We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

George Inn

#2,693 of 18,457 Restaurants in London
$$ - $$$, British,
77 Borough High Street | Southwark, London SE1 1NH, England
+44 20 7407 2056
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good47%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (27 reviews)
“sunday roast” (12 reviews)
“historic pub” (35 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
77 Borough High Street | Southwark, London SE1 1NH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 503 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Visited here on London Walks tour 20 yrs ago and couldn't wait to get back to dine here. Very clean. Very Friendly service. We dined in the gallery right at the George Inn sign. Lots of good brews and food. Heady ancient atmosphere. Don't miss...More

Thank Allen H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

charming old place with a large crowd outside enjoying the evening sunshine. never thought we stood a chance of getting any food. but 10 minutes after ordering, beautiful hot food,at a good price. Dean was esp helpful as my wife and I were running late...More

Thank Stephen B
Lorna Jean S, Guest Relations Manager at George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Stephen thankyou for taking the time for such a lovely review. I will be sure to let Dean know how much you appreciated his service. He is the man to know for local shortcuts! We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Lorna

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been here many times for a drink but never to eat. After a trip to the Shard it seemed a nice idea to finally have a meal here. When the food arrived one meal had a long dark hair in it and my...More

Thank Carole W
Lorna Jean S, Guest Relations Manager at George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Carole it sounds like a horrible experience and one that concerned the General Manager greatly. He would appreciate it if you could email us at 7781@greeneking.co.uk with your contact details so he can discuss with you in detail all that happened. If we don't...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

What a visit, I will never visit again. Visited here to 'scope out the place' for a future event, we will be staying well clear. The staff were very rude, provided slow service, were very insulting to customers and failed to maintain basic hygiene standards....More

Thank Dan L
Lorna Jean S, Guest Relations Manager at George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Dan wow that sounds like an horrendous and unusual experience at The George Inn but your review is taken seriously by myself and the General Manager. If you would consider taking the time to email us with your contact details the GM will personally...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved our George Inn experience. Dean was especially excellent! The fish and chips was fantastic and the rest of our group loved their hamburgers. It was packed but service was still excellent and quick. I would recommend this place for anyone!

Thank wanderlust4sarah
Lorna Jean S, Guest Relations Manager at George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Sarah thanks for taking the time to write this wonderful review. I will let Dean know that he was "especially excellent''. He will be chuffed. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Lorna

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were directed upstairs by a barmaid when we asked about food. The lady welcoming us into the restaurant was nice and friendly. We were told that we had at least a 30 min wait before our food would be started, which was odd but...More

Thank Tallforashortperson
Lorna Jean S, Guest Relations Manager at George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi there thankyou so much for taking the time to write such a precise and honest review. My apologies regarding the fries and the vegetables, I have told the chef. Its those busy nights that the finer details may be accidentally overlooked. We hope you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A tourist's dream, this place, beautiful wonky old coaching Inn, owned by Green King, set in a cobbled courtyard just off Borough High Street. Deservedly popular and buzzing with people, even on a weekday lunchtime. Bar menu available for cSual diners or restaurant service on...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
1  Thank lindasusanross
Lorna Jean S, Guest Relations Manager at George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Linda thanks for taking the time to written this review. I'm so glad we are one of your favourite places. Yes the busy evenings are crowded but we enjoy the fact that doesn't deter people. We hope to see you and your friends again...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great pub with a historic link great staff great location and great food what more do you need. nothing in my opinion its well worth a visit

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Alan R
Lorna Jean S, Guest Relations Manager at George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hey Alan what a lovely review. We love happy customers like you especially those that suggest a visit. We hope you return soon and soak in our historical ambience. Thanks for the 5 stars! Kind Regards Lorna

Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

This place was loud and crowded but we also went on a Saturday evening which might of been the reason for that. More of a younger persons bar. Prices for beers are way overpriced. But the meals plus a beer are a good price, around...More

1  Thank newyorkfanatic
Lorna Jean S, Guest Relations Manager at George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi NewYorkFanatic with a name like that I presume you are used to big cities! Thankyou for taking the time to review us. You are right the evenings from Thursday to Saturday do tend to be very crowded and difficult to navigate around, but as...More

Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Had lunch at the restaurant (which is a different menu to downstairs). No smaller meal options so we were allowed to order from the bar sandwich menu too. Food was very good, service great and atmosphere lovely. Toilets could be cleaner.

1  Thank Catriona H
Nearby
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard,
the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond
any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some
time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved
browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street,
foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old
foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks
of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,081 hotels in London
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
325 reviews
.14 km away
London Bridge Hotel
2,856 reviews
.17 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
3,457 reviews
.24 km away
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
1,363 reviews
.36 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Padella
721 reviews
.09 km away
Maria's Market Cafe
179 reviews
.06 km away
Tapas Brindisa London Bridge
1,189 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Borough Market
10,458 reviews
.14 km away
The View from The Shard
14,673 reviews
.24 km away
Old Operating Theatre
617 reviews
.13 km away
Southwark Cathedral
675 reviews
.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Gemma-Louise A
May 8, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Lorna Jean S | Property representative |
Hi there my apologies regarding the late response I just saw this message. Unfortunately no at the moment National Trust vouchers can not be used for food discounts at The George Inn. I hope that does not deter you from... More
0
Votes
Cassidy C
January 29, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Steve M | Reviewed this property |
This is certainly the 'site of' the original coaching inn but the current building was not built until later, following a major fire in the area. It is certainly worth a visit and a drink, though the food is only ok.
0
Votes
IvyFlood
April 30, 2017|
Answer
Response from Lorna Jean S | Property representative |
Hi there yes we do have a stamp for National Trust passports. Just ask a member of staff on your visit and we will arrange. Kind regards Lorna
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
10:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
10:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Friday
10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m.
Saturday
10:00 a.m. - 1:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 77 Borough High Street | Southwark, London SE1 1NH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Southwark
  • Neighbourhood: Southwark
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7407 2056
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;