We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bull Pub

$$ - $$$, British,
Postgate Way | Ugthorpe, Whitby YO21 2BQ, England
+44 1947 840286
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good21%
  • Average2%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Postgate Way | Ugthorpe, Whitby YO21 2BQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 202 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2018

We went to the black bull on tonight for a meal and thoroughly enjoyed it , we were welcomed by the bar staff and felt at ease straight away. We had not booked a table but they had a table for us immediately. The specials...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank TownendBB
Reviewed October 31, 2018

We arrived at the Black Bull at just after 6pm , I ordered Home made steak pie and the wife had Stew and Home made Dumplings , I should imagine if these meals were the norm , they are not for the faint hearted ,...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Garry Andre A
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Amazing little pub! Looks very 'local' but we were welcomed in served really promptly. Food is AMAZING!! We both had yorkshire pudding starter (you do not get this in Swansea), then meat pies for main, portions are massive!! But so tasty! Next time I wont...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MrsPonty
Reviewed September 5, 2018

We were touring around Yorkshire and happened upon this pub near Whitby. We had a friendly welcome and the food was delicious with good sized portions. The service was outstanding. Would certainly visit again.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jackie P
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Waiter was very nice and the typical food tasted really good. Price is also very good. The only thing i didn’t like was the fact that the chips are way to soft!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Luca B
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We were staying in the area and a local fisherman recommended this place to us. We are so pleased we found it. It made our family holiday. Luckily they managed to fit us in. I had a good feeling when we walked through the door...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank lonners3
Reviewed September 4, 2018

When the campsite owner recommended a carvery I was perhaps not as excited as my husband, but I was really pleasantly surprised as rather than just a plate of vegetables I had a root vegetable nut roast topped with goats cheese. The barman came to...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Gilly W
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

My father in law who was 70 wanted to go here after doing his research on the Internet he likes Home cooked food all together there was 9 of us 1 of us is gluten free and the 1 was vegan with a milk and...More

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Alancapper
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

After hearing fantastic local views we visited for a rare family meal. The lasagne came bland and dry with no sauce at all and this was very disappointing. Both steaks were over cooked and even though the waitress was lovely we were not checked on...More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Bethany C
John K, Manager at Black Bull Pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Hello Bethany, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your family meal. We appreciate that families do not often get the chance to enjoy time together these days so every occasion is important. The night you visited, as you say, we had a table...More

Reviewed August 24, 2018

Very disappointed with our meal this evening. We first came to this Pub ten years ago and had several lovely meals. Tonight I had Parmesan Chicken and my Mum had Lasagne. My chicken was over cooked and chewy, the chips were obviously re fried and...More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank 961Karen
John K, Public Relations Manager at Black Bull Pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Karen. I am sorry you did not enjoy your meals after waiting a decade to come back. Having had the same Chef and kitchen staff for well over 10 years has enabled us to continually...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Whitby
Runswick Bay Hotel
267 reviews
5.06 km away
Cliffemount Hotel
592 reviews
5.10 km away
The Grapes Inn
76 reviews
5.47 km away
Dunsley Hall
1,022 reviews
6.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Ellerby Country Inn Restaurant
419 reviews
3.41 km away
Board Inn
75 reviews
4.21 km away
The Royal Hotel
190 reviews
5.05 km away
Brown Cow Inn
97 reviews
5.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
The War Memorial Clock Tower in Hinderwell
6 reviews
5.49 km away
Museum of Victorian Science
236 reviews
5.80 km away
Grosmont Railway Station
184 reviews
6.84 km away
Sandsend Beach
1,062 reviews
6.92 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
November 7, 2018|
Response from John K | Property representative |
Hello, we are only open for drinks on Christmas Day between 11:00 and 13:00 I am afraid.
September 3, 2018|
Response from John K | Property representative |
Hello Pam, apologies for the delay in getting back to you. Whilst we love dogs we do not allow them in the pub, unless they are guide or assistance dogs. I am afraid this includes the bar area.
May 8, 2018|
Response from John K | Property representative |
Hi Sandie, We regularly host larger groups, was there something in particular you were looking for? We have organised Carvery meals for parties of 25 or more, or we can take pre-orders from our regular bar menu. The full... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Postgate Way | Ugthorpe, Whitby YO21 2BQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough District  >  Whitby
  • Phone Number: +44 1947 840286
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing