We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wateredge Inn Pub

) #34 of 86 Restaurants in Ambleside $$ - $$$ , British,
Borrans Road | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0EP, England
+44 15394 32332
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good41%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“lamb hotpot” (7 reviews)
“gammon” (12 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Borrans Road | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0EP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Visited at lunch time, a much better selection on the menu compared to the hotel we first went to. Nice food at resonable prices, relaxing sitting by the lake outside.

Thank berryandshaun
Reviewed 4 days ago

Fabulous location right at the side of the lake and loads of dining space. It does get very busy but the staff were great and our food order arrived in very good time. The food was very well presented and plenty of it, combined with...More

Thank FoxWorcs
Reviewed 1 week ago

Previously visited when we stopped across the road at the Regent for late night drinks having eaten in Ambleside itself. Pub then had live music which was good but we had only visited for drinks. This time visited for lunch and sat outside on benches....More

Thank Jonofromcas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely stunning location, we sat outside on a beautiful evening, drinks were a little more expensive than other places but I suppose that it's a small prove for the views. Food was ok, quite a long wait from the time it was ordered to it...More

Thank Carol M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although the food was amazing and very quick, our visit was let down by poor service and rude staff behind the bar.. the floor staff didn't seem to know what was going on either

Thank Sarahlouise998
Wateredge Manag... T, Public Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review and our sincere apologies for the poor service. We have spoken with the team about your unsatisfactory customer experience and improvements will be made.

Reviewed 1 week ago

After being out of action for quite some time because of flooding, the Wateredge was again going full swing when my wife and I made our annual visit to Ambleside. The weather was excellent so the Wateredge was busy at all times during our week....More

1  Thank HappytravellerBT436N
Wateredge Manag... T, Public Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review and for visiting us again, we were pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time. We hope to see you again next year!

Reviewed 1 week ago

First stop for us off the boat from Bowness! Morning coffee sat in the beer garden overlooking the lake, heaven! Coffee not cheap @ £2.85 for a small latte! Ouch. Don't suppose it's much difference elsewhere in the Lake District though? Worth it just for...More

Thank Sharon S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After visiting here 4 or 5 years ago (& before that a couple of times too) on a sunny evening for a romantic meal seated outside looking out over Windermere on the last day of our hols, we thought we'd repeat the experience this year....More

Thank ABB_IOW
Wateredge Manag... T, Public Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review. There are a large selection of bars & restaurants in the Lake District to choose from and we are sorry to hear that our property is no longer to your liking.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited a few times during our stay in the area. Lovely to sit and have a drink overlooking Lake Windermere. Just one visit when the weather not so good we were told we could sit at a table near the bar with our dog. Then...More

Thank bluetwo47
Wateredge Manag... T, Guest Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We welcome dogs in the two cottage bar areas and as not all our patrons like to dine with dogs, the larger area of the bar is pet free. We have to adhere to this policy regardless of how many...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In a lovely lakeside setting, ruined by the poor service. We went for lunch, however after queuing for fifteen minutes to get a drink we changed our mind. The menu looked OK, nothing special. Drinks were quite pricey. Will probably try again because of the...More

Thank Lisa T
Wateredge Manag... T, Public Relations Manager at Wateredge Inn Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to sit by the lake in the summer and our garden can be very popular at times. This means that a queue can develop at the bar but our bar team generally serve very quickly!. Our sincere...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fellinis
1,063 reviews
1.02 km away
The Lily
288 reviews
.99 km away
Mr H's
152 reviews
1.02 km away
Tarantella Restaurant
609 reviews
1.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ambleside Waterhead
411 reviews
.17 km away
Bridge House
251 reviews
1.39 km away
Ambleside Climbing Wall
174 reviews
.96 km away
Hayes Garden World Ambleside
82 reviews
.70 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Julia K
24 December 2016|
Answer
Response from SLeeH | Reviewed this property |
Hi, sorry I don't know. You will need to check with the pub directly, (I am a customer who left a review). Merry Christmas
0
Votes
Katetracey1984
12 November 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from PtarmiganTraveller | Reviewed this property |
Yes, dogs are allowed inside - a very dog friendly hotel. There is a lower part of the dining area (with tiled floor) where dogs are allowed.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$25
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Borrans Road | Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0EP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Ambleside
  • Phone Number: +44 15394 32332
  • E-mail
Description
Wateredge Inn, at Waterhead on the tip of Lake Windermere, offers a beautiful country inn setting for holiday makers, diners, walkers, tourists, and more with unrivalled views of Lake Windermere (at Lake District).
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing