We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cape of Good Hope

$$ - $$$, British,
1 Iffley Road | OX4 1EA, Oxford OX4 1EA, England
+44 1865 262291
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good39%
  • Average19%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (15 reviews)
“scotch egg” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Iffley Road | OX4 1EA, Oxford OX4 1EA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Visited last Saturday with my family . Large pub although not too busy . Very helpful staff with good product knowledge

Thank coughandcath
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with a friend, on a work trip to Oxford. Lovely staff, really helpful and friendly. Ordered chicken katsu burger, it was amazing. The best burger ever! Massive piece of chicken in crumbs with really tasty curry sauce, just like a katsu curry from...More

Thank Andrea M
General Manager A, Manager at The Cape of Good Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Andrea M, thank you for the high star rating! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have a great day!

Reviewed 7 August 2017

After trying to find somewhere to eat in the town center it was good to get across Magdalen bridge and find some where with seats available. Menu is ordinary but when it eventually turned up the food was fine.More

Thank Arthur D
General Manager A, Manager at The Cape of Good Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hi Arthur D, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Cape Of Good Hope. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We're currently in the process of making a few changes to our menu. Let us know what...More

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

A wonderful spot for some drinks and proper grub, especially for us tired tourists trecking through. The staff were friendly and on the ball, and the atmosphere was chilled with a good buzz. We ate in one of the little booths out the back in...More

Thank Shannon D
General Manager A, Manager at The Cape of Good Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi Shannon, thanks for taking the time to leave us such an awesome review! We're chuffed that you and your family had such a lovely time with us and hope that you come back again!

Reviewed 25 July 2017

Good selection of beers and food, pity about the smelly atmosphere. Large pub at the roundabout on the junction of Cowley Road and St Clements. Not sure why the place smelled, but it wasn't pleasant.More

Thank jikoku
General Manager A, Manager at The Cape of Good Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hi Jikoku, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly...More

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Good choice of real ales represented by Thornbridge, Salopian and Rudgate (among others) on my recent visit. Plenty of tables inside and out but also some funky wooden booths out in the pleasant back yard. Food was very good - tried the fish and chips...More

Thank Mikey1664
General Manager A, Manager at The Cape of Good Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Mikey1664, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Cape Of Good Hope! Thank you so much for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 20 May 2017

Stumbled across this Pub wandering around Oxford looking for somewhere to eat. Ended up spending a great afternoon in the garden with super attentive staff and manager. Had supper there and thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful. Great garden with booths and heaters, a secret escape in...More

Thank Louise B
General Manager A, Manager at The Cape of Good Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Hi Louise B, thanks for the awesome review, anytime you want to stumble back down we'd love to have you again!

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Not great food. Really fatty sirloin roast. Very dry. Carrots are genetically modified in appearance. Roast potatoes are really soggy and not slightly crispy at all. My friend's steak was really tough and chewy. Enough to give a jaw pain! Seriously poor quality. Would not...More

Thank Desiree R
General Manager A, Manager at The Cape of Good Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hi Desiree, Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We're super sorry to here that our food was not up to scratch when you visited us. We take pride in our food and have just launched a new menu, with considerable...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Visited this evening with friends . Although friendly staff the place was really quiet and given its quite large meant a poor atmosphere . Shame as previously had some good nights hereMore

Thank coughandcath
General Manager A, Manager at The Cape of Good Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hi Coughandcath, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're disappointed that you felt like the atmosphere wasn't up to scratch during your visit, Sunday evenings are traditionally an extremely quiet time of the week particularly around the Cowley area of...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Our Sunday roast left us disappointed today, the plates were cold, food temperature tepid, Yorkshire pudding cold, really not very goodMore

Thank AnnetteC58
General Manager A, Manager at The Cape of Good Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hi Annettec58, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. If you could get in touch with us via email on enquiry@thecapeofgoodhopeoxford.co.uk we would love...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Kazbar
508 reviews
.08 km away
Cuttlefish
157 reviews
.12 km away
Moya
270 reviews
.11 km away
Oxford's Grill
278 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Magdalen College
555 reviews
.35 km away
University of Oxford Botanic Garden
754 reviews
.28 km away
Merton College
126 reviews
.63 km away
All Souls College
43 reviews
.65 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Cherie M
30 April 2017|
Answer
Response from RobynBruce | Reviewed this property |
There's no car park and it's difficult to find parking in the city centre. The park and ride number 400 is your best bet or you could try to find a parking space in the streets surrounding the pub after 6.30pm and walk in.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Iffley Road | OX4 1EA, Oxford OX4 1EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 262291
  • E-mail
Description
Conveniently situated in the Plain area, just outside the city centre and within easy reach of Cowley, The Cape of Good Hope is a big pub with a larger than life personality. Sample our impeccable range of wines and speciality beers, and our equally exquisite taste in music, and join the locals and students who flock here to relax over a pint and some freshly cooked pub food. It's the ultimate antidote to a stressful day.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing