We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White's Seafood & Steak Bar

44-45 George Street | Old Town, Hastings TN34 3EA, England
+44 1424 719846
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good21%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (284 reviews)
“seafood” (242 reviews)
“steak” (178 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Wine Bar, Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
44-45 George Street | Old Town, Hastings TN34 3EA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Ate here New Years Eve with family, service excellent the staff were very attentive. The food was delicious and piping hot. I wouldn't have chosen to eat here going off menus online, so just remember when you get there the specials board has a wide...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Hrh68
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food and service at this restaurant is very good. The food is well cooked and very well presented. The staff are very attentive and friendly. We had some delicious seafood and steaks served with fresh salads and really good fries. The evening was slightly...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Lysias54
Reviewed December 15, 2018 via mobile

First time visit, friendly and welcoming waitress, varied and interesting lunch menu. We had crispy, seasoned whitebait to start, the plaice and chips (chips slightly undercooked,) a tasty crab dish and the best pork belly I have ever had. A huge portion for £9.95. Will...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank emmacowdrill
Reviewed December 6, 2018 via mobile

Excellent seafood and meat dishes, quick and friendly service even when it’s busy and altogether a great experience. Would definitely recommend booking a table beforehand to avoid disappointment

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank harrietk506
Reviewed November 30, 2018 via mobile

Really great fish resturant ask if you can sit on the kitchen table and you can watch the chef do all the cooking. Great experience great food and great staff. Well worth a visit

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank 936richardk
Reviewed November 28, 2018

This place was really busy (it WAS a lovely summers evening) and it certainly appeared to be the best of a rather sad lot in the George st area. Because of this we were obliged to sit inside, nothing inspiring but certainly homely. We both...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Leeanne M
Reviewed November 18, 2018 via mobile

Even when it is an empty restaurant at 5.30pm,they are not at all helpful with any reservation or suggestion of one even in the future, very snotty , and apparently not very good, ate elsewhere will not re-visit,they are bad ambassadors, for the town of...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 97perryb
Reviewed November 16, 2018 via mobile

A lovely evening with friends, beautiful environment and good value menu. The steaks were apparently delicious and cooked perfectly, my grilled prawns in garlic and mussels were divine. The girls were lovely who served our food, friendly, smiley and polite. Nice quality and reasonably priced.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Taniabellamia
Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

A lovely place to sit outside in the sunshine... food was excellent and very filling... I would highly recommend the belly pork... my partner enjoyed his fish he said the batter was lovely and light.... portion sizes are very generous so would suggest that you...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank diziblond
Reviewed November 4, 2018

Had a super lunch - most restaurants are shut on a monday so we were lucky to find this little gem. Sat outside and it was windy but on a hot summers day am sure it is just right. Perhaps they should think of putting...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Jane G
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Hastings
Lansdowne
330 reviews
.71 km away
Chatsworth Hotel
296 reviews
.74 km away
The White Rock Hotel
516 reviews
1.07 km away
Travelodge Hastings
766 reviews
1.47 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Di Polas
355 reviews
.04 km away
Boulevard Bookshop and Thai Cafe
371 reviews
.01 km away
Hanushka Coffee House
334 reviews
.03 km away
Isabella
262 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cliff Railways - West Hill & East Hill
760 reviews
.13 km away
Smugglers Adventure
733 reviews
.33 km away
Jerwood Gallery
329 reviews
.36 km away
Hastings Lifeboat Station Visitors Centre
41 reviews
.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
511jerrib
April 16, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Alexseafood | Property representative |
Hi-- Thankyou for your enquiry. The best thing would be to ring the restaurant directly on 01424 719846. All our menu is special :) , but if you are looking for a 'set' menu I'm afraid we wouldn't be able to offer one on... More
0
Votes
irisflower_gb
November 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Alexseafood | Property representative |
Hi IrisI am very offended by you question, we redecorate the restaurant every year and yes the same colours (black and white). It works for us with solid oak tables and chairs wooden flooring and church pews. We have one off... More
4
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$45
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Digital Payments
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 44-45 George Street | Old Town, Hastings TN34 3EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Hastings
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 719846
Description
Whites is in the heart of the historic town of Hastings and Battle. Doing the best seafood that Hastings has to offer. We try and use as much local produce as we can, using our own R.X fishing fleet for example.Our biggest seller by far is fresh English mussels, we sell in excess of 150 to 250 kilo's a week.And of course local haddock or cod with homemade tartar sauce.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing