We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cay Tre Soho

$$ - $$$
Neighbourhood:
Soho
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
42-43 Dean Street, London W1D 4QA, England
+44 20 7317 9118
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:00
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 423: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cat Tre is simple, effective but nothing that blows you away. The service is good but the food perhaps lacks in what some other Asian restaurants may have to offer. It's not the worst but wouldn't be my number 1 choice in London if I wanted Vietnamese food.

Helpful?
Thank CharlotteKirsch
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre Soho, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your feedback. Im sorry to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with your visit to Cay Tre. We appreciate your feedback and will make sure your comments are passed on to our manager. We do hope we see you again at Cay Tre. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
896 reviews
720 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 487 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017

What Cay Tre teaches us is there is so much more to Vietnamese food than the ubiquitous pho or drip filter coffee with condensed milk, although both these products are available here as well. No it's the duck with gizzard hot soup, the goat cutlet or the pig on a stick which makes the menu here so varied and interesting.... More 

Helpful?
Thank futtock21
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre Soho, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your feedback.Im very sorry about the mix up with your starters and the dishes you wanted to try weren't available on this day. I hope you did enjoy the rest of your meal and the staff made sure you were looked after. We do hope you come back to try more of our dishes and again we... More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

To keep this review short and sweet - the Pho was not very nice. Below average I'd say. We ordered the classic chicken breast pho. What spoiled it was the broth - it was WAY too minty! Why are you putting mint leaves in the broth? Simply put it was overdone and spoiled the whole thing. Really disappointed me...that being... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jay G
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre Soho, responded to this review

Hi. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the chicken pho you had at Cay Tre. In general we have great feedback for our pho dishes and we make sure to stick to the authenticity of our dishes using traditional techniques and authentic flavours. Im very sorry you weren't satisfied on this occasion and we take... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

I went here for lunch with my niece. We had a decent enough lunch but not good enough to make me want to go back. Prices were reasonable. They didn't really check on us once we'd had our food and we did actually want a couple more cocktails but in the end as they only came over when we'd finished... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mammatee43
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Bought 20 colleagues here for our Christmas party. No lager, poor service and poor food. Definitely will not be visiting again. Assistant manager not interested in making our experience positive. Set party menu food either fatty or boney. Avoid.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ross C
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre Soho, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear you had such a poor experience with us at Cay Tre. We really value feedback and make sure to send it to all management as well as the chef. If we could discuss this further with you we would really appreciate it. Please email abbey@vietnamesekitchen.co.uk so we can look further into the details of... More 

Charlestown, Nevis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

Our meal at Cay Tre started with a 30 minute wait at the bar- we walked in at 9:30pm. I won't like- while sipping on my delicious Em Oi Fizz I wondered if this meal was worth the wait. IT WAS! We started with the papaya salad- delicious, then had the wraps and rolls platter, then the pancake dish, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Truly M
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre Soho, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and it was worth the wait. We do hope you get the chance to come and see us again before the end of your trip. Its always lovely to hear our Pho has been enjoyed and has made the top of... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

Having visited (and subsequently recommended the restaurant to friends) twice before; Cay Tre chose to cancel our NYE booking *via email* just 2 hours before we were due to eat. We had booked the table via the website almost a month in advance on the 4th December. By the time the restaurant had sent the noticeably unapologetic cancellation email, we'd... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Henry C
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre Soho, responded to this review

Hi Henry - we have sent you an email in regards to your review. We look forward to speaking with you at your earliest convenience. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017

Excellent food, and quick, polite service. There is often a queue but you never have to wait long. An authentic taste of Vietnam that was recommended by a Vietnamese student of mine.. which just goes to show.. and now I am a regular customer

Helpful?
Thank jonnibe
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre Soho, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to be one of your favourites. We hope you continue to come back to see us to try even more of our dishes :) More 

Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

To be honest we walked past whilst looking for another restaurant that we were intending to visit. As we wondered past, after briefly perusing the menu we wondered on. Only to look at each other at the end of the street and say 'shall we go back, looked and smelt yummy'. So glad that we did. We hadn't booked, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank holidaytime1
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre Soho, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Its great to hear you will be visiting us again and you enjoyed your food with us. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016

We had to wait for a table but it didn't seem like a long wait. The table was on the side and didn't look as though it was going to be very comfortable but it was fine in the end. It's quite a hot place which I probably wouldn't love in the summer. I had the softshell crab, the banh... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fleur0213
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Cay Tre Soho, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback.. We take all reviews very seriously and make sure to pass them to management to continue to make improvements to our sites. We appreciate your comments and the time you took to send us feedback. We do hope you come back to see us again More 

Travellers who viewed Cay Tre Soho also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Cay Tre Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$19 - US$37
Cuisine
Asian, Vietnamese, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Full Bar, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 42-43 Dean Street, London W1D 4QA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Soho
  • Neighbourhood: Soho
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7317 9118
Description
Our modern Vietnamese restaurant in Soho emulates busy Vietnamese life, serving classic pho and aromatic street food.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cay Tre Soho and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cay Tre Soho staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Soho

Neighbourhood Profile
Soho
The go-to district for a good time in London, Soho hosts a wealth of world-class theatres and a compelling lineup of cafes, restaurants, pubs, bars, and clubs. At Soho's core is London's original Red Light District and the epicenter of the LGBT scene – and thus the city's hottest nightlife. For shopping enthusiasts, Soho is not only the home of London's greatest concentration of boutique shops, but also the most strategic place to set off on a tour of the world's most celebrated department stores. In the southern part of the neighbourhood lies Chinatown, with its multitude of delicious and affordable restaurants. Closer to the Thames, Chinatown's narrow and teeming lantern-lit lanes spill onto the expansive hub of glitzy Leicester Square.
Explore this neighbourhood