We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Bakery Tearoom

Digbeth Street | 4, Fountain Court, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1BN, England
+44 1451 832172
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good9%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (117 reviews)
“salad” (35 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Cafe, British, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Digbeth Street | 4, Fountain Court, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1BN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 573 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We hadn't visited this tea shop for many years and it has clearly changed hands in the meantime. To be honest we only went in because it was raining and everywhere else was full, last time it was just okay but this time with new...More

Thank LACBStAlbans
Reviewed 4 days ago

We came across this gem of a tea room on a wander around Stow, and enjoyed the tastiest cream tea imaginable - generous portions (couldn't finish it!) and feather light scones; just delicious all round. Thank you for such a treat on a damp autumn...More

Thank HazelWill
Reviewed 1 week ago

We happened upon this little gem by chance. Cream tea was on our agenda for the last day of our holiday. We were not disappointed, hubby declared 'best cream tea I've tasted for a long time and so reasonably priced too'. Cafe was fairly full...More

Thank _juliehanford
Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate there in the middle of the day. The place was packed. The lunch was light and tasty. Location is back at the end of a long passageway, yet people kept coming in and had to wait for a table.

Thank JohnWard2013
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had heard about this place and at first sight we're not wowed but we ordered Tuna sandwich & cheese & ham sandwich. They came with a side salad full of wonderful ness . The bread was soft and they were both absolutely delicious. The...More

Thank 186349Aimee
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello 186349Aimee It was good to meet you both. Thank you for your comments and we really understand your comments as you walk up the courtyard, but pleased that when inside you understood what makes us tick! Everything is prepared freshly to order which we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called into Stow on the Wold to do some shopping and called into this tea room for lunch. The place is not very big but we were lucky to get a table. The food is top quality and reasonably priced. Coffee is excellent. Staff...More

Thank roy587
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello roy587 We are not big, tucked away but well signed and as you saw, very popular and busy! We've always aimed to keep our prices as reasonable as possible - there's no need to rip people off just because we are in the Cotswolds...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and my partner visited here on August 28th, bank holiday for a light lunch. This lovely tearoom is hidden away from the busy main street. A very warm and friendly welcome and got the last table available. We knew we wanted a scone but...More

Thank OliPun
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello OliPun You were indeed fortunate to have the last table at that time! We do encourage those who have been before to phone ahead and reserve a table - which we are very happy to do. Away from the general hustle and bustle, we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this little tea room as the reviews were so good on TA, we wasn't disappointed either, I had a cream tea with the best scones i've ever eaten and i've eaten some scones too ! We can't say any more, clean plates on...More

Thank horse1uk
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi horse1uk Thank you for taking the time to find us out, and really pleased that the comments and reviews on TripAdvisor were found to be accurate! Scones made every day, with homemade jam, proper tea and rich clotted cream has to be a winner...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a pleasant lunch we had though the waiter was a bit short with us on entry and we had to wait a while for our lunch, he told us the length it would take after he gave us our drinks so we had...More

Thank raycambs
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello raycambs Thank you for your visit to us and I apologise if I appeared to be "short" with you. I, "the waiter" am the owner, so I take full responsibility. I have to say that I am slightly perplexed as to your comments and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a very nice Coronation Chicken sandwich and cheese and ham melt. Both delicious. Excellent hot chocolate too.More

Thank VickyA7
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi VickyA7 Coronation chicken is probably one of our best selling sandwich fillings - along with fresh bread from a local bakery in Winchcombe and Jackie's homemade coronation sauce - it seems to work! Likewise, the cheese melt with a choice of toppings and proper...More

Nearby Restaurants
The Hive
147 reviews
.04 km away
New England Coffee House
314 reviews
.07 km away
352 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Edward's Church
173 reviews
.20 km away
Stow Visitor Information Centre
15 reviews
.14 km away
The Borzoi Bookshop
12 reviews
.16 km away
Peter Martin Gallery
6 reviews
.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
30 April 2017|
Response from Alan S | Property representative |
Good morning We are able to cater for you - indeed we served a family just last week with the same dietary requirements. Its a little more restricted but still good! Please let me know dates, times and number of people... More
Siobhan W
21 February 2017|
Response from Alan S | Property representative |
Hi. Dogs are very welcome. We do accept bookings if you would like to be sure of a table in advance. Thanks.
25 September 2016|
Response from Alan S | Property representative |
We can adapt our regular menu where possible. It is fairly limited as cheese and eggs are widely used but can offer good salad and potato options. We have entertained vegans pretty often in the past. Thanks.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$3 - US$20
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Discover, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
10:00 - 16:00
10:00 - 16:00
10:00 - 16:00
10:00 - 16:00
10:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Digbeth Street | 4, Fountain Court, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1BN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Stow-on-the-Wold
  • Phone Number: +44 1451 832172
  • E-mail
We are an owner operated traditional tearoom. Much of our menu is made here on the premises, including Soups, Dressings, Sauces, Jams and of course all of our cakes and scones.We make everything from basic ingredients, not pre prepared mixes.Our coffee and tea is Fairtrade. The coffee is freshly ground and we use loose leaf tea, with the exception of herbal teas.We aim to source our produce locally as we believe in supporting local suppliers where possible.We also provide a wide selection of Gluten Free meals, including homemade Gluten Free scones, so a cream tea can be had by everyone!Vegetarian options are always available. We are visited by many customers time and time again, along with strong support from locals who live in the town. Regular hours are 10am to 4.00Pm (5pm Saturdays). Please note we are closed on Sundays and Thursdays. Do ring to check if you are coming from a distance. Bookings for tables is welcomed and often necessary to guarantee a table. Parties catered for.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing