We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Neill's

) #90 of 157 Restaurants in Winchester $ , British,
90-91 High Street, Winchester SO23 9AP, England
+44 1962 844001
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“curly fries” (2 reviews)
“the pub” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Irish, Gastropub
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
90-91 High Street, Winchester SO23 9AP, England
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arranged a meal for 26 of us on Sunday night, after 3 phone call I eventually got the menu sent by a very helpful lady called Molly. We pre ordered the whole meal, when we arrived the table was all set up but that's...More

Thank Chris W
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Chris, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Although it would have been helpful if you had of given us this feedback on the night so we could have turned the situation around. When checked back to see if everything was...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a Wednesday with a friend looking for a breakfast that filled us up. A friend had mentioned that O'neills had changed their menu, so thought we'd give it a go. We where not disappointed. Full English (Irish) comes in three sizes (we went...More

Thank Jenny S
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Jenny S, thank you so much for the positive review! We hope to see you again soon so you can try and tackle the mega breakfast! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to visit O'Neils as we were visiting Winchester and we got hungry. I am very glad we decided to visit as the food was excellent. The pub was very quiet when we arrived and there was just one bar person who was so...More

Thank Jane F
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Jane, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to O'Neill's Winchester! I have passed on your comments on to Ellie who was working that day and she is over the moon to be recognised! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I ordered the 'Full House' with a pint of guiness for £11.29.....seemed like a good deal.....the guiness was OK...the burger was an abortion. The worst meal I have ever had. The layers of meat were inedible. The pork was weird tasting, the bacon salty, the...More

Thank oilovlam
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Oilovlam, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at 01962844001 when you have a...More

Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Great food Great price Great atmosphere Couldn't recommend a better place to take the family for a meal.More

Thank Diana S
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Diana S, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to O'Neill's Winchester! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have...More

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Good food Good company Staff very attentive Recommended for a quick family meal Quality and range of drinks is great Happy to recommend on price

Thank Chiscom1967
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Great pub with really friendly staff. Great Irish décor and very clean surroundings. I ordered a Guinness which was perfectly served! I ordered the rump steak with sweet potato fry's and Onion rings. The meal arrived quickly The rump steak (Medium rare) was cooked to...More

Thank radar8880
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Hi Radar8880, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience and thank you so much for the great review!! We can't wait to see you again, have a great day from O'Neill's Winchester!!

Reviewed 30 April 2017

We knew that O'Neills in Winchester is a bit of a disaster for food - we have had a few bad experiences in such regard. However we returned today for the first time in over a year for a drink (only). On ordering a pint...More

Thank Nial K
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at O'Neill's Winchester. We are truly sorry that you are upset that we 'ran out of Guinness'. Unfortunately we had a faulty barrel delivered so we ran out prematurely...More

Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Went for family Sunday lunch, ordered roast meals, veg stone cold even after replaced was over microwaved, child's dessert should have been hot arrived cold. Fruit machine ate my cash would not give it back until the engineer was called then was posted to me....More

Thank garryfids
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Hi Garry, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at O'Neill's Winchester take our reviews very seriously. With regards to your review though, most of the issues are a bit distorted. When your veg and custard face were replaced and you received...More

Reviewed 18 February 2017

I and three friends went here yesterday for a farewell lunch, it being my last day at w**k. Nice choice of lunch food, served quickly and very tasty.

Thank Karen27_12
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Hi Karen, thank you for the lovely review! Hopefully we will see you again when you come and visit your old work colleagues!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cote Brasserie - Winchester
516 reviews
.07 km away
La Place Bistro & Froggies Bar
361 reviews
.16 km away
Zizzi - Winchester
510 reviews
.04 km away
Koh Noi
90 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Winchester Cathedral
2,859 reviews
.27 km away
Winchester Castle - The Great Hall
787 reviews
.20 km away
The Royal Green Jackets Museum
162 reviews
.30 km away
Winchester City Museum
142 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from O'Neill's staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$14
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Irish, Gastropub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
10:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 00:00
Thursday
10:00 - 01:00
Friday
10:00 - 02:00
Saturday
10:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 90-91 High Street, Winchester SO23 9AP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Winchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1962 844001
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing