We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harvester

46 Harpenden Road | Beech Bottom, St Albans AL3 5AH, England
+44 1727 855053
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good22%
  • Average16%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible30%
Travellers talk about
“gammon steak” (2 reviews)
“mixed grill” (4 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
46 Harpenden Road | Beech Bottom, St Albans AL3 5AH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Came here with the wife for breakfast on a Monday morning, it wasn't busy at all and service was good. Went for the Recommended Breakfast which had all we wanted, also had a crumpet and some fruit. Both had the bottomless fruit juice to drink....More

Thank HatfieldBandit08
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here for dinner on Saturday. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food also was to the standard you expect.

Thank jamesmason8107
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi James, Thanks for taking the time for leaving us a review! We are very please to see that we met all of your expectrations on this visit and we hope to see you again real soon!! Thanks

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On Thur 3rd May 2018 at 14:30hrs , my wife and I went in to Harvester in St Albans. On entering we waited at the sign "Please wait here to be seated". After waiting there for about 5 mins, we couldn'y find any staff and...More

Thank Delboy275
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Delboy275, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us at 01727 855053 to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We should have walked out the moment we were seated as the place is filthy. We were sitting next to the window where it appeared the wooden blinds have never seen a duster and the window sill was chipped and had paint peeling off. The...More

Thank Alan P
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Alan P, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us at 01727 855053...More

Reviewed April 17, 2018 via mobile

Mediocre service at best and the worst looking and tasting food I have ever had the displeasure of being served. The only reason the Ancient Briton gets a poor score over terrible is my daughters meal was apparently ok. To end on a positive the...More

Thank shawah
Reviewed March 18, 2018

Saturday morning, web site says this Harvester opens at 9:00. Snowy falling, very cold, and the doors are still locked, so not the best welcome. Once we finally gain entrance it's clear that the staff are still getting ready, not really in full customer-facing mode....More

Thank djna01
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Djna01, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. We would like to get more details about this; please reach out to us at your earliest convenience at 01727 855053.

Reviewed March 6, 2018

Despite my reluctance to use Harvesters the rest of the family like them so we found ourselves back here the other day. The service was overall very good but I prefer to be asked if the food is all right a few minutes after I...More

Thank MichaelJohnMichael
Reviewed March 3, 2018

When we arrived, we found our sitting area very cold and asked if they could turn off the cold air blowing. Our Waitress tried to turn the heating up, but it didn't make much difference, so we asked to move tables. Unfortunately, as it was...More

Thank Suzi9
Reviewed February 17, 2018

We had four starters, both the vegetable crispy bits and falafel were small, however the chicken was good. The salad bar was a decent selection of choices and the bread was fresh. We had the cheesecake which was very good. On a Saturday it got...More

Thank Eddie M
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Eddie M, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to find out how we can better assist you in the future. If you are willing, please contact us 01727 855053.

Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

Couldnt fault the service and salad bar. Only downside was the jacket potato, overdone on the outside and mushy on the inside. Everything els was fine

Thank guillonJ1993
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2018

Hello Guillonj1993, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in St Albans
Ardmore House
578 reviews
1.19 km away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
831 reviews
1.26 km away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
619 reviews
1.70 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
624 reviews
1.83 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Saute Grill
250 reviews
1.16 km away
Anastasias Greek Restaurant
828 reviews
1.18 km away
The Meating Room
274 reviews
1.17 km away
Bar Meze
844 reviews
1.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Albans Farmers Market
20 reviews
1.54 km away
Roman Theatre of Verulamium
12 reviews
1.47 km away
Alban Arena
82 reviews
1.40 km away
City and District of St Albans Tour Guides
14 reviews
1.52 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MichaelJohnMichael
November 13, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from M G | Reviewed this property |
Yes. as much as you like x
1
Vote
Chris M
August 27, 2016|
Answer
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
Unfortunately at this time we only allow assistance dogs in the restaurant. However we do have a large garden area where we do allow all dogs.
0
Votes
Chris M
August 27, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chris M | Reviewed this property |
Thank you
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$20
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46 Harpenden Road | Beech Bottom, St Albans AL3 5AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  St Albans
  • Phone Number: +44 1727 855053
  • E-mail
Description
At The Ancient Briton Harvester in St Albans food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;