We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Pho Leicester is a healthy Vietnamese restaurant with loads of vegan and gluten free options. We specialise in pho, the Vietnamese noodle soup, and also serve delicious curries, rice dishes, wok-fried noodles and healthy salads, too. We also have loads of starters that are perfect for sharing with friends and family. Over a third of our menu is vegan, and nearly all of it is gluten-free, so we are a great destination for people who follow those particular diets. We are accredited by Coeliac UK. Aside from our lovely food we offer a brilliant range of healthy juices, as well as delicious wine and beer, and a fantastic cocktail menu too. If you're unable to dine-in, you can click & collect your
PRICE RANGE
US$12 - US$16
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
154
63
36
18
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
154
63
36
18
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pho spring rolls tofu baby squid rice bowl soups banana fritters starters and mains pork hot and spicy student discount great veggie vegan options healthy food amazing food lemongrass chopsticks
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 16, 2021

By far one of the worst restaurants I have ever been to. Firstly, they supposedly offered a student discount but you had to download an app called "Smash" to prove we are students. why can't we just show our student cards like with most places...rather than sitting around wasting time and mobile data? Then the menus and order were online only which totally alienates those people who have no mobile data or don't use smartphones, not everyone does and I feel like this especially alienates older people. It's extremely unfair. If this was supposedly for covid reasons, but if you truly wanted a covid safe restaurant you would remove the open pots of sauce on the table so obviously not everything has been totally thought through. I have seen in other restaurants people eat out of the pots with the spoons which is highly unhygienic and health hazard. It was far too loud to hear anything the staff were saying and just about everyone serving was extremely rude and unhelpful and reluctant to do anything. It took a very long time to be seated and for the food to come, after we had both spent ages downloading an app we will probably never use again and trying to work around the very confusing system scanning QR codes etc which is completely unnecessary when you could just put a menu up on the wall for people to order from, for example if you did not want to use paper menus. When we had to pay they had stuck on an almost £5 "service charge" on the menu that we wanted removed on an already rediculously expensive bill which completely defeats the object of a student discount. I would have happily tipped the waiters if they had actually done their jobs properly and been decent. I also noticed that on their second bill they gave us after they finally bothered to add the discount, they removed the text saying that "it is optional to remove the service charge" which I find very deceptive. I was eating with a friend and they unbelievably actually made us calculate the separate bill OURSELVES! because they couldn't be bothered to split the bill. We had to sit between us writing down and figuring out what prices we had to pay because the staff were too lazy to do it themselves for whatever reason, which is not our job as customers to work out the bill! Absolutely unbelievable and completely abhorrent, to be completely honest we should have a refund and I most definitely do not recommend and will never be coming back.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2021

Hi, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to Pho Leicester, can you send an email to gmleicester@phocafe.co.uk with some more details about your visit. Many thanks, Christine

Reviewed October 12, 2021 via mobile

Had dinner here in 8/10/21 as we were in Leicester. Location is good cos there’s a car park in the shopping centre and exit is right by the restaurant. Ambiance was good and the staff were friendly. Our order of pork spring rolls and vegetable...rolls as starters was very good , I throughly enjoyed them . Beerlao which the barman said was he favourite was perfect. The meals of chicken curry and tofu curry with mushrooms was sooo tasty. The noodles with chicken i found bit salty but overall it was a great meal. Will definitely visit more Pho restaurants near me and they are just as good.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?3  
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2021

Hi, Thanks so much for leaving us an amazing review. See you again soon. Many thanks Christine

Reviewed September 21, 2021 via mobile

The food was delicious, great veggie/vegan options and overall we had a good time, long wait for food & drinks but Saturday night so to be expected - there was a problem with our ticket & the kitchen but that got taken care of so...it wasn’t a problem. The highlight of our experience was our waitress, Chloe, who took time out of her busy shift to explain the menu, how best to eat certain dishes and even gave us some recommendations for bars after the meal - she is a total credit to the establishment - Thanks again Chloe it you’re reading this! :)More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2021

Hi Lucy, Thank you so much for leaving this review, I will let Chloe know how amazing she is. Many thanks Christine

Reviewed September 11, 2021 via mobile

My son and I visited on a Saturday lunchtime before the Leicester City v Manchester City match. We were greeted by a very friendly waiter and seated promptly. As we had never eaten at Pho before I asked for recommendations which he was happy to...give. I chose a classic curry and my son had steak pho. We also had prawn crackers and a beer each. We enjoyed our lunch at Pho and I am sure we will return on another match day.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2021

Hi Arden, Thank you so much for leaving a review, I hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Christine

Reviewed September 11, 2021 via mobile

Another great meal at Pho. We sat outside and even though it was busy we had our drinks and food served quickly. Delicious and very filling chicken curry and rice for me, while my daughter gobbled down 4 large pork spring rolls from the starter...menu and the baby squid. (TBH, she was full on the spring rolls.) Spot on service from Lewis and his colleagues. Thank you.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2021

Hi, Thank you so much for leaving us an amazing review, I will pass this across to Lewis. See you again soon. Many thanks, Christine

Reviewed September 7, 2021

I have never been somewhere to eat and had such good service, that i have felt that i needed to leave a review, but this time i had to. The amazing person looking after us was called ellis, he was so kind and joked with...us. His service was incredible and he made us feel so welcome. He even gave me lime wedges to help with the spice Thank you ellisMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2021

Hi Tom, Thank you for your review, I have let Ellis know and I hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Christine

Reviewed July 30, 2021 via mobile

We came in to celebrate a birthday on Friday evening. The greetings was warm and were sat at our table. We were informed that the menu are now only accessible digitally, this was not an issue for us but we found it a little odd,...coupled with the fact we then saw the table behind us be given menus when they were sat down. We were not asked for a drinks order until our waitress reappeared to take our food order. We all ordered starters and mains and everybody thoroughly enjoyed all the food. The seafood spring roll was excellent as was the mango and pork salad. For mains we had a couple of curries, some noodles and of course, pho. The pho was delicious with plenty of the crab meat that was ordered. The wok fried noodles were very tasty although one person said it was basically just chow mein. My beef brisket curry was very nice. It was only warm and the rice was serves at room temperature, but the slab of brisket was just that, a slab. Our waitress never reappeared to see if everything was okay with our meals so i couldn't tell her about the rice. The service is what's letting the place down, even only slightly along with the fact they then had the cheek to add a 12.5% service charge to the bill. I'm not against service charges, but for one, the waitress did very little and second, this is Leicester not LondonMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed July 26, 2021

Consistently really good food. We go regularly to Pho and have honestly never experienced even the mildest disappointment about the quality of the food. Quality of cooking is very good, and the ingredients always taste fresh. The staff are generally really friendly and helpful and...the atmosphere is good. Pho is probably our go-to restaurant when we are in the city and this probably won't change. As a balanced review I do have a couple of suggestions that are directed at the management: 1- cleanliness - the place sometimes feels a bit unclean. The last time we came we sat in booth next to the till/bar and there were stains all over the wall and ceiling. It won't stop us from returning but a bit more attention to housekeeping would be nice. 2- 'optional' service charge - (check your bills and calculations folks) this is 15% rounded up sometimes to slightly over. I haven't even been charged this in London let alone Leicester. It's high and would be embarrassing to a customer to remove it. I feel 10% is fine maybe rounded up but 15 is not.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2021

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I will give feedback to the Leicester team regarding the cleanliness of the restaurant and also the optional service charge. Many thanks Christine

Reviewed July 14, 2021

I'm a regular customer at Pho Leicester. On Tuesday I came about 5 p.m with my friends that had never been before. We where welcomed by a really nice team member but the ambient there was off. We soon realised why. We where trying to...catch someone's attention: a specific waitress, was passing by our table and she was making eye contact but would not come to the table. By the way she walked, you could tell that she was -reeeeally- unhappy. She was milk skinned and tall. She was also wearing some outgoing clothes. Eventually, we where served by another waitress. Our starters came out and no one explained us how to eat the baby squid, we later on found out by another waitress when she was checking on us. Like always, the food was amazing but unfortunately, poor hospitality skills.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed June 24, 2021

My first visit to Pho was incredible. There were many vegan options I could choose from, I decided to try the tofu veggie wok fried noodles and they were delicious and affordable. I had never tried Vietnamese dishes before, but will definitely be coming back...here. The staff were polite and service was very quick. They gave us chopsticks, but we asked for cutlery and they were happy to supply them (although only forks). Outside seating area was nice.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2021

Hey Emma, Thankyou for your positive review! Happy to know you had a great time and that you loved the food. Hope to see you again soon, Kind regards, Management

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Villare Hotel
414 reviews
.12 km away
Novotel Leicester
42 reviews
.20 km away
Holiday Inn Leicester, an IHG hotel
1,243 reviews
.29 km away
Castle Park Hotel
203 reviews
.32 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Turtle Bay Leicester
2,753 reviews
.10 km away
World Peace Cafe
155 reviews
.08 km away
Bill's Leicester
565 reviews
.03 km away
The Tree
303 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Leicester Guildhall
554 reviews
.11 km away
Highcross Leicester
326 reviews
.10 km away
Treetop Adventure Golf Leicester
101 reviews
.04 km away
Bruxelles
9 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Pho Leicester staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pho Leicester

Yes, Pho Leicester offers takeaway services.

Yes, Pho Leicester offers delivery services.

Pho Leicester is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4