We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Auctioneer

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
235-237 Lytham Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6ET, England
+44 1253 346412
Website
Today
08:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 198: English reviews
west cumbria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a couple of pints of john smiths here early doors, good value in a clean and well organised spoons

Helpful?
Thank werw
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here a couple of years ago and it was really nice, however this time it was really bad . We went on a Monday night, I should have realised something was wrong when we were the only ones in to eat. 2 other people drinking. I had beef&mushroom pie.looked good tasted bland more a gravy pie (no meat).The... More 

Helpful?
Thank James C
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had a bad experience here there was an incident at the time and unfortunately the staff let you the customer down. Please don't think it is always like that we do pride ourselves on good customer service so please do give us another try I am sure you will realise this was a one off... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been coming to this pub for several years. It's no longer a Spoons, but that's no problem - it's still a great pub. Good beers, good gins, great prices, friendly staff, and a great atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Ian T
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a great review were so glad you have stayed with us through the change over its the support of our regulars like yourself that make this such a success and pleasure to run. More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017

not a spoons anymore but have retained some of the traditions---really good selection of ales and two traditional ciders---not as busy as before but trying to build a loyal customer base----lets see what the summer brings.

Helpful?
1 Thank jeffhutchy
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we have kept customer focus on our guest ale and ciders as its a passion of ours. Hope you will be returning soon look forward to seeing you. More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2017

poor food and greasy menus.staff talking behind bar.you could hear everythig.chef behind bar when he could be cleaning kitchen.i presume they dont have a kp.good job we only went in for breakfast.wouldnt entertain going in for a proper meal.will travel the extra mile to go to weatherspoons on the prom.just no excuse for this poorly run place

Helpful?
1 Thank davidcheetham1996
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

Let me apologise if you were not happy with your recent visit to us we always pride ourselves on good customer care and good food so obviously something was not right on that particular day. If there is a problem with the food always let us know and we will correct it straight away as for the staff I will... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2017

I did not realise that this had been sold to another business, so I went in expecting Wetherspoon quality and service. What a let down, very poor customer interaction, the standard breakfast was ordered and although we were the only people who had ordered food, it still took them nearly 20 minutes for it to arrive. 'We had trouble with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had a bad experience here I wish you had said something on your check back so we could of rectified the situation as we do not like any customer to leave unsatisfied, please do pop in and give us another chance I am sure this was a one off. More 

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
440 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Was a Wetherspoon pub ; not sure who has taken over but the improvements to the WC are noticeable. The fire and other features have been retained - still good value for money, Still worth a visit if you are South Promenade area.Didnt eat on this occasion ; maybe next time,

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and so glad you enjoyed it and your popping back hopefully to eat, we will look forward to your visit. More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017

thought it was time i left a review on here , go down for a breakfast on a sunday morning the staff are always friendly and polite and serve you with a smile so top marks there . i've really enjoyed the breakfasts over all 3 visits the quality never changes and is cooked very well , really impressed that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dranubis59
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely and positive review of our pub, we are so glad you enjoy your breakfast here and look forward to your visit next week why not pop in at other times so you can taste our full menu see you soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Good real ale pub with friendly staff and prompt service. Food order taken quickly and served with no delay. No complaints, and would recommend this pub to others.

Helpful?
Thank Ged E
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

Thank you so much for recommending our pub to others and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to us please come again soon. More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We have visited this pub on numerous ocassions when it belonged to Wetherspoons and as it is a good pit stop on our walk back to the Premier Inn, we decided it deserved a visit now it has been sold on. The pub was pretty much the same and that included the staff and the prices! Didn't eat at all... More 

Helpful?
Thank JandK2
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our venue and giving us such lovely feedback we are so glad you still enjoyed it here and will look forward to your next visit to Blackpool and here. More 

Travellers who viewed The Auctioneer also viewed

 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to The Auctioneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Waitstaff
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 235-237 Lytham Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6ET, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Blackpool
  • Phone Number: +44 1253 346412
Description
pub well known for our vast range of cask ales background music an interactive quiz on Wednesday evenings from 9pm opening hours Monday - Sunday 9am till midnight Food Served 9am - 9pm Daily. Children until 9.30pm Guide dogs only.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Auctioneer and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
sheffield
6 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Auctioneer staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?