We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wakefield Arms

) #58 of 109 Restaurants in Kendal $$ - $$$ , British,
Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
+44 870 111 2906
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good31%
  • Average21%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“gammon” (6 reviews)
“pate” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had dinner and breakfast in this restaurant as staying overnight in Premier Inn, Kendal The location is excellent for the town and the adjoining door to the Premier Inn makes is perfect to use whilst staying for an overnight stay with the family. The restaurant...More

Thank Monkeezmum
Simon D, General Manager at Wakefield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thanks very much for your lovely comments. So glad we made your recent visit so enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks Simon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice atmosphere, friendly staff. Very disappointed with the breakfast. This was the four premier Inn we visited this week whilst on a family tour. After seeing the choice and quality on offer my wife and I skipped breakfast here. As an example the eggs were...More

Thank sue j
Simon D, General Manager at Wakefield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Sue I am so sorry to hear you did not enjoy our breakfast offering. We aim to deliver a fantastic experience for all our guests especially for breakfast and I am sorry we clearly didn't meet your expectations. Thank you for your feedback. Simon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I visited on a whim while on a shopping trip. It had been recommended by a friend some time previously. We were not disappointed. I ordered liver,bacon and crispy onions on a bed of mash, with gravy. My wife just had a...More

Thank tony5998
Simon D, General Manager at Wakefield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Tony Thank you for the great feedback, so glad we lived up to the expectations and you both enjoyed your recent visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks Simon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had dinner and breakfast in this restaurant as staying overnight in Premier Inn. There is a good choice available on the menu including choices of vegetarian food. Staff served us immediately and our food was well presented and served on hot plates, which is a...More

Thank Moira B
Simon D, General Manager at Wakefield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Moira Thanks for your great feedback, I will pass it onto the team who will really appreciate them. I will look into the cold plates as these should have been warm plates. See you again soon Thanks Simon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the pub attached to the Premier Inn in Kendal and offers the usual standardised menu of pub food. It wasn't a gastronomic experience but it was perfectly enjoyable. I particularly liked the gin and tonic lemon trifle.

Thank dianaen
Simon D, General Manager at Wakefield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for your feedback, glad you enjoyed the gin and tonic trifle as much as we do. Thanks Simon

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay at Premier Inn for a few days which is in the same building as the restaurant. It was lovely. The food was great. I had spinach and ricotta lasagne, my husband had a burger and my 8 year old had popping...More

Thank Fabll
Simon D, General Manager at Wakefield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Hi Thank you very much for such brilliant feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your recent visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks Simon

Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Had a fab night, service was fantastic team are really funny obviously enjoy their job and food was excellent value. Will return when next in kendal

Thank Jetsetter83dk
Simon D, General Manager at Wakefield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Hi What fantastic feedback! Thank you very much from me and all the team, we are so pleased we made your visit so enjoyable. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks Simon

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal on the 28th of June. As soon as I walked in I was asked to sit down and order a drink. The food was great, steak was cooked just how I asked for it and no problem with wanting to change...More

1  Thank Michael G
Simon D, General Manager at Wakefield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hi Michael Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I will pass your feedback onto both my kitchen team and front of house service team and in particular Olivia who will be delighted she made your visit even more special. Thanks again and we'll...More

Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Popped in tonight. Paid the parking charge. Looked up and down by the waitress and ignored. The waitress tended to someone else who came in after us first. Had to get our own menu. Ignored by the staff member taking drinks to another table. We...More

Thank Scotlands_wanderer
Simon D, General Manager at Wakefield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Hi Please first of all let me apologise for the very poor service you received on your recent visit. It is our aim that all our guests have an fantastic experience in our restaurant however on this occasion we obviously didn't achieve this. If you...More

Reviewed 19 June 2017

Have just returned from a quick break in Kendal. Stayed next door in the Premier Inn. Table Table Inns are great places to eat and this one did not lets us down. We took the meal deal offer which included evening meal, drink and full...More

Thank ablacker70
Simon D, General Manager at Wakefield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Hi ablacker Thank you so much for your lovely the comments. I will personally pass them onto the team and in particular emma who will be delighted she made your stay with us even more enjoyable with her service. Thanks again and we look forward...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Deja Vu
646 reviews
.06 km away
Farrers Tea and coffee Shop
201 reviews
.26 km away
Slate Bar and Cafe
95 reviews
.22 km away
Relish
178 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kendal Castle
337 reviews
.97 km away
Brewery Arts Centre
323 reviews
.63 km away
The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre
129 reviews
.35 km away
Museum of Lakeland Life & Industry
93 reviews
.84 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Wakefield Arms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Maude Street, Kendal LA9 4QD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Kendal
  • Phone Number: +44 870 111 2906
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing