We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Priory restaurant

35 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
+44 1993 823249
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good39%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“baguette” (10 reviews)
“baked potato” (3 reviews)
“scones” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
35 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We all always go to the Priory when we visit Burford normally for just a cream tea but this time we did have a meal. My partner had chilli and rice and going by the clean plate she enjoyed it.I had a baguette with sausage...More

Thank Phil S
Reviewed 6 days ago

We only spent 1 night in Priory B+B but would certainly go back. the location is excellent and even though there is no parking it was easy to find a parking place close by every time we needed one and there was no charge. The...More

Thank olivia444
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

What a lovely review. Thank you Olivia for your kind words. It is great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We do hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you priory for an absolutely amazing time. We have never stayed in such a lovely place. The staff are so friendly and Debs was so helpfull and the rest of the crew. We stayed 2 nights and was so pleased to see on our...More

Thank AndiWal
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow, thank you so much for your glowing feedback. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We will certainly pass on your thanks to our team. We do hope we see you again very soon. Thanks again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The bedrooms are very comfortable and also the bathrooms are good. The breakfast was excellent everyday.

Thank john056076
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much John for your great review! We are so pleased to hear you found your stay with us so comfortable and enjoyed the breakfast so much.. We do hope you visit us again soon.

Reviewed June 28, 2018 via mobile

We went in on a Thursday afternoon for lunch. I had the chilli and nachos with cheese as good as I have ever had. My partner had the Cajun burger and said it was very good. Fast service and a lot of good people watching...More

Thank nighthawk779
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us, and I must have to agree, our outside table are great people watching spots! We hope to see you again.

Reviewed June 26, 2018 via mobile

Feel very lucky to have found this little gem in the beautiful village/town of Burford. Stayed one night with Justin and his crew and enjoyed comfortable well appointed accommodations consistent with the price point and a lovely full English breakfast in the garden the next...More

Thank leslie k
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Thank you Leslie for your wonderful review. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay with us. Sorry that you couldn’t stay with us longer, but hope you visit us again soon!

Reviewed June 18, 2018

Love my cooked breakfast here, look forward to it, and call every time we are here. Love the sausage but then so does my dog which always entails getting an extra one. One criticism and it is my wife's not mine and it is that...More

Thank david l
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thank you so much David for your continued custome and lovely feedback! For next time, we do sometimes have cereals, so I cannot guarantee we always have some, but you can always ask. We look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed May 21, 2018

Called in for a late breakfast, very impressive menu and great service from very smartly dressed staff, I would guess all family members? Very quick food preparation, good fresh produce extremely tasty. Very busy and noticeably popular with local clientele always the best recommendation. Good...More

Thank Martin P
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thank you so much Martin for your lovely review. Although the waitress here are not techinically family, we are a small and close team so it often feels like family (with even a few member of staff have been here for 20+ years!). I am...More

Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

Wife had breakfast here on last day of long weekend, was very pleasant. Full breakfast had by both of us, and total bill was very good, certainly corker complain about quality, service or food or portions. Very much recommended for a hearty breakfast.

Thank leBullet
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast with us. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

Couple of things ruined my experience here. Firstly, I asked for no egg and mushrooms with my breakfast and requested if I could have some of the other items extra instead. This is something I always do and only in the south of England is...More

Thank Adam B
prioryburford, Owner at Priory restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

I am very sorry to hear you didn’t not enjoy your dinning experience with us. However, I would like to address the two allegations made in your review. Firstly, we do have a strict ‘no substituting’ policy with our breakfast for two reasons. One is...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Burford
Golden Pheasant
377 reviews
.10 km away
Burford House
322 reviews
.14 km away
The Bull at Burford
635 reviews
.17 km away
The Bay Tree Hotel
724 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Royal Oak at Burford
529 reviews
.18 km away
Spice Lounge Burford
547 reviews
.10 km away
The Highway Hotel Restaurant
296 reviews
.21 km away
The Carpenters Arms
325 reviews
.61 km away
Nearby Attractions
Burford
187 reviews
.03 km away
St John the Baptist
85 reviews
.17 km away
Burford Garden Center
55 reviews
1.23 km away
The Burford Tour
29 reviews
.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Priory restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$13
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Monday
9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Tuesday
9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Wednesday
9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Thursday
9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Friday
9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Saturday
9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 35 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Burford
  • Phone Number: +44 1993 823249
  • E-mail
Description
It is also a Bed and Breakfast which has rooms behind the cafe/restaurant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing