We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool

148-154 Waterloo Road, Blackpool FY4 2AF, England
+44 1253 344292
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good13%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lamb curry” (7 reviews)
“cheesecake” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Indian, Thai, Nepalese, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
148-154 Waterloo Road, Blackpool FY4 2AF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We went here during our stay purely due to the reviews and reputation and were not disappointed. There are less choices than most buffet restaurants but everything was hot and tasty. There's a selection of chinese and indian foods available and also some nepalese dishes...More

2  Thank trae493
TheGurkhaBlackpool, General Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear customer, Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our food and service. Unfortunately as we are a small family business we do not have the space in our restaurant to provide a vast variety of dishes but our main...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been going to the ghurka with my family for over 10 years, it's had a real change around since I last went and it's become better and cheaper, the drinks were extremely reasonable with a large wine only £4, the buffet is only £10...More

Thank michaelu94
TheGurkhaBlackpool, General Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Michael, Thank you so much for your kind and lovely review. We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food and service and that you noticed the recent positive changes we have made. Thank you for being a loyal customer. We look forward...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited a few weeks ago, with my partner and our little boy. I must say firstly that the service throughout the whole time from being meeted at the door to leaving was excellent. The ladies were all very amily and happy to help with anything,...More

Thank Bpool11
Gurkha H, General Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear customer, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately as we are a small family business we do not have the space in our restaurant to provide a vast variety of dishes but as you mentioned we do give value for money as our focus is...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here for the first time with daughter and son in law last night. Enjoyed everything about it! Food varied and very tasty, staff very friendly and helpful. Loads of interesting Gurkha history and artefacts on display, toilets immaculate, loved it! Recommend it and...More

Thank irene_64
TheGurkhaBlackpool, Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Irene, First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting us and writing a lovely comment. We really appreciate about it. We look forward to seeing you all soon. Have a nice time. Best Regards, The Gurkha

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

went here for sunday dinner with wife and son service@price was good. food was also good. but hotter curry they had was only lamb which i am not a fan of. would also have liked to have seen some pakora but overall worth a visit.

Thank stuart k
TheGurkhaBlackpool, General Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Stuart, Thank you for your kind review. We have taken your comments on board as customer satisfaction is very important to us. We hope you visit us again very soon! Kind regards, The Gurkha

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great food, atmosphere and staff. No wish to get you out, just fill you up with great buffet food. Top restaurant

Thank Neil O
TheGurkhaBlackpool, General Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Neil, Thank you very much for your kind review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our food and service. We hope to see you again very soon! Kind regards, The Gurkha

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely restaurant pleasant staff lots to choose from this buffet excellent food worth a visit wish this place was here in devon

Thank eunice o
TheGurkhaBlackpool, Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear eunice, Thank you for visiting our restaurant all the way from Devon. Also we would like to thank you for writing lovely comment. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards, The Gurkha

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

This food is not overly amazing however it makes up for it in value for money. The food does get replaced often and staff are always on hand to help. Only issue I felt was they are constantly on the hunt for plates, however this...More

Thank Ryan H
TheGurkhaBlackpool, Public Relations Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Ryan, Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, The Gurkha

Reviewed 9 June 2017

We have been to this place a few times and the food is always excellent with plenty of choice. As others have said 90 minute eating time maximum but this is probably only enforced when busy. Great value for money. Recommended.

1  Thank David S
TheGurkhaBlackpool, Public Relations Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear David, Thank you very much for the lovely review. Also we would like to thank you for visiting us at the Gurkha. We look forward to seeing you soon. have a great day. Kind Regards, The Gurkha

Reviewed 5 June 2017

Lots to choose from, quantity rather than quality. £10 and £3 a pint.... Was busy and tricky too park Not all bad - worth a try.

1  Thank skybluesSteve
TheGurkhaBlackpool, General Manager at The Gurkha Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Dear Steve, Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again very soon! Kind regards, The Gurkha

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Taj Mahal Blackpool
653 reviews
.38 km away
The Auctioneer
206 reviews
.38 km away
Brewers Fayre Yeadon Way
410 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
Blackpool Tramway
6,269 reviews
1.01 km away
Sandcastle Waterpark
3,414 reviews
1.00 km away
Paris Casino
92 reviews
.52 km away
Bloomfield Road
7 reviews
.67 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bezray44
5 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from AshandKate1616 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry Ignore what I said they have just put one on there website ! - it's been updated from last time I looked
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$13
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Buffet
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
17:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
17:30 - 22:30
Thursday
17:30 - 22:30
Friday
17:30 - 22:30
Saturday
17:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 148-154 Waterloo Road, Blackpool FY4 2AF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Blackpool
  • Phone Number: +44 1253 344292
  • E-mail
Description
All-you-can-eat Nepalese, Chinese, Indian and Thai buffet restaurant at a fixed price including desserts, fresh fruit and hot beverages. Under new management. Newly renovated and refurbished. Prices: Tuesday - Thursday £10.45. Friday - Sunday £10.95. Bank Holidays £10.95. Children (between 4-8 years) £4.95. All prices inclusive of VAT. CLOSED ON MONDAYS. Takeaway service not available.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing