We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greedy Goose

) #5 of 32 Restaurants in Moreton-in-Marsh $$ - $$$ , British,
Salford Hill | The Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SP, England
+44 1608 646551
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (56 reviews)
“beef” (26 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Salford Hill | The Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 486 reviews

Reviewed today

Friendly and efficient service (especially Cara) Lovely home cooked food and excellent value for money Highly recommended

Thank nigeljobling
Reviewed yesterday

We met some friends of ours on Sunday 13th August it being halfway between us.~ A welcoming smile took us to our table and a very enjoyable lunch it was. A good selection to choose from and just the right amount of good quality food...More

Thank tonym502016
Reviewed yesterday

We had a family birthday to celebrate and booked a table for six for Sunday lunch. We were all impressed with the food and the service. The staff were excellent and very attentive. The atmosphere was good as was the beer. My husband always likes...More

Thank Jan M
Reviewed 2 days ago

We visited for the first time this evening, so glad we did, everything was fantastic from start to finish. I enjoyed a delicious vegetarian meal, my husband had the famous Cotswold burger (not to be underestimated!) & our daughter the had pizza. We also enjoyed...More

1  Thank Elayne H
Reviewed 3 days ago

Our roast Sunday evening dinner was composed of warmed over meat and vegetables from Sunday lunchtime. The meat was done to death, the veg were decomposing, and the Yorkshire puddings were burned. When we complained we received replacement burned Yorkshires, they had obviously been in...More

2  Thank F1910NManthonys
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for one night, and had a lovely stay in one of the glamping pods. Hand built by the friendly landlord, these were a cosy and comfy place to stay. Easy check in and check out, handy location. The only thing which would get...More

Thank Emma L
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for choosing to stay in one of our cabins and for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Found initial welcome from the young girl behind the bar to be very cold and unwelcoming we were going to stop for a sandwich but poor selection no obvious menus or forthcoming information and what was on offer was quite expensive. We had our drinks...More

Thank Robster952
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am so sorry you were not offered our normal, warm welcome. This will be discussed with our team. Thank you for alerting us.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On holiday in the Cotswolds and decided to give this place a try. So pleased we did. Myself, hubby and our little girl all had the roast beef dinner and it was gorgeous. Huge portions... the meat just melted in our mouths - so tender....More

1  Thank Daisyrosie
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your holiday meal with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped for Saturday lunch whilst travelling to another part of the Cotswolds. We were greeted with a friendly welcome and were seated in the bar. Our order was taken promptly and the food arrive shortly afterwards. We opted for the excellent local sausages and...More

Thank Bad Bob
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your comments and for recommending The Greedy Goose. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Car park full and pub busy. We went for a meal and both decided to have pizza. They were both different and neither looked appealing when they came. My friend said hers wasn't that good. Both over cooked. I had the salmon and king prawn,...More

Thank Yassos9
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your pizzas. If there is ever a problem, our team will always try and put things right but thank you for alerting us. We aim to serve good value, good quality meals and are grateful for all feedback.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Lion Inn
200 reviews
1.83 km away
The Red Lion
357 reviews
3.97 km away
Daylesford Organic Farm Cafe
490 reviews
3.99 km away
Wild Thyme Restaurant and Rooms
475 reviews
4.61 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rollright Stones
233 reviews
3.24 km away
The Cookery School at Daylesford
20 reviews
3.88 km away
St Nicholas Church
25 reviews
4.92 km away
The King’s Head Inn
6 reviews
6.69 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
amy1333
12 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Samantha R | Property representative |
Dogs are very welcome guests in The Greedy Goose's bar and snug (but not in the main restaurant).
1
Vote
28 October 2016|
Answer
Response from chefmarek | Property representative |
Hi, that shouldn't be a problem, could you call Matt on 01608 646551
0
Votes
Hoolab
30 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mintyWarwickshire | Reviewed this property |
Sorry Hoolab, I am not the owner only a satisfied customer!! I only noticed in the menu that they offered to discuss their menu incase of any allergies - but didn't notice an actual 'gluten free' section. Check out their... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Salford Hill | The Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Moreton-in-Marsh
  • Phone Number: +44 1608 646551
  • E-mail
Description
The Greedy Goose is a perfect retreat for anyone wanting to enjoy good quality food and drink. You can expect a very warm welcome whether you are meeting family, friends or need a unique venue in which to host an event.

Inside this pretty Cotswold pub, you will find a space to suit every social occasion from cosy corners, a private dining room and a stylish restaurant. Good food is available for lunch and dinner and parties, celebrations and receptions can be catered for. There is a delicious selection of beers and wines to choose from and a lovely walled garden in which to enjoy a drink outside.

If you love nights under the stars, the 25-pitch campsite and four custom-made cabins make The Greedy Goose an ideal base from which to tour the beautiful Cotswolds.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing