We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Taman Ria Tropicana

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
22 Princes Avenue, Kingston-upon-Hull HU5 3QA, England
+44 1482 345640
Website
Today
17:00 - 23:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sat 17:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 129: English reviews
hull
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed a lovely meal , Good service and friendly staff who helped to make the celebration of our daughter's birthday a great success thankyou especially to the owner Vince who made it special . We look foerwards to returning soon

Helpful?
Thank HullLinda
tropicanaHull, Manager at Taman Ria Tropicana, responded to this review

Thank you HullLinda for taking time to review us... It's lovely to know you guys enjoyed your meal and a great evening celebrating your daugther's birthday . It's our pleasure to see our customers looked after and having a great time. You are welcome and thank you for your customs... Cheers! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We both had the taster menu where you can have three different dishes which is a nice way to try a variety of meals. The food is very flavoursome and if we lived locally would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Kim H
tropicanaHull, Manager at Taman Ria Tropicana, responded to this review

Thank you Kim H for taking time to reveal us. We are really pleased you guys enjoyed your meal . Look forward to seeing you again and thank you for your customs. Cheers More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Two couples visited for dinner on Saturday evening. I liked the venue, and found the food really tasty (we had a mix of starters, and each had one of the main courses which allows you to pick three taster dishes). However the service we had was very poor, and to a degree spoilt the experience. It was as if the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JP12322
tropicanaHull, Manager at Taman Ria Tropicana, responded to this review

I am so sorry JP12322.. you have received such poor service on your night out at the Tropicana. The member of staff that served you had 2 years of experience and I can only put this down to some form of personal distractions on that night . I can only apologize in this instance., and would like to compensate you... More 

Hedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We love it here. I always get the Java curry as it is my absolute favourite so was shocked to see one reviewer saying it was powdery when it is made with fresh spices. Mmmmmmm Odd to say the least. Hubby gets the Nasi Campur & likes the chicken satay starter which always comes with rice (we actually had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 20lindy
tropicanaHull, Manager at Taman Ria Tropicana, responded to this review

Aww thank you 20lindy for taking time to review us.... you must be one of our regular customers. Thank you so much for your support .... I have to be fair and realistic about any review.... try and understand the circumstances that aggravated a complaint in particular... a lot of things didn't go right for her , overheated room for... More 

1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We went last night, me and my partner, as our last meal out before our baby arrives at the end of the month. It was totally ruined when firstly, on arriving at half 8 for our booking we got seated in the tiny , oven of a back room. Where we were forgotten about it seemed like. After 15 mins... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
tropicanaHull, Manager at Taman Ria Tropicana, responded to this review

Oh my word ....clearly you guys have been overlooked by my staff.... I know we have been busy on Friday and Saturday nights and delays are inevitable sometimes. If customers waited longer than normal , the staff normally take the decision to offer a complimentary drinks. As you said your next table was offered free drinks and you waited longer... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

I am not one for writing reviews but I felt the need after last nights meal. We went out last night to this place and after waiting an hour for food, when it came there were problems with it. The waitress by the way was lovely, attentive and apologetic. It was definitely the cooks fault rather than front of house.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Olly D
tropicanaHull, Manager at Taman Ria Tropicana, responded to this review

Thank you Olly D for your review. I feel the need to explain the dissatisfaction you expressed and incidentally I am the cook you spoke to on that night, we were busy and there were delays in our service and we apologized to all (sat night 11/3/17). I've explained that the dish... chicken masak santan has anchovies sauce... and that... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2017

I visted last Saturday and the restaurant is great!, lovely food, the Madu is my favourite! Very different in the best way possible! The service was great, I got served by a very friendly young man. The food is very exotic. Would recommend to people who want to try something new!

Helpful?
1 Thank Twelve017
tropicanaHull, Manager at Taman Ria Tropicana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you review Twelve017......brilliant and thank you for your customs. Cheers! More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Went here with my wife while we were having 5 days in Hull. Liked the sound of it, so paid a visit and it was well worth it. I had the Javan curry, which was excellent. Staff were friendly and restaurant was very clean. Definitely a great place to eat.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley1288
tropicanaHull, Manager at Taman Ria Tropicana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to review Tropicana , Mr Wesley 1288. We are so glad you and your wife enjoyed a good Malayan meal at the Tropicana in Hull . We hope you both enjoyed your stay in the City of Culture. Thank you for your customs and all the best, Cheers ! More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

My friends and I visited Tropicana just before Christmas. Service was great, we loved our food and the place itself. Interiors, subtle lighting and music are creating very intimate, romantic atmosphere. I picked 3 little dishes for my main course, which was a good choice as I could try something new in addition to my usual chicken satay. Just be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana S
tropicanaHull, Manager at Taman Ria Tropicana, responded to this review

Thank you very much Adriana S for taking time to review Tropicana. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your meal and had a good time. It great to know that you're starting to pick and choose your favourites ..... and we hope to see you again soon . Cheers ! More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2016

The menu is accessible and hosts a variety of options; from vegetables to beef and spices mild to hot. We tried almost every dish on the menu and wasn't disappointed with any- the beef rendang being my personal favourite. To compliment the good food was the lovely down to earth staff and the unique décor. I'd recommended this to anyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank gboynton98
tropicanaHull, Manager at Taman Ria Tropicana, responded to this review

Oh wow Mr. gboynton98.... that' s a commendation and 1/2!! Thank you for taking time to review Tropicana ... When you recd a review like this , you feel rewarded and appreciated for the hard work and efforts you put in to please your customers. We, the staff do our best to keep our customers happy.... We thank you for... More 

Travellers who viewed Taman Ria Tropicana also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Taman Ria Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Asian, Malaysian, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic
Open Hours
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:30
Thursday
17:00 - 23:30
Friday
17:00 - 23:30
Saturday
17:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 22 Princes Avenue, Kingston-upon-Hull HU5 3QA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  East Riding of Yorkshire  >  Kingston-upon-Hull
  • Phone Number: +44 1482 345640
Description
Taman Ria Tropicana opens onto Princes Avenue in Hull. We have some outdoor seating and indoors there are 3 main restaurant areas. We have an open kitchen so you can see the chef at work, and smell the delicious dishes before they even get to you and we have a well stocked bar which includes many Asian bottled beers. The restaurant is decorated with traditional ornaments and authentic batik, finished off with a few quirks here and there. To the back of the restaurant are the 'Ladies' and 'Gents', including a seperate spacious easy-access toilet suitable for wheelchair users and we have also just received a 5 out of 5 star hygiene rating.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Taman Ria Tropicana and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Taman Ria Tropicana staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?