We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Butlers Wharf Chop House

36E Shad Thames, London SE1 2YE, England
+44 20 7403 3403
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good31%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (182 reviews)
Open Now
18:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
36E Shad Thames, London SE1 2YE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

I would thoroughly recommend going here for a meal. Always book first. If you are lucky and the weather is good try and get a table outside and watch the world go by along the walkway and the river thames, fabulous

Thank julievicky78
Reviewed 6 days ago

Why have you stopped caring Chop house? I have always been a fan but something's changed. I don't think it was just an off day, I visited Chop house for lunch on 13/7/17. The normally bustling atmosphere and amazing service was missing, instead it was...More

Thank razamatazcaz
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Razamatazcaz Thank you for taking the time to review. I can assure we that we really do care. If you could please contact me at the restaurant I would like to discuss your recent experience. Charliem@danddlondon.com or alternatively 02074033403 I look forward to hearing...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here for supper on a Wednesday evening and had a very pleasant meal. On arrival we had some drinks at the bar and then we were shown to our table, as requested near to the window. Service was efficient and our waitress was...More

Thank Alex S
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Alex S Thank you for taking the time to review. I will pass your kind words onto the waiting team, they do so much that goes unnoticed & will be pleased to know it pays off. We hope to see you again soon Kind...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a very enjoyable evening here earlier this week. This was my favourite restaurant for many years many years ago and it felt really good to be back. The ambience and the staff were just as good as I remembered them. The steak and...More

Thank ABC-WLondon
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear ABC-WLondon Thank you for taking the time to review. The Steak & Kidney pudding is a personal favourite of mine here too, we have had the same chef make them for over 10 years now! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is tucked away from the crowds of tourists. You can sit outside under cover with a perfect view of Tower Bridge and the Thames. We had the lunch special of 2 courses for £13.50. I had delicious potted mackerel on toast and my...More

Thank rebeccadiver
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Rebeccadiver Thank you for taking the time to review. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience. Thank you also for your feedback about the Sausages we will look into this immediately. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Charlie Mcsweeney

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I haven't visited this restaurant for over a year and being a loyal regular customer for over 10 years, sadly it's changed for the worst. The set menu price has crept up in price. I instantly noticed that they don't serve free bread and butter...More

Thank Jade H
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jade H Thank you for taking the time to review. I would like to speak to you regarding your recent experience. If you wouldn't mind contacting me at charliem@danddlondon.com I would be very grateful. Kind Regards Charlie Mcsweeney

Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was appalling. We had a lovely welcome and our party of 4 was shown to a table. We then waited 20 minutes, which seemed a lifetime, forr a menu and a drinks order. We finally asked a passing member of staff if we...More

Thank Fcfirty
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Afternoon Fcfirty Firstly may I apologise for your recent experience. If you wouldn't mind contacting me at charliem@danddlondon.com I would like to discuss your recent experience. Kind Regards Charlie Mcsweeney

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having read recent reviews I was somewhat concerned about our upcoming reservation. However we could not fault the service and the food & wine were delicious. We were given a table outside on a lovely sunny day and the view is amazing. Would definitely visit...More

Thank TBCITW
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear TBCITW Thank you for taking the time to review. We are all pleased at the Chophouse you enjoyed your recent visit. I will pass on your kind words to the team & look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Charlie Mcsweeney

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A group of eight went a while ago and did not have a great experience. I spoke to the the manager Charlie who asked myself and my partner to return in order to make amends. I booked for four as the birthday boy came back...More

Thank Martin B
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Martin B Thank you for returning and trying the Chophouse again. I am so pleased to have been able to make up for your previous experience. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Charlie Mcsweeney

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Shad Thames a few years and found that they have some lovely restaurants with amazing views of Tower Bridge, which last night look stunning in the sunset. This restaurant looks a lot more expensive that it actually is. Not cheap eats, but mid...More

Thank KentishManofKent
Charlie M, General Manager at The Butlers Wharf Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear KentishManofKent Thank you for taking the time to review. We hope to see you again at the Chophouse. Kind Regards Charlie Mcsweeney

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cantina del Ponte
993 reviews
.10 km away
Le Pont de la Tour
694 reviews
.06 km away
Blue Print Cafe
675 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tower of London
46,721 reviews
.46 km away
Tower Bridge
24,582 reviews
.17 km away
City Hall
202 reviews
.41 km away
London Bridge
192 reviews
.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
dfinch2016
8 October 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Charlie M | Property representative |
The package for the meal and boat is £300 for the meal only it is £100 Kind regards Colin
0
Votes
Ian S
27 July 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Sarah H | Reviewed this property |
Hi Ian, I'm so sorry I didn't see your message! Hope your wife's 60th went well and the Chop House was as delicious as can be. Best, Sarah
1
Vote
Julie W
10 September 2015|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Jade H | Reviewed this property |
I've never been to the Simpsons tavern chop house so I can't really compare. However I've been going to Butlers wharf chop house for about 10 years. The food, the staff, the view has never disappointed me.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$23 - US$65
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 36E Shad Thames, London SE1 2YE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7403 3403
  • E-mail
Description
We pride ourselves on serving modern British food that is locally sourced. Being located along London's riverside we have all kinds of amazing suppliers at our finger tips with the likes of Cannon and Cannon from Borough Market bringing you the best in British charcuterie and grass-fed Spey side Angus X steaks, our restaurant is brimming with quality ingredients. As well as meat we like to think our fish & seafood is pretty good too, with Foreman's smoked salmon, Carlingford Rocks Oysters and sumptuous lobster. Soak up magnificent views across to Tower Bridge and beyond, we like to think this it is the perfect place to come and sample one of our craft ale's or peruse our extensive gin list. The Chop House bar has a relaxed atmosphere adjacent to the main restaurant and is a great place to stop by for a quick bite to eat or to enjoy cocktails in a relaxed setting, overlooking Tower Bridge. Whether you're on a lunch break with colleagues or popping in at the weekend with family there is something for everybody's taste.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing