We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Richard John Blackler

) #284 of 1,389 Restaurants in Liverpool $ , British,
Units 1&2 Charlotte Row | Great Charlotte Street, Liverpool L1 1QY, England
+44 151 709 4802
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good41%
  • Average18%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (10 reviews)
“scampi” (4 reviews)
“burger” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Units 1&2 Charlotte Row | Great Charlotte Street, Liverpool L1 1QY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 339 reviews

Reviewed today

Travelling from the isle of man this pub is always a Great stop in .The food and drink is really good and gets busy .The staff can not do enough for you as and Diane was a pleasure to talk too..I especially love the envioment...More

Thank _windy1000
Reviewed 4 days ago

This is possibly the best JD Wetherspoon pub that I have ever visited. & I've visited quite a few ! Friendly helpful staff, quick serving & best of all no screaming unruly kids, everyone well behaved with no shouting in a busy city center pub....More

Thank Mike F
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

thank you for your wonderful review!!! I am so glad you had a great visit to us. We set very high standards in our pub and I am happy you noticed. We hope to see you return soon

Reviewed 5 days ago

The former store premises was one of the first Wetherspoons in Liverpool but continuers to pack the punters in to the huge interior. In addition to normal JDW menu there is a separate pizza menu - perhaps this will catch on in other Wetherspoon outlets....More

Thank Paul R
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you outlined the pizza menu, as this is the start of something different that Wetherspoons want to have and we were lucky enough to get it. Fingers crossed it is soon accessible in all Wetherspoons and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited yesterday 8/06/17 very busy but great for people watching. As usual in these types of pubs you have to ask to have tables wiped before food is served. I thought the food was good value and drinks were cheap. We could hear one member...More

Thank Renno2355
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Firstly thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you had to get your table wiped when you came in , this is not something that's happens in this establishment as we pride ourselves in customer service and cleanliness. I am glad...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

when we stay in Liverpool we always look for a wetherspoons because we know we can get something to eat and drink we have eaten here before and as we expected we where not let down the food was very good and the service too...More

1  Thank dave777qq
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you for review and thank you for choosing to come and dine with us. I am glad you had a great experience with the food and drink and our service was a high standard. We hope when your next back in Liverpool you choose...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had lunch here one day & it was chicken club day & the choice was amazing. Had the pulled chicken burger with mexican rice which was delicous. I had picked shirooka sauce ( spelt wrong ) but although l like spicy food this was too...More

1  Thank lizzie4916
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to us and tried the chicken club and tried something different, its a little spicy for me too . :) I am glad you took the opportunity to try our new pizzas...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This sprawling pub with over 200+ seats serves up delicious breakfasts including vegetarian fare at very affordable prices. Eggs Benedict or Full English Breakfasts with bottomless cup of coffee will give you change from a fiver! What a bargain. Service is excellent and staff are...More

1  Thank Cary_Ford
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you for your review. am so glad you had a great visit and managed to sample our great food and drink. We try to aim to accommodate every customer that walks through the door and meet their needs. I am so glad that our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food is great and so is the beer. Staff are tops and are really friendly. Would come here again and would recommed to anyone coming to liverpool. TRUST in the weathetspoonsMore

1  Thank Alexander J
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you very much for your great review about our pub and staff. I am glad that our staff make you feel welcome, we have a great team and are always grateful when people point out or customer service. we hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here 3 days in a row for day time drinks and food , very well priced , yummy food and good selection foe both food and drink . Staff very friendly also .

Thank Robert G
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

many thanks for your review. Am glad you liked it that much that you returned 3 days. we try to aim to please every customer that walks through our door. Its also great to know that our staff are providing great customer service

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came to liverpool for a night out so wanted something to line our stomachs before had we both went for one of the gourmet burgers, it came out within 10minutes and couldn't fault it, lovely food and so cheep with a drink included

1  Thank MarthTils247
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and comments, I am glad you chose our gourmet burgers one of a popular choice and it was everything you needed you line your stomachs for a great night out. :) we hope you visit us again soon

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Key Lime Coffee
50 reviews
.08 km away
Bella Italia Liverpool
971 reviews
.11 km away
The Crown Hotel
210 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Johns Beacon
896 reviews
.15 km away
Lime Street Railway Station
734 reviews
.16 km away
Royal Court Theatre- Liverpool
481 reviews
.20 km away
Playhouse Theatre
144 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Brendan I
7 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Neil K | Reviewed this property |
don't think they show live sport as its a city centre Wetherspoon pub mate.
0
Votes
jayman1970
4 May 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from becky086 | Property representative |
Hi.am sorry to say that we don't.
2
Votes
pete A
As a regular in the Richard John Blackler i have noticed that regularly at least once every 2 hours on week days, and at least once every hour on weekends when the pub is busy with stags and hens, that the pub is visited by 2 or 3 guys approaching customers offering to sell them what they describe as " Stolen Perfume ". As an ex police officer i suspect it is not stolen but counterfeit as they have far too much product and far too regularly.. I notice that they do very well targeting young women who have had a few to drink and their sales patter is convincing.. I would like to know why do the staff allow alleged stolen goods to be sold on the premises, and i am 100% certain they do allow it because i have noticed several staff members from the bar standing talking and laughing with them when they come in.. The pub is quick to eject beggars and the homeless asking for money, but there seems to be an exemption among staff for people selling goods dishonestly.. Why are staff and mangement allowing this to go on, it is certainly ILLETGAL to allow the sale of stolen or counterfeit goods and the good name of JD Wetherspoon is one day soon going to take a serious hit unless staff take the correct action which is to chase these people from the premises..If that doesnt happen it wont be long before a customer such as me arranges for a police visit when these people are plying their trade. I feel sorry for your poor customers also who are regularly being duped by these conmen.. Comments please..
20 February 2017|
Answer Show all 8 answers
Response from becky086 | Property representative |
Hi firstly can I say we do not allow anybody in the premises to sell any stolen or counterfeit goods at all, we work closely with the local police and community support officers to stop anybody trying to come in and sell... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
07:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
07:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
07:00 - 23:30
Thursday
07:00 - 00:00
Friday
07:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Units 1&2 Charlotte Row | Great Charlotte Street, Liverpool L1 1QY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Liverpool>  > Central Liverpool
  • Neighbourhood: Central Liverpool
  • Phone Number: +44 151 709 4802
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing