We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Golden Lion

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9 Church Street, York YO1 8BG, England
+44 1904 620942
Website
Today
11:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 11:00 - 23:00
Thu - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 174: English reviews
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Watched the Six Nations live on Saturday afternoon. Arrived 30 minutes before kick off and got a good spot. Beer selection was good, as was the service. Staff worked hard to keep flow going throughout match. A popular choice for watching the match and well worth it. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank VBTAFF
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice pub. Clean. Very busy popular place. Served food. Ideal for watching the sport. Cosy atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank nursey1972
Forfar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for a drink to watch rugby match after lovely steak nite in duke of york pub. Wish we had not bothered. £6 for a pint & slimline tonic. Much cheaper to av alcohol!!! Will not visit again, much cheaper & nicer pubs in york.

Helpful?
Thank Pat D
Blaydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went on a day trip to York and were looking for somewhere with a reasonable choice of real ales and good food. The Golden Lion offers a decent selection of beers without really spoiling you for choice, although the beer I had was very nice. I had a lamb shank pie with minted mash, which was very tasty and... More 

Helpful?
Thank MRey1972
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

After visiting a couple of years back I expected my trip to be great. Unfortunately a new turn of your staff members seem to have brought down the place. Staff were talking to their friends at the bar. One girl with short dark red hair was PARTICULARLY rude after I told her my order was wrong while it was her... More 

Helpful?
Thank hannahabb
Jenny G, Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review

I'm disappointed you feel that way and would like to apologise about your experience, the person in question is a very bubbly, happy individual but I will investigate what had caused her to be out of character this particular time. We do strive to give everybody a great welcome and experience here, so apologies again I would personally like you... More 

York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Came in for a beer on a quiet weeknight. Staff stood at the bar talking to their friends didn't seem interested in serving me at all. After ordering a relatively pricey pint the glass was just placed on the drip tray and the tap turned on. I was then handed a pint that had yet to settle and ended up... More 

Helpful?
Thank berlunt
Jenny G, Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review

We apologise about your latest visit. We do have a policy of topping up your pint if you are not satisfied with the size head....Do you have pictures of the drink you received? Did you ask if your drink could of been topped up? Do you have a description of the member of the team who served you so I... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Visited the golden lion on a day out with my partner, greeted with a strong stench of a mix BO/Urine. Bar staff was a young man that had really bad personal hygiene. We couldn't finish our drink due to the smell we left feeling quite sick

Helpful?
Thank WG2891
Jenny G, Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review

Hello, could you please call me 01904620942 to give me further details on this Thank you More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Called in on Sunday for a few and ended up staying for lunch. The place was busy and when ordering food we were told about an hours wait, which we didn't mind because it was a great atmosphere.... so we had to have a couple of extra pints and the Mrs more wine, which was such a shame 'lol' Sunday... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
Jenny G, Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We do try and give an accurate wait on food as we are a small pub and can get busy rather quickly and we do not want to disappoint our guests with unrealistic wait times. We are working on the food wait times but we are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us.... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017

Went in Saturday lunchtime. Was busy but table we had booked was ready and staff really helpful to make sure all 6 of us and 2 large dogs were comfortable. Food was ordered at the bar and came in good time - and was very good when it arrived.

Helpful?
Thank lund770
Jenny G, Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. My team are very friendly and hospitable and we all love having well behaved dogs in our pub! We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I normally enjoy a beer here and watch the sport on the TV. This Saturday evening we had to leave halfway through the game and leave our drinks. Mindless and offence group of 10 in a stag party dressed in charity shop ladies clothes. Sharing loudly their sexual exploitations and the graphic details of their conquests. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank PhilsFamilyView
Jenny G, Manager at Golden Lion, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear of this. We do try and monitor large parties behaviour i.e. Volume of noise, behaviour etc and have doorstaff on most weekends and this behaviour certainly would not of been acceptable and would of been asked to quieten down or leave if myself or other duty manager had been there. Unfortunately I had external cover... More 

Travellers who viewed Golden Lion also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Church Street, York YO1 8BG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  York
  • Phone Number: +44 1904 620942
Description
The Golden Lion is a traditional pub in the heart of York's historic city. Only a minute walk from York Minster, we are in a perfect location to sight see around the beautiful city. We're proud to say our menu is packed with Great British pub food classics, including iconic dishes like our hand-battered fish and chips, pie and mash and succulent burgers. Our drinks include a great range of real ales and an extensive wine list. Our cask ales range has some of the best in British beers, including the 1730, our very own special pale ale. The pub also has BT Sport and SKY Sport for all your sporting fixtures as well as regular live music events. The team at the Golden Lion look forward to welcoming you soon at this fantastic traditional British pub in York.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Golden Lion staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?