We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown Pub

#11,831 of 18,467 Restaurants in London
$$ - $$$, British,
108 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8HW, England
+44 20 7928 3418
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good17%
  • Average17%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible14%
20 Nov 2017
“Only had drinks here so cant comment about the food”
20 May 2017
“Mediocre pub in Blackfriars Road”
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
108 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8HW, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2017

Lovely little London pub where 2 pints of lager was around £9.50. It was comfortable enough and very busy

Thank Stephen M
Reviewed May 20, 2017

No special atmosphere here. the staff also totally without interest in you and in service. We took a pint and left quickly again. there are so many nice pubs in London so we found quickly another one.More

Thank Lynge T
Imran A, Manager at The Crown Pub, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Hi, Just to let you know, The Crown is now under new management and new staff. We are sorry to hear about your previous experience but the pub has also been renovated so we would love for you to give the pub another try! Thanks,...More

Reviewed April 28, 2017

We popped in here for a quickie prior to a workshop we were attending close by. The staff (and customers present) were so helpful with doors and service that, as I thanked them, I vowed to be back soon. I probably didn't mean quite as...More

Thank Peter T
Reviewed November 23, 2016

Worst menu ever! £10 for a shepherds pie..... with BEANS!? £10 for vegetable pasta which pronto sell for £3.50 next door. My friend was lucky enough to have the last fish finger panini although it didn't come with chips. "Oh sorry, we don't sell chips...More

Thank RayneWooney
Management response:Responded March 13, 2017

Hi, Just a quick message to let you know that The Crown is now under new management. We have implemented alot of changes, such as the drink and food selection, prices and decor. We are sorry to hear about your previous experience but we are...More

Reviewed May 22, 2016

Went into a half empty pub for a beer. Was totally ignored at the bar for ten minutes. The woman supposedly serving seemed to to look upon customers as an irritation, I can't rate the beer as i got fed up with waiting and walked...More

Thank Paul L
Management response:Responded March 13, 2017

Hi, Just a quick message to let you know that The Crown is now under new management. We have implemented alot of changes and our new staff are very friendly! We are very sorry to hear of your past experience but we hope you will...More

Reviewed May 6, 2016

During non-peak times, you can expect to wait an ungodly amount of time to be served by the lacklustre staff here, and if you do, don't expect what you order to be A) what you ordered, or B) the price presented. I've frequently seen and...More

Thank Adam P
Management response:Responded March 13, 2017

Hi, Just a quick message to let you know that The Crown is now under new management and we have implemented alot of changes, such as a much larger and diverse drinks selection! So feel free to pop in and try us again. Thanks!

Reviewed April 16, 2016

I ended up here quite unintentionally. Fresh off a plane, little sleep since departing Florida the night before, I needed coffee, beer, and food, preferably in quick succession. In residence at the Mad Hatter Hotel a few blocks north on Blackfriars Rd, I was exploring...More

3  Thank Matt_Take_Me_2Europe
Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

Average burger, staff were unnecessarily rude. My food took over an hour to cook and they made a mistake. I wouldn't recommend.More

Thank Oyeniyi I
Management response:Responded March 13, 2017

Hi, Just a quick message to let you know that The Crown is now under new management. We have implemented alot of changes, such as the drink and food selection, prices and decor. We are sorry to hear about your previous experience but we are...More

Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile

Went to the Crown for a quick drink. Poor quality of cider and beer tasting of. Staff was polite, but would not go back. On the plus side there was a nice beer garden on in the back.More

Thank Matilda123456
Management response:Responded March 13, 2017

Hi, Just a quick message to let you know that The Crown is now under new management. We have implemented alot of changes, such as the drink and food selection, prices and decor. We are sorry to hear about your previous experience but we are...More

Reviewed July 6, 2015

After a day long tour of London we had dinner at Doggetts Crown Pub and Grill on the bank of the Thames River. I told the waiter we were tourists and wanted a very authentic London dinner and a "pint. He made fantastic selection for...More

1  Thank jerphil
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,081 hotels in London
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
61 reviews
.18 km away
Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo
3,184 reviews
.22 km away
H10 London Waterloo
3,447 reviews
.29 km away
Travelodge London Central Southwark
2,388 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Laughing Gravy Bar & Restaurant
1,713 reviews
.04 km away
Baltic Restaurant & Bar
960 reviews
.25 km away
Masters Superfish
730 reviews
.22 km away
Byron
394 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Old Vic
581 reviews
.35 km away
Young Vic
155 reviews
.27 km away
The London Fire Brigade Museum
41 reviews
.50 km away
House of Vans
15 reviews
.50 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Crown Pub staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Serves Alcohol
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 108 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8HW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7928 3418
Description
A traditional British pub in the heart of Blackfriars Road. Come on in and sample our newly updated drinks menu. We have carefully hand picked the finest craft beers from around the globe. We’re excited to share it with you! When the days start to get shorter and the nights start to get darker our beer garden transforms into a delightful city escape. With fairy lights to provide a cosy atmosphere, heaters and blankets to help keep the cold away and limited edition winter drinks, you can while away the winter nights!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;