We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$12 - US$16
CUISINES
Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
154
64
36
20
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
154
64
36
20
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pho spring rolls tofu baby squid rice bowl soups banana fritters starters and mains pork hot and spicy student discount great veggie vegan options healthy food amazing food lemongrass chopsticks
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Went for lunch and found the food was delicious. I would highly recommend the Pho and the service was also good

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 days ago

We arrived and were immediately told the only thing they were serving was noodle soups. They had no rice, no curry, just a few starters and noodle soups which wasn't great, but we went ahead anyway. The service was good, nice and polite staff, could...have been a little quicker as it was a Monday evening and very quiet and took a while to get our orders taken. Starters came and were good, veggie spring rolls with peanut sauce. Tasty and quickly served. The mains are where it went really downhill though. I'm new to Vietnemese food, but the smell of the Spicy Beef Brisket noodle soup was awful, made me feel really ill, and my partners noodle soup smelt very odd too. If I had to describe it crudely, it smelt like wet dog. The beef was chewy and tasteless. We ate what we could but left a lot, paid the bill which was quite expensive but we had eaten so we paid. We left the service charge on because service was good, one chap came over and explained the ingredients of our dishes and spent a bit of time with us as it was our first time - nice touch. Felt quite ill for the rest of that night though, would not go back, maybe its not my sort of food but even still, the food shouldn't smell so bad that it puts you off, should it?More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi, Thank you for leaving us a review, I look into the things you have mentioned and I will speak to our head chef and the team immediately. Many thanks, Christine

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Nice place good selection of options on menu But after x2 visits my food was only luke warm , the waitress on both occasions was very nice & changed it for warmer one but I’ll return as I like hot food to be hot &...don’t like to complain The waitress’s are not concerned with people getting hot food they’ll change it no probs , he kitchen staff obviously don’t care either as they’ll keep sending out food that’s not hot I know if I go back it will not be hit again how on earth can a restaurant sent out Luke warm food each time The waitress replied when I asked about the chef “they come & go & change all the time “ …………there we have it A chain that’s lost focus & will no doubt will soon be gone as a resultMore

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi, Thank you for leaving us a review, I will speak to our head chef and the entire kitchen team regarding the temperature that food comes out at to ensure that the food is piping hot in future. Many thanks, Christine

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We walked in to the restaurant as a family of 4, there was a couple of tables available so we thought we will have a nice quiet meal as were starving and it was our favourite restaurant in Leicester. The waitress came to us after...10min and told us there were no tables available and we have to wait a half an hour. When I pointed an empty table she just said that we still have to wait for 30 minutes. When I asked why, the waitress just said that “if you want the table you got to wait 30min!” And walked away even though I still was talking to her. We have waited and finally got the table. My menu had liars of marks on it and drawings on it, so I asked for another new menu and the same waitress just said “we do not have other menus so you got to use the ones you have received”. That was just the end of it. We got up and asked the waitress for a manager, she said she is the manager. We asked for her name and she refused to give it to us. She was laughing in our faces, literally. We said we will ask her colleague what is her name and she just extended her arms so we could t walk through! We have managed to speak to the gentleman who was also working there, he was nice and polite. He did provide her name and wrote it down for us as Christine. We are not sure if that is correct as the waitress shouted at him saying “do not say my name” We been here several times and never had any issues but the such service left us disappointed and won’t be back again….More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed December 11, 2021

Went to pho hoping for a lovely meal with friends. So went it in hoping for a clean table somewhere warm. We were sat infront of the front door, which was constantly left open. As we walked to the toilets i saw an empty table,...and asked if we could sit on the empty table. The manager Tom was horrendouly rude and said no and walked away from us mid conversation turnubg around and giving me a not very pleasant look . He was horrendous to a point we did not want to eat at Pho. He spoke to me and my friends in such a humiliating and patronising way for simply requesting to not sit near the freezing front door. Be aware of the manager Tom! He is not a people person at all! Simply appalled.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2021

Hi, I'm sorry to hear that this was your experience, can you send an email over to gmleicester@phocafe.co.uk with some more information. Many thanks Christine

Reviewed October 16, 2021

By far one of the worst restaurants I have ever been to. Firstly, they supposedly offered a student discount but you had to download an app called "Smash" to prove we are students. why can't we just show our student cards like with most places...rather than sitting around wasting time and mobile data? Then the menus and order were online only which totally alienates those people who have no mobile data or don't use smartphones, not everyone does and I feel like this especially alienates older people. It's extremely unfair. If this was supposedly for covid reasons, but if you truly wanted a covid safe restaurant you would remove the open pots of sauce on the table so obviously not everything has been totally thought through. I have seen in other restaurants people eat out of the pots with the spoons which is highly unhygienic and health hazard. It was far too loud to hear anything the staff were saying and just about everyone serving was extremely rude and unhelpful and reluctant to do anything. It took a very long time to be seated and for the food to come, after we had both spent ages downloading an app we will probably never use again and trying to work around the very confusing system scanning QR codes etc which is completely unnecessary when you could just put a menu up on the wall for people to order from, for example if you did not want to use paper menus. When we had to pay they had stuck on an almost £5 "service charge" on the menu that we wanted removed on an already rediculously expensive bill which completely defeats the object of a student discount. I would have happily tipped the waiters if they had actually done their jobs properly and been decent. I also noticed that on their second bill they gave us after they finally bothered to add the discount, they removed the text saying that "it is optional to remove the service charge" which I find very deceptive. I was eating with a friend and they unbelievably actually made us calculate the separate bill OURSELVES! because they couldn't be bothered to split the bill. We had to sit between us writing down and figuring out what prices we had to pay because the staff were too lazy to do it themselves for whatever reason, which is not our job as customers to work out the bill! Absolutely unbelievable and completely abhorrent, to be completely honest we should have a refund and I most definitely do not recommend and will never be coming back.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2021

Hi, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to Pho Leicester, can you send an email to gmleicester@phocafe.co.uk with some more details about your visit. Many thanks, Christine

Reviewed October 12, 2021 via mobile

Had dinner here in 8/10/21 as we were in Leicester. Location is good cos there’s a car park in the shopping centre and exit is right by the restaurant. Ambiance was good and the staff were friendly. Our order of pork spring rolls and vegetable...rolls as starters was very good , I throughly enjoyed them . Beerlao which the barman said was he favourite was perfect. The meals of chicken curry and tofu curry with mushrooms was sooo tasty. The noodles with chicken i found bit salty but overall it was a great meal. Will definitely visit more Pho restaurants near me and they are just as good.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?3  
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2021

Hi, Thanks so much for leaving us an amazing review. See you again soon. Many thanks Christine

Reviewed September 21, 2021 via mobile

The food was delicious, great veggie/vegan options and overall we had a good time, long wait for food & drinks but Saturday night so to be expected - there was a problem with our ticket & the kitchen but that got taken care of so...it wasn’t a problem. The highlight of our experience was our waitress, Chloe, who took time out of her busy shift to explain the menu, how best to eat certain dishes and even gave us some recommendations for bars after the meal - she is a total credit to the establishment - Thanks again Chloe it you’re reading this! :)More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2021

Hi Lucy, Thank you so much for leaving this review, I will let Chloe know how amazing she is. Many thanks Christine

Reviewed September 11, 2021 via mobile

My son and I visited on a Saturday lunchtime before the Leicester City v Manchester City match. We were greeted by a very friendly waiter and seated promptly. As we had never eaten at Pho before I asked for recommendations which he was happy to...give. I chose a classic curry and my son had steak pho. We also had prawn crackers and a beer each. We enjoyed our lunch at Pho and I am sure we will return on another match day.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2021

Hi Arden, Thank you so much for leaving a review, I hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Christine

Reviewed September 11, 2021 via mobile

Another great meal at Pho. We sat outside and even though it was busy we had our drinks and food served quickly. Delicious and very filling chicken curry and rice for me, while my daughter gobbled down 4 large pork spring rolls from the starter...menu and the baby squid. (TBH, she was full on the spring rolls.) Spot on service from Lewis and his colleagues. Thank you.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
PhoRestaurant, Owner at Pho Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2021

Hi, Thank you so much for leaving us an amazing review, I will pass this across to Lewis. See you again soon. Many thanks, Christine

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Villare Hotel
417 reviews
.12 km away
Novotel Leicester
43 reviews
.20 km away
Holiday Inn Leicester, an IHG hotel
1,246 reviews
.29 km away
Castle Park Hotel
203 reviews
.32 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Turtle Bay Leicester
2,761 reviews
.10 km away
World Peace Cafe
155 reviews
.08 km away
Bill's Leicester
571 reviews
.03 km away
The Tree
304 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Leicester Guildhall
559 reviews
.11 km away
Highcross Leicester
327 reviews
.10 km away
Treetop Adventure Golf Leicester
102 reviews
.04 km away
Bruxelles
9 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Pho Leicester staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pho Leicester

Yes, Pho Leicester offers takeaway services.

Yes, Pho Leicester offers delivery services.

Pho Leicester is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4