We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Monro Gastropub

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
92 Duke Street, Liverpool L1 5AG, England
+44 151 707 9933
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 23:30
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

939 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 920: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Starters, mains, desert, beer and coffee for three for £70. Bargain. Great service good atmosphere and lovely real fire. Recommend booking ahead as very busy.

Helpful?
Thank JonathanCT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The pub has such a vibrant atmosphere, went with a group of six, we had a variety of meals and all were excellent. My steak was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Veronica H
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After wanting to visit the monro for a while,i can honestly say,it did not disappoint. we were greeted by friendly staff and shown to our table in lovely comfortable surroundings. we had quality food at very reasonable prices all delivered to our table with a smile and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Helpful?
Thank debbiej128
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice and comfortable venue. We had roast dinners (beef and lamb), both nicely presented and tasty but not very generous portions. Desserts were nice: sticky toffee pudding, bread pudding, chocolate brownie and peanut butter cheesecake (the most original option). The service was friendly but a little slow. Overall it was a good meal at a great price.

Helpful?
Thank Chani C
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked two weeks in advance for a group of ten. On arrival we could not be seated because parts of the restaurant had no heating. When we were seated we were told that some of the starters and main courses were not available despite us having given our preferences when we booked. One steak was sent back as it... More 

Helpful?
Thank MCULLMC
Acid-Annie, Guest Relations Manager at The Monro Gastropub, responded to this review

You were all really dreadful from the moment you arrived. But of course we can;t say that. We cook from fresh and you complained bitterly that we had changed dishes. You don't get our ethos and thank goodness you won't be back. Shameful. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I don’t know if there has been a change in management and chiefs but, sadly this place is not what it was. The food was awful and staff just not as attentive. This place used to be so good. What a shame!

Helpful?
Thank elainemc63
Acid-Annie, Guest Relations Manager at The Monro Gastropub, responded to this review

Give yourself a solitary and lonely round of applause. Did you enjoy the power of your keyboard? Why? Because we sacked our Head Chef. You have your scalp. The power you must feel, must be so satisfying... So well done to all of the anonymous reviewers who complained and cost somebody with a big heart and a good soul his... More 

Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took my uncle here for his 70th and the 3 course lunch menu didn't disappoint. Loved the scallops to start and good wine menu. Nice real fire and friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely atmospheric pub with open fire and cask ales. Service was good although our table was not ready beyond our reservation time. Meal was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Stu W
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When I first looked at the winter menu I was a little underwhelmed but once the food arrived that feeling had gone. Simple food done really well with great atmosphere, brilliant service and nice booze. Definitely going back and would recommend for a relaxing, surprisingly good value night.

Helpful?
Thank justanotherfish
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

WE used to frequent the Monro a few years ago, we were always happy with our meals, we decided to visit again tonight and we were sorry we had, The menu is very limited and portions very small especially the scouse which was served in a very small dish, definitely not value for money and a meal for a hungry... More 

Helpful?
Thank llie249

Travellers who viewed The Monro Gastropub also viewed

 
St. Asaph, Denbighshire
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Monro Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$17 - US$32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 01:00
Saturday
12:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 92 Duke Street, Liverpool L1 5AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Liverpool
  • Phone Number: +44 151 707 9933

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Monro Gastropub and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
runcorn
1 month ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Monro Gastropub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?