We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Coal Hole

$$ - $$$
Neighbourhood:
Covent Garden
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
91-92 The Strand | WC2R 0DW, London, England
+44 20 7379 9883
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 10:00 - 23:00
Thu 10:00 - 23:30
Fri - Sat 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

816 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 741: English reviews
london
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in for a few pints whilst catching up with a group of friends from University. Welcoming staff, well kept ales and good atmosphere. All too easy to find yourself in a tourist trap in this part of Town, but this was a great visit and a good time was had by all. Good work!

Helpful?
1 Thank tom w
General Manager A, Manager at The Coal Hole, responded to this review

Thank you very much, Tom, for your five-star rating and kind words! Even though a big part of our guests are tourists we aim to stay an authentic, traditional British pub, offering good service and great drinks and food for everyone who wonders into our pub. Have a great day! CH More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

A city and a nation is surely about its people, and there are few Londoners drinking here and no chance of a Londoner behind the bar...the internationalisation of London continues so that the idea of a 'London' is just a distant memory....if you have come to London to experience London- you are too late- but you can kick back and... More 

Helpful?
Thank clubworldzilla
General Manager A, Manager at The Coal Hole, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! As someone once said a Londoner is not born in London, is made in London. Having a team made up of Italian, Spanish, Albanian, Irish, English, Hungarian, Czech, African, Venezuelan people we think we choose the very best of hard working, strong personalities who we would never swap for anyone. Hopefully we'll see... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a table after I researched real ale pubs which served good pub grub. I thought I hit jack pot when I saw the website. Only in London for the day as we were seeing a show just around the corner. Table booked for 5.30. Arrived on time to a pretty empty pub. Seated straight away, ordered drinks which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wilf1lola1
General Manager A, Manager at The Coal Hole, responded to this review

Dear Wilf1lola1, As discussed on the phone, we apologise for the experience you feel you had both on the day of your visit and with the subsequent gesture of good will. This will be followed up as we take pride in how our food is cooked and presented. Our system issues have been rectified so we can only apologise further... More 

Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good selection of beers and other drinks, relaxed atmosphere, we had the fish and chips which was hot tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Mrs Fiona T
General Manager A, Manager at The Coal Hole, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Mrs Fiona T. Have a nice day! CH More 

Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Only had a drink but good selection of beers fast service and great atmosphere. Quite expensive but it is London.

Helpful?
Thank Lottiegen
General Manager A, Manager at The Coal Hole, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Lottiegen. You really made our day today. CH More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great experience, pies were amazing. Service is spot on, not pushing, just what you need in a traditional pub.

Helpful?
Thank Roland N
General Manager A, Manager at The Coal Hole, responded to this review

Roland N, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet. CH More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice old-school pub in central location – Strand – near Charing Cross and Embankment stations. Someone told me the first Dumbledore from the Harry Potter movies used to drink here. Not sure if that's true! Got a bit busy in evening.

Helpful?
Thank almackenzie1984
General Manager A, Manager at The Coal Hole, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments. We can confirm that Richard Harris used to drink in our pub. There is a plaque placed above one of the seats, in memory of him. CH More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was amazing - however, there was a little mouse around as well - i noticed Jerry (haha) after i ate. told the waiter who looked a bit upset and she said she would tell her manager - i hope it is sorted now. I ordered a double burger with cheese but they forgot the cheese - would definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Siddell_Bloodsaw
General Manager A, Manager at The Coal Hole, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Coal Hole. We are sorry, we served your burger without cheese, we have no excuse. Please accept our apologies. About Jerry, we have made immediate actions, and regret/pleased to inform you that he has been sentenced to death. (RIP) We hope we can wow you the next time... More 

Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had dinner with some friends and was not impressed with the food. Poor presentation and not very tasty food. The establishment is nice and the staff is friendly.

Helpful?
Thank frenchchef2016
General Manager A, Manager at The Coal Hole, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We are really sorry that we didn't hit our usual high standards. We hope we can fix this the next time you are visiting us! CH More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were taking in a show at the savoy and needed to find somewhere to eat. My wife had been to a Nicholson pub before and recommended it to me. I was not to be disappointed. Fantastic service,lovely food,very clean and ideal location. Would certainly recommed or visit another Nicholson pub in the future. Very impressed.

Helpful?
1 Thank dennisddk19
General Manager A, Manager at The Coal Hole, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Coal Hole. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Coal Hole. Looking forward to seeing you again soon in one of our pubs. Hope you enjoyed the show! CH More 

Travellers who viewed The Coal Hole also viewed

 

Been to The Coal Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$12
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:30
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 91-92 The Strand | WC2R 0DW, London, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Covent Garden
  • Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7379 9883
Description
You will find The Coal Hole in Strand London within a short stroll of Charing Cross, Trafalgar Square and Covent Garden - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.The Coal Hole is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Coal Hole and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Herts

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Coal Hole staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Covent Garden

Neighbourhood Profile
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or simply to be among the multitude of people who pass through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated by some impromptu act of a street performer wowing the crowds in Covent Garden's Piazza. If you do have tickets, you'll be pleased to note that many of the local eateries accommodate theatergoers with prix fixe menus, early dinners, and later than usual opening hours. 


Explore this neighbourhood