We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bishop on the Bridge

) #39 of 157 Restaurants in Winchester $$ - $$$ , British,
1 High Street, Winchester SO23 9JX, England
+44 1962 855111
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good46%
  • Average16%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (40 reviews)
“roast dinner” (13 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 High Street, Winchester SO23 9JX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 471 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Big group drinking session with a good client and this was a perfect venue. Great seating by the river, broad range of drinks and superb diligent service.

Thank Mark H
Reviewed 5 days ago

How lovely to be beside the river beside "The Mill, pleased with this one , good selection over the bar very popular place food looking good nice atmosphere and very relaxing well worth a visit.

Thank John A
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Lovely location but manager made us feel about as welcome as a turd in the pool. At that price, be nice

Thank matt22315
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visit regularly for a drink or two and occasional food. Can't be faulted. While the drinks aren't cheap it's such a nice ambience they can be forgiven for that.

Thank Gasmangeoff
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Still like this place, service and food are consistently good, but they've dropped Veltins from their beer selection which was one of our main reasons for visiting 😩Oh well, make mine a Peroni. Burger's still good though.

Thank Dixie_Cup_Refil
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Arrgh! I'm so sorry... it may come back you never know. we really do have to go with demand, and it was a slow seller here to be fair...Try the Frontier... that's also a Fullers lager and its proving really popular.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can confirm the main thrust of the other reviews. This place is poor value for money. -The prices are high for small portions; -Some of the food is reheated leftovers; -The service is slow; I had the cheapest Main, at £12.50, which was 2...More

Thank Maxine B
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and sorry that we didn't meet with you expectations, however..... I can confirm that unlike many kitchens we only produce fresh home made food, mostly cooked to order. we don't even have a microwave and I'm delighted to say that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thought this would be a perfect spot to have an early dinner before leaving Winchester. We sat outside at the rear in the sunshine. I went to order the food and drink. The waitress served me very quickly at the bar but her manner was...More

Thank catherg
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm so sorry that we did not meet with your expectations. I will chat with the kitchen team about this. Please call the Bishop, should you want to discuss this further.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff, cozy atmosphere in and out. Lovely large patio with some tables right overlooking the river. Prices high- especially wine, so we left after one drink. Pint of beer and a glass of wine came to almost £13!More

Thank JillCDN
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review.... It really does depend on what you choose .... some wines are as little as £4.50 a glass, so alongside a pint of our finest London Pride it would come to just £8.70. Some of our wines are certainly more...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Prices here are very much at the upper end of the spectrum, but I guess the prime location by the river carries a premium, and one which many a tourist are seemingly happy to pay ! It's pleasant enough here but, location aside, with the...More

Thank threespine
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, and sorry you weren't exactly overwhelmed. Its possible that the branded glass required for your drink may have been warm, and as the Carling glasses have the best head start in the bottom, can occasionally be used as a last...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yes, I had the Summer Ale, and it was good. But we came here for more than beer. This was our main meal, a long lunch that started out with the excellent grilled sardines, on a bed of mixed salad and pesto dressing. Then I...More

Thank AvuncularAmerican
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Well I'm glad you had a great time, but what can I say... we do have a dumb waiter, which is right in the corner behind the bar. But given the choice we all prefer to meet with the chef's in the kitchen at the...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Palm Pan Asia
478 reviews
.16 km away
Chesil Rectory
1,187 reviews
.06 km away
Diya
98 reviews
.08 km away
Rick Stein
1,244 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Winchester Cathedral
2,977 reviews
.45 km away
Winchester City Mill
490 reviews
.03 km away
Statue of Alfred the Great
211 reviews
.11 km away
Wolvesey Castle
198 reviews
.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Vegigal
11 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Nickyhants | Reviewed this property |
Lots in Winchester but not next to pub that I'm aware of.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 High Street, Winchester SO23 9JX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Winchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1962 855111
  • E-mail
Description
Perfectly placed to explore beautiful Winchester, The Bishop on the Bridge is elegantly situated on the bank of the River Itchen. Try a craft beer from a seat in our garden and enjoy our freshly prepared seasonal food while dining al fresco in the sunshine.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing