We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alma Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery

Alma Lane | Upham, Southampton SO32 1HE, England
+44 1489 860227
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good32%
  • Average20%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“gammon” (23 reviews)
“roast dinner” (8 reviews)
“pork” (6 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Alma Lane | Upham, Southampton SO32 1HE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife took me there last week for a meal for my birthday, our first time since it became Alma stonehouse carvery and it was awfull. The prices have gone up,portion size apart from the self service items has gone down and the "background" music...More

Thank andy p
General Manager A, Manager at Alma Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Andy P, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us.

Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and her husband invited us to join them last Sunday evening at this pub/restaurant for a meal, we had been to the old Alma on many occasion and found no problem, got to say it was packed this Sunday the table man did...More

1  Thank givenupwork
General Manager A, Manager at Alma Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have been eating here for years but sadly not anymore. Now it has changed hands is far below the standard of the old Alma. We had to ask a staff member about the new process and wandered round to find our own table. We decided...More

1  Thank TracyandJulieS
General Manager A, Manager at Alma Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Where to start. Nothing to say if you should sit first or if you ordered at bar. Then when got ticket for carvery behind 30 otheres the fun began. Once at counter half hour later they had run out of plates meat and yorkshires but...More

Thank andrea d
General Manager A, Manager at Alma Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Andrea D, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Please contact us at 441489860227 when you have an opportunity, and we will be more than happy to try and turn your experience around.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited with daughter and 3 grandchildren for evening mealtime . No one to greet us or inform us of the new system . Found our own table . Went to bar to order food and drinks. Given a buzzer and told this would go off...More

Thank Karen M
General Manager A, Manager at Alma Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Karen M, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us.

Reviewed 3 August 2017

Following news that the Alma had received a refurb and was now a pizza and carvery resturant we decided to check it out. First impressions were good. It was clean and the decor was great with an open pizza prep area so you can see...More

Thank Jess R
General Manager A, Manager at Alma Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Jess R, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us.

Reviewed 3 August 2017

Following news that the Alma had received a refurb and was now a pizza and carvery resturant we decided to check it out. First impressions were good. It was clean and the decor was great with an open pizza prep area so you can see...More

Thank Jess R
General Manager A, Manager at Alma Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Hi Jess R, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Visited as a family group and they had NO vegetarian options! Food was ok when it arrived but it all came out at different times and they reliably forgot something on multiple occasions! I'm afraid there are much better places so go elsewhere.

Thank Gary W
General Manager A, Manager at Alma Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hi Gary, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed 30 July 2017

Been coming here for lunch, dinner ,breakfast for years, always very helpful staff, even in busy times, as for the food always 100% . But not anymore ! bar staff now not helpful and very slow in serving....que was 6 deep just one serving but...More

Thank Dave W
General Manager A, Manager at Alma Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dave W, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us.

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Many previous bad reviews sum up our experience. Nicely done up inside but confusing where to go, ignored by all staff although some were pleasant enough when approached. Food on floors, no carvery options left so ordered 3 pizzas and 1 burger at 19:00. Food...More

Thank Anna C
General Manager A, Manager at Alma Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hi Anna, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Robin Hood
298 reviews
1.55 km away
Evelyn's Traditional Tea Rooms
107 reviews
2.61 km away
Giorgio's Mediterranean Restaurant and Bar
127 reviews
3.82 km away
The Fishers Pond
840 reviews
3.64 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kennet & Avon Canal
65 reviews
2.28 km away
BellaCrafts
6 reviews
2.83 km away
Bishop's Waltham Palace
70 reviews
3.58 km away
Botleigh Grange Spa
60 reviews
6.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
margaret c
13 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Michael S | Reviewed this property |
Hi Sorry for delay, the price is just for the dinner , Desert price separate but not expensive.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$12
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Alma Lane | Upham, Southampton SO32 1HE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southampton
  • Phone Number: +44 1489 860227
Description
At Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery we’re a friendly bunch and pride ourselves on giving the warmest of welcomes. So when you pop over to our place, whether it’s to catch up with friends over a refreshing drink or because you just can’t be bothered to cook, we hope you’ll find it like a home from home – without the washing up!

We’ve something for all the family - from freshly carved, slow cooked roasts, stonebaked pizzas made from 100% fresh dough, tasty pub classics like hand battered fish, plus a range of burgers and vegetarian dishes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing