We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sun Inn

Hulverstone, PO30 4EH, England
+44 1983 741124
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (16 reviews)
“pastry” (4 reviews)
“sunday roast” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hulverstone, PO30 4EH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

A nice location and place, I am sure the food is normally very good. My wife's meal was very good, but the mackerel I had was not the best. The Roasted Garlic was not very appetising and almost made me wonder if the innards had...More

Thank Doug T
Vicky H, General Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Doug T, Thank you for your review. I can safely say all innards are removed from all of our whole fish. I'm sorry you did not find it appetizing. I hope you will return and give us another try. Kind regards Vicky

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here for lunch part way through a long walk in the beautiful surrounding countryside. Extensive menu including good veggie options for me. My husband really enjoyed the steak and ale pie. We were lucky enough to be able to sit outside and enjoy...More

Thank Donna J
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Hi Donnaj, Thank you for your lovely view. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, our pub is a popular walkers pub and hope to provide great quality refreshments and food for all to enjoy. Our surroundings and views are exceptional especially if you are...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went here just because it was in one of the guides, but it was so good we went again a few nights later! The staff are fine although not super, but the food is excellent. Some specials as well as the main menu, and...More

Thank Stuart B
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Hi Stuart B, Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad the food was so good you chose to come back. Our specials do change frequently in the hope there is always something different to try. We look forward to seeing you again in the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had such an amazing day at a wedding here. The venue was so lovely and the food was absolutely delicious. The staff were so friendly and got the food out to everyone really quickly too.

Thank Ryde1987
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ryde1987, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We thought it was an amazing day too. We hope you come and visit us again and sample more off our menu. Kind regards Vicky

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely pub in nice setting but let down by poor quality food.The staff are polite and helpful and the menu varied but unfortunately doesn't measure up in the quality of food.More

Thank Geoff S
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Hi Geoff S, I'm so sorry to hear that your food was not up to standard. As you can see from other reviewd we are usually praised on the quality. I have passed your comment on to our kitchen. We hope you will give us...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My other half, her mother and I popped in here for some lunch today, and found a pleasant welcome backed up by a cracking pint of beer and superb food. The pub lends itself very well to an old fashioned look and has a warm...More

Thank Darren S
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Hi Darren S, Thank you so much for your very kind review. Our pub is very special and we try our hardest to ensure all customers visits are as special. The log fires we have are all stacked and ready for the cold winters days...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an old style Pub with a fantastic atmosphere and a dining room with great sunsets on view when possible. I do agree that sometimes the bar service can be a bit slow but like a lot of things if it is worth having...More

Thank A7451ESjohnb
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Hi A7451ESjohnb, Thank you for lovely review. It's nice to hear that you are a fan of our pie - our chefs prepare and cook them fresh in the kitchen on almost a daily basis-due to the popularity of the dish. Inhale taken on board...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Usually visit the Isle of Wight 6-7 times a year and always make sure we visit The Sun. The staff are friendly and welcoming and we love the fact are 2 doys are welcome. I had the pate and cod loin and my wife had...More

Thank stuartroberts09
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Hi stuartroberts09, Wow what a fantastic review. It is lovely to hear such a positive review. We hope we can maintain the high standards for you for many future visits. Look forward to seeing you in 7 weeks! Kind regards Vicky

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A fairly quiet mid September Sunday night but the food was extremely well prepared presented and tasty. Great service too. Wouldn't hesitate to make a return visit and recommend Timmy family and friends!More

2  Thank Mick S
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Hi Mick S, Thank you so much for taking the time to post about your positive experience. Our staff try hard to ensure all aspects of customers visits are of a high standard. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Poorly cooked and presented food, delivered after a 45 minute wait. Slow bar service too, due to everyone ordering food and dithering about it. Why don't they take orders for food in the restaurant? I notice that other reviewers have commented on the poor service....More

Thank Nick A
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Hi Nick A, I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your recent visit to us at the sun. We have some staffing issues recently and that has caused some problems. Hopefully you will return and give us another try to see some improvements. Kind regards...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Isle of Wight Pearl Cafe
138 reviews
3.12 km away
The Sun Inn
181 reviews
3.88 km away
The Llama Tree Pizzeria
39 reviews
4.61 km away
Horse & Groom
273 reviews
5.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mottistone Gardens
253 reviews
.80 km away
Chessell Pottery Barns
244 reviews
1.71 km away
Isle of Wight Fossil Hunts - Island Gems
194 reviews
1.80 km away
Calbourne Water Mill & Rural Museum
265 reviews
3.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Derpdan
4 April 2016|
Answer
Response from Bob F | Reviewed this property |
It states Gluten free above in the write up, so I would assume that it is available.
0
Votes
LadyC864354
18 October 2015|
Answer
Response from lesleyblanchard | Property representative |
we do have a sunday roast, we have a selection of 3 local meats and a nut roast, the roast are on till they are alll gone it is always advisable to book, if your thinking of later in the day we can always reserve some for... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$16
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hulverstone, PO30 4EH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 741124
  • E-mail
Description
The Sun Inn Is A 600 Year-Old Hostelry Set In Beautiful Countryside On The South West Coast Of The Isle Of Wight.Serving Real Ales and Home cooked, locally sourced foods, it is a perfect stop off for families and those on a trip round the West WightRegular Live music on Saturday nights, Speaker and Charity events throughout the Year.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing