We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Grill

) #23 of 79 Restaurants in Rye $$ - $$$ , British,
98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
+44 1797 222114
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good27%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“gambas” (18 reviews)
“steak” (84 reviews)
“poussin” (17 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I wouldn't disagree with the previous comments re the quality of the food - it was excellent. A decent pint of Harveys and all was well with the world. Nothing wrong with the service and we didn't find the restaurant to be overly noisy -...More

Thank DaveGTW
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear 'DaveGTW' Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we're delighted to hear you had an enjoyable visit to us recently and that you had good service. Our service charge is entirely discretionary. We hope you'll come and visit us again soon!...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very charming and welcoming restaurant. The interior and atmosphere is a perfect backdrop for a good time out. We had a wonderful and very tasty lunch. Our waiter was always at hand to check that everything was ok. The hotel was busy...More

Thank ladysystad
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear ladysystad We were delighted to read your feedback, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and please come and see us again soon! With best wishes The George in Rye

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent food but two things let it down slightly, one was the length of time you had to wait for the food - which by the way was cooked to perfection, the second was the level of noise from other diners, I appreciate that this...More

Thank Carol p
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 'Carol p' Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind reviews both here and on our Hotel page. We enjoyed having you to stay and we're very pleased to hear you found the food to be cooked to perfection. We do...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The soup starter was unusual but enjoyable but frankly there are so many better places to eat in Rye we only went here the once. I had the fish and chips but for a seaside restaurant the portion was small and the peas you could...More

Thank Thisisus
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 'Thisisus' Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here. We're pleased you enjoyed your soup but sorry that your overall experience fell short of expectations. We try to offer something to suit all tastes and budgets on our menu...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you for ruining a special occasion for us. The afternoon tea was appalling. For starters, why a builders mug and a saucer? Why not a teacup? Why dry sandwiches - one salmon that must of been cut with a razor blade, one see through...More

Thank jenny6100
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear ‘jenny6100’ We’re genuinely sorry to hear that your experience with us fell so short of expectations. Our signature ‘g’ mugs are popular with our guests and are made from fine bone china. We’re sorry to hear that the sandwiches and cakes were disappointing. We...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had the pepper calamari to start and shared the ribeye and half grilled lobster with my wife. Very nicely done. Attentive service. Tried a local lager, Curiosity?, and loved it. My wife explored the bold an spicy section of the wine list. Prices were comparable...More

Thank Robert H
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 'Robert H' Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of The Grill here. We're delighted to hear you had an amazing meal and that you wouldn't hesitate to return. Until next time! With best wishes The George in Rye

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A few days ago I had lunch at The George, after recommendations from friends. I ordered the ribeye that was on the menu, and I always have my steaks Medium. When our plates arrived after a reasonable interval, I cut into my rather firm feeling...More

Thank steenbucket
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ‘steenbucket’ We were of course saddened to read your feedback and we’re sorry to hear that your meal with us fell short of expectations. Whilst we would never use a microwave, we take your feedback seriously and we’re glad to hear our staff took...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Found this place by chance but wow, what a find. 3 fabulous courses, superb fish, great service and an excellent location. We will be back!!!

Thank IanEmMiaandEthan
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 'IanEmMiaandEthan' We were so thrilled to see your kind review. We very much enjoyed looking after you and we look forward to seeing you again soon! With best wishes The George in Rye

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Intended to eat here with a colleague. I arrived first, and waited at the bar to be served. The bartender clearly knew i was waiting -(hard to miss at 6' 2" tall) finished serving a lady at the opposite end. He then blatantly bypassed me...More

Thank Keith N
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Keith N We’re sorry if you felt ignored when you came to visit us recently. When the bar is busy our bar staff do their best to serve people in the order they arrive so that no one is waiting for too long. We...More

Reviewed 8 July 2017

Three of us had lunch in the bar section - nicely decorated room and with great fresh flower arrangements. The service, unfortunately was very poor - not the fault of the staff, who were keen to please, but they were obviously inadequately trained. Regarding drinks...More

Thank TonyGeorge59
GeorgeinRye, Guest Relations Manager at The George Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear TonyGeorge59 Thank you taking the time to leave your feedback. We’re pleased to hear your food was excellent and we hope you do come and stay with us next time you’re in the area! We’ve taken your constructive comments up with our Restaurant team...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mahdi Spice
291 reviews
.14 km away
The Fig
221 reviews
.14 km away
The Union Steakhouse
469 reviews
.09 km away
Tuscan Kitchen Rye
655 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Mary's Parish Church
573 reviews
.10 km away
Ypres Tower Museum
225 reviews
.20 km away
Rye Heritage Centre
287 reviews
.29 km away
The World of Legend & The Theatre of Wonder
42 reviews
.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mark C
19 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from GeorgeinRye | Property representative |
Hello Mark C We welcome well-behaved (and not too large!) dogs in our bar area and in the Courtyard garden. Unfortunately we cannot allow them in the main restaurant or in the rooms. We hope this helps, but please don't... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25 - US$25
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 98 High Street, Rye TN31 7JT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Rye
  • Phone Number: +44 1797 222114
  • E-mail
Description
The George Grill and our bar, The George Tap, are temples of all day dining, serving a modern European menu with a sunny, Mediterranean slant. At the heart of the kitchen is a Josper wood-charcoal grill, where our kitchen team, led by Robert Wright fast-cook seafood just caught from Rye Bay, local meats and vegetables. The George Tap offers a large range of wine by the glass, including those from vineyards in East Sussex and Kent.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing