We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abraham's Cafe

2 Borrowdale Road | George Fisher Store, Keswick CA12 5DA, England
+44 17687 72178
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good21%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“salad” (39 reviews)
“scones” (41 reviews)
“rarebit” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Healthy, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Borrowdale Road | George Fisher Store, Keswick CA12 5DA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We visited the cafe for a much needed cuppa while shopping. My friend had a latte and I had a pot of tea which was delicious. We arrived just after a party of school children so had to wait to be served. The staff were...More

Thank jilla721
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have always visited this café in George Fishers for over 20 years & it has always been a unique experience with varied menu & specials not the normal jackets/paninis etc. Scones have always been excellent & tea was provided with a spare teabag & biccie....More

Thank 343yvonnet
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi 343yvonnet, Firstly our apologies that you did not find us as you left us, we have had a few changes. Some of them because we had to and some just happened because over time things do change and even we can't stop them. When...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have been here a few times before so not sure why I have not done a review previously! Pretty standard lunch things on the menu but all I have tried have been more than standard! Today I had a baked potato with cheese. Perfectly baked...More

Thank brianfromcarlisle
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi brianfromcarlisle, Thanks for the great 5 Star review and lovely feedback. We'll let Fred and Donna in the kitchen and Caroline in the cafe know how happy you were with your service and food. We have been very busy over the past few weeks...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped off for a quick bite to eat at this little gem of a cafe. The soup was fabulous all of us ate the soup and were left full up for hours. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful throughout our visit.

Thank MagsMay78
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi MagsMay78, Thanks for the great 5 Star review and lovely feedback. Our cafe and kitchen staff will be happy you had such a great experience. We hope we see you again soon. Kind regards, Rachel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ordered food and waited and waited and waited. Not once did any of the staff notice our food free table despite being right in front of the till. When we asked about the whereabouts of our food the staff were not concerned. We watched...More

Thank HelenBest2014
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi HelenBest2014, Thank you for your feedback and our apologies that you had this experience, it's not our usual style. Our cafe has been exceptionally busy for the last 3 weeks, which is great but it does take it's toll. This is not an excuse...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Abraham’s for the second time this week. On both occasions we were greeted by busy but friendly staff and after a short wait were given our seats. Great place for a snack or something more substantial. Today I had the beef and vegetable broth...More

Thank Huttongate
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Huttongate, Thank you for the lovely review and 4 Star rating. We'll make sure to let our staff in the cafe and kitchen know how pleased you were with your recent visit. School Holidays can be a busy time for us and knowing that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stood several minutes upon arriving. We finally asked and were told to sit anywhere. The staff spent 20 minutes cleaning tables and no one said a word to us. People who came in behind us went to the counter to order and yet no...More

1  Thank Trek-Always
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Trek-Always, Our apologies for any confusion and dysfunctional service on your recent visit. We have changed our style of service this week and the staff and our customers are still getting used to the new process. We were a table order service until this...More

Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

Rainy day outside but nice and cheery in here. Staff were super knowledgable about food as someone in my party needed gluten and dairy free....staff very helpful re this. Food great and will be back!

Thank NorwichSarah
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

You're our fav' customer today Sarah, thanks for another lovely review :-D we'll make sure we tell our staff! Thanks, Rachel

Reviewed October 13, 2018

Good service and food and drinks but if you're here to buy warm clothing, get it first before going to the Café. Even in October, the air conditioning was blowing cold air and it was uncomfortable to sit in, so after one coffee, went elsewhere...More

1  Thank Fearless753934
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Fearless, Our apologies that you found the Cafe so cold. We had an unseasonably hot day in October, on Wednesday 10th it was 20 degrees in Keswick. This was swiftly followed by biblical showers on the Saturday you were in. We have thermostats that...More

Reviewed October 11, 2018

Whenever we've been to Keswick over that past 15 years we've alway gone to George Fisher's so I can drool over the latest hillwalking gear - and we always go for lunch or for coffee & cake at Abraham's on the third floor. It's never...More

Thank GraniteCity86
AbrahamsCafe, Public Relations Manager at Abraham's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the Great Review GraniteCity86!! We love a happy customer, thank YOU! We're very proud of our shop, staff, service and all the added extras like the cafe, customer toilets, kids play area not to mention all the kit hire services we offer! Enough...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 23 hotels in Keswick
Inn on the Square
818 reviews
.20 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
538 reviews
.20 km away
The Highfield Hotel
455 reviews
.22 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
873 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Fellpack
431 reviews
.04 km away
The Square Orange Cafe Bar
1,052 reviews
.10 km away
Morrels Restaurant
1,161 reviews
.08 km away
Treeby & Bolton Cafe
490 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Derwentwater
2,558 reviews
.18 km away
Walla Crag
143 reviews
.14 km away
Hope Park
392 reviews
.03 km away
Moot Hall - Keswick Information Centre
178 reviews
.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jlsteve99
July 8, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AbrahamsCafe | Property representative |
Hi jlsteve99, Yes, we have gluten-free options. Our menu doesn't show them clearly with symbols or anything (it's a bit hidden in the text) but we have soup, bread, cakes and more ... Please just ask our staff when you... More
0
Votes
Caribean2
April 23, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AbrahamsCafe | Property representative |
Hi Caribean2, Many thanks for your questions. We don't do an actual afternoon tea, as such, I'm afraid but you could always make up, or ask for, a selection from our menu. Sadly, we're not set-up for vouchers, as the cafe... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$13
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Monday
10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday
10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Wednesday
10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Thursday
10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday
10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday
9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Borrowdale Road | George Fisher Store, Keswick CA12 5DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Keswick
  • Phone Number: +44 17687 72178
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing