We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$9
CUISINES
Italian, Cafe, Street Food
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (795)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
643
88
13
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
643
88
13
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gelato ice cream sorbet dark chocolate medium
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 27, 2021

It's the only place I want to get ice cream from in the City. There is a wide selection of flavours to choose from and the service is efficient and very friendly.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed November 6, 2021 via mobile

Another delicious gelato from Gelato Village. These men sure know how to make delicious gelato. The pistachio tastes fresh, the dark chocolate has a richness and the milk chocolate is so creamy.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed November 5, 2021

Best ice cream I’ve tasted and original flavours And I’ve tasted quite a few Really creamy would recommend

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed October 10, 2021 via mobile

Wow - we must have walked past this place many times and not ventured in over the years - what a terrible mistake on our part ! Having gone in and now sampled the gelato - we are not going to be walking past ever...again! The flavours on offer are wide as you might expect but the quality of each is fabulous. Went for some of the sorbet style pear and melon flavours and they were really fruity not just a whiff of flavour in amongst some ice as you might get elsewhere. Refreshing, flavoursome and in a generous portion. You don’t pay per scoop, more just on cup / cone size and they fill them with up as much as they possibly can! A medium / regular cup was less than £5 and more than enough to satisfy ! Friendly and helpful staff as well who can guide you through this :) Loved it!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 27, 2021

I am picky about ice cream, and this beat my test. The pistachio was lovely. I also enjoyed the lemon and basil. Both are super! They are my favourite ice cream flavours, and I'm picky about them, and this place does a super job!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed August 16, 2021 via mobile

Gelato Village supplied the dessert at my daughter and Son in law’s wedding celebration. It was excellent and enjoyed by all. They took tremendous care of the bride and groom with their previous 2 postponements and they had four flavours to please everyone. The 2...mums had great fun serving the gelato. This was a great idea for a wedding or any celebration. The staff at Gelato Village were so helpful and efficient. If you are in Leicester do visit them.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed July 4, 2021

First time in a longtime returning here as I was a regular and being in the area excited to come back. All was fine nice gelato although limited flavours.. staff member who seemed like they didn't want to serve me ruined the experience for me...and left a bad taste in my mouth. A big group had just left the shop, a couple were taking their time trying lots of different flavours right by the glass..said staff member was called over to serve me then told me step back behind the line, no greeting or anything!! Even though the couple next to me were right up by the glass that's fine. After collecting my gelato I had to step over this line anyway to collect it!! And again when paying so that was a bit unnecessary and rude in my opinion. I understand covid rules etc but it can't apply to 1 customer only and not the 2 others standing right there! Unless it only applies to whoever you feel it should fit ....Funny that. The other staff were friendly and polite. You lose custom if you don't have the skills to be polite.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Daniele T, Owner at Gelato Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2021

We are sorry you had a bad experience this time round. As you do, we find equally difficult having to repeat to every customer (yes the one before youn and the one nextmost probably!) who doesn't read our advice to wear a mask and to...More

Reviewed June 28, 2021

Delicious, creamy gelato - the best I have had outside of Italy! The array of flavours is fantastic; there is something for everyone. Well worth a visit!

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed May 24, 2021

From the choice available to the taste this is not only hands down the best cold treat in Leicester but also caters well to those who don't fancy some gelato. Not to mention the coffee is terrific here too.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed October 21, 2020

Excellent service. Calm atmosphere, efficient and helpful staff. Just a good place to stop for a short break when you out and about in the City. Very convenient location.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Castle Park Hotel
203 reviews
.15 km away
The Villare Hotel
417 reviews
.27 km away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
1,177 reviews
.38 km away
Holiday Inn Leicester, an IHG hotel
1,246 reviews
.39 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bodega Cantina Leicester
673 reviews
.02 km away
Hollys Coffee Shop & Sandwich Bar
159 reviews
.03 km away
Crafty Burger
653 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
King Richard III Visitor Centre
2,141 reviews
.08 km away
Leicester Cathedral
1,261 reviews
.10 km away
Nada. A zero waste store
5 reviews
.04 km away
33 Cank Street
219 reviews
.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Im_Simply_Visiting
May 5, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Daniele T | Property representative |
Hi there, A regular cone (we offer three sizes - mini, regular and large) is currently £4.30. You can choose up to three gelato or sorbetto in your cone irrespective of what size you select. Hope that answers your question... More
1
Vote
Chadmkc
May 24, 2017|
Answer
Response from Daniele T | Property representative |
Hi! Yes, we have lots of gluten free options available in gelato and sorbetto. We have a clear colour coding system that identifies which options are suitable for a gluten free diet, alcohol free, allergen free and vegan... More
0
Votes
FDP7867
June 10, 2016|
Answer
Response from Daniele T | Property representative |
Hi Farouk, thanks for your enquiry and apologies for the delayed reply. As a rule of thumb all our gelato are suitable for vegetarians with few exceptions which are clearly indicated. Our sorbetto are suitable for... More
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gelato Village

Yes, Gelato Village offers takeaway services.

Gelato Village is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5