We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harvester

$
British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Computer Centre 154 St. Albans Road | AL1, St Albans AL4 9NH, England
+44 1727 855053
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 23:00
Sat - Sun 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 162: English reviews
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After visiting the Ancient Briton for a family meal on Saturday 22nd April, I feel I must make some observations, firstly we were waiting for what seemed an age before being shown to our seats, it wasn't that busy, the staff were friendly and helpful enough and we eventually landed at our table, I believe new cleaners may be needed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

Jackie T, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. I hope that you'll give us a chance and we will make sure your comments go along way with... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

8 of us visited for a 90th birthday. The staff were really helpful in giving us a table which was easy for older people to access and sit at. Our waiter, Liam, could not do enough for us. He impressed us that he did not write the order down and yet everything came out correctly. He was happy to take... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzina B
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

Suzina, Thank you for leaving us this feedback and leaving us a 5* rating. We are glad to have made that celebration special for your party and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Alex Rogers Team leader More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We was served by Andrew, his been amazing and made our time extra special and we will deffo return soon

Helpful?
Thank Bartek K
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

Bartek K, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. You really made our day today. More 

Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very surprising pleasant tasty lunch. Having the early bird menu consisting of Grilled chicken and scampi with chips was served hot and with plenty of accompaniments including the famous salad bar. The waiting staff were very polite and helpful . The restaurant was clean and the vivid green serviettes matched the wall paint. Although some of the cutlery was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike D
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

Dear Mike D, Thank you very much for your positive review. It means a lot to us that you have taken the time to write your lovely comments. We will look into improving the comments mentioned about the cutlery and hopefully we can turn your amazing review* on your next visit. Kind Regards, Rob Tiffen General Manager More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great value. Our deal included a free voucher for Mother's Day Main Meal. They were rushed off their feet but service with some smile We were half an hour late getting to table having booked on line. It gave us the opportunity to drink send relax in good atmosphere. Loved the refurbishment much more open and airy

Helpful?
Thank oakhart
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

Dear Oakheart. thank you for your kind words and yes Mothers day was spectacularly busy for us and I'm glad that although you had a wait for your booked table ,you managed to still enjoy yourself in the bar area. We hope to see you soon and make that 4* an ever glowing 5* Kind Regards Kirsty White Assistant Manager More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Oh dear. We wanted a reasonably priced, non Christmassy meal and popped in here. Clearly it was busy, and we had to wait for table for about 20 mins. That was fine, it was in the run up to Christmas. We were overcharged for our bar drinks, (when thinking about it later, we realised that we had been charged £6... More 

Helpful?
Thank ScotlandWeelass
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us your feedback and all of the points mentioned shall be looked at in more detail. We pride ourselves on taking on board any feedback so that we can make continuous improvements wherever possible. We hope to see again soon. Kind Regards, Rob Tiffen General Manager More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017

i had never visited this Harvester before and I must say that I was pleased with the cleanliness and general atmosphere of the place, although there were not many other customers in there at the time. The food, Sea Bass fillet with mash and green veg. for me and fish and chips for my husband were adequate (the odd tasting... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrst148
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words on our restaurant and I will feed them back to the team members. Hope to see you again Soon. Kind Regards Kirsty White Assistant Manager More 

Bath
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2017

From the moment I met Rob the manager I was reassured, he was fantastic and could not have been more helpful. On the day Kirsty provided a superb service with a smile and looked after us all. Food fantastic & excellent value.Thank you all so much for making a sad day great. Hopefully a happy occasion next time!

Helpful?
Thank Bath-M-J
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely comments. it was a pleasure serving you and your family on the special day. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks Team Ancient Briton. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

To be fair Price reflects the quality of the food which is average to good. Free salad bar is a plus. Large menu means there is something for everyone. 4 adult meals with drinks under £60 can't complain. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

Ian S, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. More 

Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Popped in for breakfast as we had a busy day planned, both went for the recommended breakfast, had everything we wanted and still meant we could make use of the breakfast bar (salad bar). The breakfast was good and hit the spot, also had a bowl of fruit. One gripe would be how far away from the bread and muffins... More 

Helpful?
Thank HatfieldBandit08
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this review

Hatfieldbandit08, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. More 

Travellers who viewed Harvester also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
Hatfield, Hertfordshire
 
Watford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$19
Cuisine
British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Computer Centre 154 St. Albans Road | AL1, St Albans AL4 9NH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  St Albans
  • Phone Number: +44 1727 855053
Description
At The Ancient Briton Harvester in St Albans food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Harvester and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
St Albans, United Kingdom
8 months ago
St Albans, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Harvester staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?