We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Pearl - CLOSED

9 George Street, Hastings TN34 3EG, England
+44 1424 719919
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good22%
  • Average3%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
28 Jun 2016
“live in london travel to eastbourne”
12 Jan 2016
“You gotta give it a try”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Mediterranean, British, Seafood, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 George Street, Hastings TN34 3EG, England
All Details
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2016

we travel from London all the way to Eastbourne just to eat at the black pearl, excellent service, food is really good. the people there are sooo friendly. lobster is to die for. if your driving that way pop in and have a meal.

1  Thank susie573
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

Me and my wife love this place it's really good food excellent service and very well priced, we have never had a bad meal nor had bad service here, the owners are very friendly and welcoming and they can never seem to do enough for...More

1  Thank Marc K
Reviewed 16 October 2015

My wife and I had lunch here last weekend and I was surprised at how good the food was. I go to the old town often and I have always just passed by this little gem by, but I will be coming back again here...More

Thank 2greatdanes
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Black Pearl has closed and has been replaced with Larder which is run by new owners. Food is now very different to that offered by Black Pearl. I have no association with either set of owners.. Just letting people know

5  Thank patrick0_london
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Very yummy food, lovely atmosphere. Very friendly bar/wait staff. Waitress was very accomodating and helpful with the food choices and wine. Definately going here again.

Thank Kirbi44
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

Stumbled upon this here tavern so we did, and on none other than the day of pirates. Let me indulge myself in my review. It be a top place to sit and dine says I. The staff be exceptional, not only in their welcoming, friendliness...More

Thank James B
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Only went in here as we were struggling to find a table elsewhere for lunch and I'm so glad that I did! Not the largest menu in the world, but a large enough selection to ensure there is bound to be something you like. The...More

Thank Dave J
Reviewed 15 June 2015

We were walking around Hasting and came across this place, inside it was very traditional looking pub with a modern twist. The staff were lovely and everything was dealt with brilliantly. I had a whole plaice with potatoes and a beautiful side salad, WOW it...More

Thank Tina C
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

Thank you for the lovely compliment!!! I am so pleased that you all enjoyed your meals and look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Reviewed 3 June 2015

We booked this restaurant based on reviews but weren't disappointed. The staff were helpful and accommodating, and when asked for a vegetarian pancake dish no longer on the menu, the kitchen was happy to make it for me. You can eat downstairs in the bar...More

Thank Crystal49
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

So pleased you were not disappointed!! And thank you for putting your review on as well. We hope to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile

Excellent cocktails (2 for £8 at lunch time every day!) Also had the fish platter which was yummy! The staff are always really friendly, love it here! Will keep going back! Also a plus that they do food throughout the day!

Thank Lauren B
BlackPearlRestaurant, Owner at Black Pearl, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2015

Glad you enjoyed the cocktails, we make them fresh to order with only the best ingredients, and the fish is bought from the fishermen on the beach, freshly caught!!! We look forward to seeing you again :)

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hanushka Coffee House
282 reviews
.04 km away
Radley's
243 reviews
.08 km away
Latham's Brasserie
463 reviews
.05 km away
Boulevard Bookshop and Thai Cafe
312 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Smugglers Adventure
638 reviews
.28 km away
Hastings Miniature Railway
172 reviews
.09 km away
Hastings Castle
356 reviews
.26 km away
Hastings Lifeboat Station Visitors Centre
21 reviews
.21 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$8 - US$26
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 George Street, Hastings TN34 3EG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Hastings
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 719919
  • E-mail
Description
Located in the heart of the Historic Old Town of Hastings, Black Pearl offers quality cuisine in a charming atmosphere. The ground floor wine bar offers an informal and vibrant atmosphere, whilst the nicely decorated & cozy first floor dining rooms offer intimate dining.Our menus change frequently to reflect seasonal variations. Every dish is made of quality fresh ingredients that compliment one another perfectly to enhance the flavours. Both our lunch and a la carte menus include local fish, shellfish & meat dishes, and a selection suitable for Vegetarians and Vegans.We offer a great value for money weekday menu and cater for large groups or parties including company functions.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing