We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canela

33 Earlham Street, London WC2H 9LS, England
+44 20 7240 6926
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good38%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“custard tart” (5 reviews)
“bacalao” (2 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
33 Earlham Street, London WC2H 9LS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Coffee stop before the bustle of Hampton Court Flower Show. Perfect coffee and good- value Colombian inspired menu. Great service and a relaxed atmosphere with a range of seating options. We wished that we hadn't had breakfast before we left home - the food looks...More

Thank drsue22
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not a place to go if you're starving and after a massive meal. everything here is served small and light, or in platters. The charcuterie board was great, and some nice house wine. sparkling was like cider though, so wouldn't recommend it and we regretted...More

Thank VickyL87
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice service, very good appetizers We appreciated a lot Even it's a bit expensive but it worth.

1  Thank xiaweii
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great food, friendly staff - but need to work on timing! We ordered 2 drinks plus 2 glasses of tap water; and 3 food items. 2 drinks arrived within 5 minutes; 2 of the 3 food items arrived within 10. The third food item arrived...More

Thank minty_mel
38susana, Owner at Canela, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback on your experience here in Canela. First of all, I am very sorry for the quite unacceptable wait you had for your food, and secondly for your not receiving the tap water you had requested. All of the staff are...More

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Yes but only if you compare to the very bad restaurants in Portugal. Poor service and arrogant staff. The food quality and quantity is substandard. And, one item of the menu indicated one price and they charged more! When this was pointed out the waiter...More

Thank Fernando C
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

I saw this place and stop after the show looking for eat some Portuguese food... didn't fell welcome, but I can survive that. The food looks ok but was COLD, I said to the waiter and he took back and brought me another one COLD...More

1  Thank Luciana C
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Canela was the first choice of Portuguese restaurants in the Covent Garden area. It was well placed for a meeting place. The restaurant was above basic, the staff very very charming and helpful. The choice of starters was good except for the Tinned Sardines. The...More

Thank Evylyn P
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Very disappointing! I went there for the first time and I am not expecting to go back! The place is very nice but the staff are very rude and unprofessional. I believe they look down on Portuguese customers. I felt not appreciated as a customer...More

2  Thank PBSerra
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Very good salads but extremely small portions when it comes to mains. Staff is friendly and amazing wines. One note, the bathroom is outside the restaurant.

Thank Alice P
Reviewed 21 April 2017

The day we went the oven wasn't working so the menu was more limited than usual. There was nothing offered by way of apology. When our food arrived (pan fried) it was luke warm and frankly tasteless. Did not enjoy the experience I'm afraid.

1  Thank Sally B
Nearby
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude
of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or
simply to be among the multitude of people who pass
through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking
up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around
Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the
opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters
here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Monmouth Kitchen
422 reviews
.04 km away
Hawksmoor Seven Dials
3,226 reviews
.06 km away
The Barbary
188 reviews
.07 km away
Monmouth Coffee Company
467 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cambridge Theatre
251 reviews
.03 km away
Seven Dials
120 reviews
.03 km away
Donmar Warehouse
107 reviews
.07 km away
Neal Street
41 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
thesamquinn
24 November 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Gary W | Reviewed this property |
They are good for both but probably better for lunch
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$35 - US$35
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Earlham Street, London WC2H 9LS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Covent Garden
  • Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7240 6926
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing