We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marlborough Head Inn

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Mill Lane | Dedham, Essex, CO7 6DH, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6DH, England
+44 1206 323250
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 181: English reviews
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A day trip out by coach gave us about three hours in Dedham and we needed an early lunch. The Marlborough Head was only just opening at 11.30 but when we explained our need, the Bar Manager Rob made us welcome and got it organised. Husband had jacket potato with cheese, coleslaw, salad and two packs of butter, giant portion!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz H
Jen059, Owner at Marlborough Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words Liz. Glad to know all our hard work is appreciated. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely meal in this beautiful old building. The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Good choice on the menu of above average food.

Helpful?
1 Thank freddiebooboo
Jen059, Owner at Marlborough Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. Always helps everyone to know that all they do is appreciated. More 

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped in for a quick drink and sandwich...45 minutes for food to arrive. Not good especially as was not busy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel F
Jen059, Owner at Marlborough Head Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry your food took 45mins to arrive. Our aim is 20mins however at busy times, and this was an Easter bank holiday weekend, it can take longer as it is all freshly prepared to order. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With the weather becoming nice and warm, on Sunday 9th April, we decided to have a day out in the countryside. We stopped off in Dedham (halfway between Ipswich and Colchester) and came across The Marlborough Head. What a delight! Beautiful old building, first class customer service and the most delicious roast beef i have had for a long time.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
Jen059, Owner at Marlborough Head Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. Very glad you enjoyed our locally sourced roast beef. And yes, you're right we have just had a management change, and yes it does make a big difference and quite a few changes are now taking place. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was expecting a lot from this pub - with its great location, lovely building and the menu was quite pricey. I ordered roast pork and what I received was awful. I got two slices of water thin pork, one inch long piece of crackling, two boiled potatoes, two roast potatoes that had clearly come from a bag of frozen aunt... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank sjwoo2323
Jen059, Owner at Marlborough Head Inn, responded to this review

a change of management and chef has now taken place and standards are far better again. I'm very sorry you had a bad experience but please do give us another try now. More 

Maldon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great dog friendly pub, however after ordering their rather pricey ploughmans at £11.50 with hand carved Suffolk ham, coleslaw, cheddar, pickled onions couldn't wait to tuck in, what a disappointment what was served up was Value ham which the dogs did enjoy and processed cheese again the dogs did enjoy and coleslaw I would not have given this to anyone... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JulieGGG
Jen059, Owner at Marlborough Head Inn, responded to this review

a change of management and chef has now taken place and standards are far better again. I'm very sorry you had a bad experience but please do give us another try now. More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited in September and had a lovely meal, returned today and what a difference. Ordered exactly the same meal and it was unrecognisable. We had funnily enough taken a photo of Septembers meal as it was our wedding anniversary. The meal today consisted of factory produced frozen burger which very greasy with shop bought cheap coleslaw. The burger was... More 

Helpful?
Thank hydeabi
Jen059, Owner at Marlborough Head Inn, responded to this review

a change of management and chef has now taken place and standards are far better again. I'm so very sorry you had a bad experience but please do give us another try now. More 

Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

if ever there was a property whose outside promise was so badly let down by its interior and its service then this pub is it. I would have thought in a prosperous tourist area such as this the Landlord would have paid attention and brought his business up to standard. Instead, on a beautiful Spring day, there were only two... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandTrisha_11
Jen059, Owner at Marlborough Head Inn, responded to this review

a change of management and chef has now taken place and standards are far better again. I'm so very sorry you had a bad experience but please do give us another try now. More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Don't go here to eat if you are very hungry. If you're not already a pensioner you will be by the time you get served. Waited an hour to be served a cold, hard jacket spud with chewy shrimps (coleslaw was nice), and a burger with fries that tasted like they'd been cooked in 1985. Strange place. Take a picnic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey N
Jen059, Owner at Marlborough Head Inn, responded to this review

a change of management and chef has now taken place and standards are far better again. I'm so very sorry you had a bad experience but please do give us another try now. More 

Dedham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

My family and friends have been here regularly, the food is good quality and drinks are a fair price. Have recently changed hands and new management are working hard to improve the overall quality. The atmosphere is good with beautiful roaring fires which are tended to frequently. Have not stayed but rooms are available and some are being refurbished. Children... More 

Helpful?
Thank bev432

Travellers who viewed Marlborough Head Inn also viewed

Dedham, Colchester
 

Been to Marlborough Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$14
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mill Lane | Dedham, Essex, CO7 6DH, Dedham, Colchester CO7 6DH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Colchester  >  Dedham
  • Phone Number: +44 1206 323250
Description
Tucked away in glorious Constable Country, in the village of Dedham, this 16th century Inn was once a clearing house for local wool merchants. Today it is as perfect for a pint, newspaper,sofa,two roaring log fires, as it is for locally sourced extremely good home cooked food. There is a terrace and walled garden to enjoy in the warmer weather. Stocking Cask marque local real ales, good wines and open all day, every day, for good food and drink.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Marlborough Head Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Colchester, United Kingdom
3 days ago
Dedham
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Marlborough Head Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?