km away
The White Rock Hotel
501 reviews
1.07 km away
Travelodge Hastings
731 reviews
1.47 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Di Polas
352 reviews
.04 km away
Boulevard Bookshop and Thai Cafe
351 reviews
.01 km away
Hanushka Coffee House
323 reviews
.03 km away
Isabella
254 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cliff Railways - West Hill & East Hill
742 reviews
.13 km away
Smugglers Adventure
718 reviews
.33 km away
Jerwood Gallery
318 reviews
.36 km away
Hastings Lifeboat Station Visitors Centre
38 reviews
.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jerri B
April 16, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Alexseafood | Property representative |
Hi-- Thankyou for your enquiry. The best thing would be to ring the restaurant directly on 01424 719846. All our menu is special :) , but if you are looking for a 'set' menu I'm afraid we wouldn't be able to offer one on... More
0
Votes
irisflower_gb
November 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Alexseafood | Property representative |
Hi IrisI am very offended by you question, we redecorate the restaurant every year and yes the same colours (black and white). It works for us with solid oak tables and chairs wooden flooring and church pews. We have one off... More
3
Votes
irem y
May 19, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Pompeygirl1972 | Reviewed this property |
They sure do. It's a steak and fish restaurant so a varied mix. But various other choices too. Can recommend the goats cheese starter, it's huge for a starter, but very tasty!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$46
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Digital Payments
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 44-45 George Street | Old Town, Hastings TN34 3EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Hastings
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 719846
Description
Whites is in the heart of the historic town of Hastings and Battle. Doing the best seafood that Hastings has to offer. We try and use as much local produce as we can, using our own R.X fishing fleet for example.Our biggest seller by far is fresh English mussels, we sell in excess of 150 to 250 kilo's a week.And of course local haddock or cod with homemade tartar sauce.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing