We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wiltons

55 Jermyn Street | St James, London SW1Y 6LX, England
+44 20 7629 9955
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good17%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“dover sole” (91 reviews)
“oysters” (98 reviews)
“dressed crab” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
55 Jermyn Street | St James, London SW1Y 6LX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 90 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Old world charm in one of the classiest restaurants I've ever seen is how I would describe my experience having lunch today at Wilton's. Luckily my associate eats here all the time and we were seated at a booth in the main dining area. This...More

Thank bookpublisher
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear bookpublisher, Thank you for your wonderful review. It is a pleasure to read that your lunch here at Wiltons has made such an impression on you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Rest assured that we will always do our...More

Reviewed 12 March 2017

This is probably one of my favourite dining places in London. Fabulously old-fashioned with a sommelier and discreet atmosphere. I was celebrating my birthday and we had been given a booth which is comfortable and private. Starter was the soufflé, followed by a lobster Neuberg....More

Thank lauran1902
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear lauran1902, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It is a delight to know that you celebrated your birthday with us and that you had such a memorable evening. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for...More

Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

For years the superb quality of this restaurant has been maintained. The food and service are outstanding. It's expensive but you get what you pay for. The mixed oyster starter is a treat. Dover Sole always the best. Enjoy!

Thank Pib1014
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Pib1014, It is always a pleasure to see our guests return to us and to know that the quality of our food and service has been maintained and is considered outstanding. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

This is the place to go if you want to experience England in the good old days. Wilton is a very charming restaurant that serves very good traditional English on a high level. The interior is very traditional, the waiters very prompt and polite and...More

Thank RoteFuchs
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear RoteFuchs, We are delighted to read that you had such a fantastic time while dining at Wiltons. Knowing that despite our formal appearance, you were able to relax and enjoy your meal is a true pleasure. We look forward to welcoming you back in...More

Reviewed 4 March 2017

Had lunch here a few days ago. And like on my first visit, I was met with a very warm welcome. The lady at the front door received me in a way that I felt like a dear, old friend.This establishment has a special way...More

Thank norguy
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear norguy, It is truly a pleasure to read your review and see that you enjoyed every moment of your time at Wiltons. My colleagues do their utmost to provide our guests with outstanding service and mouthwatering, locally sourced food. It is a joy to...More

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

I had been looking forward to this visit but left feeling cheated out of over £200. Cheese soufflé starter was perfect but downhill from there. Steak so thin there was no point asking how I wanted it - either raw or cooked should be the...More

3  Thank Julie c
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Julie c Thank you for your review, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your Stilton soufflé however we were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your 35 day aged sirloin steak from Rhug Estate Wales, nor the triple cooked hand...More

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Was hoping for something special but was left feeling disappointed. The blue cheese souffle was exceptional but from that point it went down hill. The aged serloin steak and frozen chips was a big disappointment.For dessert I had apple crumble with vanilla custard,the apple was...More

1  Thank toothslayer61
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Came to UK & traveled through Europe for months, the dinner was the best dinner I've had in months, yes, it was expensive but worth every penny - The food was delicious and the staff impeccable - how did we not know this place existed?...More

1  Thank Diane R
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Dear Diane R Thank you for your kind review, we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal with us. Now you have discovered us we hope that you will return in the near future.

Reviewed 23 February 2017

After reading all the reviews about Wilton's Restaurant we thought we were in for an outstanding culinary experience. WRONG. Nothing could be further from the truth. Upon arrival, a manager stood blocking the coat check having a tete a tete with perhaps a customer whilst...More

2  Thank Rossiter W L
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear Rossiter W L, Thank you for your review, although we were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy all aspects of your visit. We pride ourselves on our customer service, but it would appear we have taken our eye off the ball on...More

Reviewed 17 February 2017

Great quality service with style,the drinks/wine and food we ordered for lunch was very good the ambiance is excellent it's a bit like going back in time but for all the right reasons the place has a certain old world style which is fun -...More

Thank Howard G
Michael S, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear Howard G, It is a pleasure to see that you had such an enjoyable experience when dining here. We like to think of ourselves as an oasis of stability in a desert of change. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wiltons again...More

Nearby
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII,
the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier
destination for high end craft and bespoke design.
Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which
indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the
establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during
a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s
Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing
...More
Nearby Restaurants
45 Jermyn St.
355 reviews
.07 km away
Quaglino's
1,372 reviews
.02 km away
Petrichor at the Cavendish London
519 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Burlington Arcade
215 reviews
.09 km away
Burlington House
10 reviews
.11 km away
Snap Galleries London
6 reviews
.06 km away
Fortnum & Mason
2,927 reviews
.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Welshexplorer1991
24 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Sarah S | Reviewed this property |
Definitely a jacket - probably not a tie but it is very smart and you might feel underdressed in certain clothes. Definitely not shorts and sandles place!!!!
0
Votes
Welshexplorer1991
24 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Westiegal3 | Reviewed this property |
This is what it says on their website - " While gentlemen are welcome to wear a jacket and tie they are not required to. We would ask that no trainers, open toed shoes, sportswear or short sleeve shirts are worn... More
1
Vote
578wendy
12 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from ArneHFrandsen | Reviewed this property |
Yes - jacket for men
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$46 - US$198
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 55 Jermyn Street | St James, London SW1Y 6LX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > St. James's
  • Neighbourhood: St. James's
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7629 9955
  • E-mail
Description
Wiltons, established in 1742, has consistently enjoyed a reputation as the epitome of fine British dining in London. George William Wilton provided the finest oysters to the traders of London"s Haymarket. Today Wiltons continues that tradition and continues to serve the finest oysters, seafood and game. Wiltons combines a modern philosophy on service with all that is traditionally British to create the perfect dining experience. If you are making a reservation for groups of 6 or more, please contact Wiltons directly. Should you have any special requests i.e birthday cakes or champagne, please advise Wiltons immediately upon making your reservation. We politely ask that gentlemen wear long sleeved shirts and long trousers, no sportswear or open toed sandals.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing