We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
C$5 - C$26
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
455
139
48
16
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
455
139
48
16
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch pancakes potatoes fries lovely cafe worth the wait long wait smoothies latte egg avocado
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed April 15, 2024

Completely unfriendly ‘welcome’ and no baby changing. Left without spending a penny because why would I when both you and your child are made to feel like an inconvenience

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 18, 2024

Great food and good service. Parking was difficult on the Main Street and we had to drive around the block twice to find somewhere. Breakfast was worth it though. The mushrooms and fried potatoes were really tasty and the eggs were perfect. I’d highly recommend...the food here. I noticed it was popular with the local students too and not overpriced.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 6, 2024 via mobile

This is our go to now if we treat ourselves to breakfast/brunch. We’ve tried other places but nothing compares. The food is just so SO good every time. The coffee is outstanding. Milkshakes are insane if you’re really indulging. Huge thank you to the staff...as well as they are always attentive.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 18, 2023 via mobile

Used to be excellent now it’s average. I had eggs royale. Muffin wasn’t toasted. Small portion of salmon and swimming in cold hollandaise. I ordered pancakes for my two children. They put 1 pancake on a saucer each with a tiny cup of syrup and...charged me £6 a portion. After seeing that they did gift vouchers and could post them out I phoned for days until eventually someone answered and said no they don’t post them out and to go in. This is how I ended up having breakfast there. I’m over this place, the food has gone downhill I’m sick of standing in the cold waiting for a table as they don’t have a booking system, the parking is awful and the list goes on.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 4, 2023 via mobile

The menu is substantial and diverse with veggie and vegan tastes catered for. I had the Turkish style eggs with chorizo and my pattern had eggs Benedict royal. Absolutely incredible. You won’t leave here hungry for sure. Excellent size portions and beautifully prepared and presented...food. If you’ve not been, just go !!! I’m coming back as I want to get through the rest of the menu!!!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 24, 2023

Terrible customer service. Rude, aggressive and abrupt staff. Food is average. I used to enjoy going to Cafe Yolk but they have lost focus on how to deliver a good customer experience. Would not recommend.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 24, 2023

Incredibly rude. We have been here several times but this is the last time. The staff we incredibly rude. An unnecessarily aggressive tone and unhelpful attitude. When arriving with young children this is not expected or appreciated.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 28, 2023 via mobile

Visited while in the area for Reading fest. Was excited as the reviews were so good, but for a place called Cafe Yolk, my eggs were average. I decided to have poached eggs and they were essentially hard, which was a shame and made for...quite a dry breakfast. Herby potatoes were decent but not outstanding, hence the three stars. Staff were lovely enough but it is all order at the till. It's also a shame they do Alpro Oat instead of a creamier/more popular oat alt milk.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 13, 2023

I went for the first time with family, I ordered 2 vegetarian breakfast. Had to wait 15/20 minutes to be seated outside in the rain. People just sit there once finished and are not asked to leave. Once seated had to get back up to...go and give my order. It took a while for the orders to come, as I started eating I noticed a hair in my plate. I expected a full refund with another serving however was told I could have one or the another. It was really disappointing and I will not be going back there.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gurmit Singh, General Manager at Cafe YOLK, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2023

Dear Naz We are disappointed to see your review today. We have in fact refunded your breakfast and offered you a replacement meal. Which you accepted. You seem very satisfied with how we dealt with the situation on that day. This review seem very unnecessary....More

Reviewed August 12, 2023 via mobile

Had an amazing breakfast! Didn’t have to wait for a seat. Staff were friendly, didn’t have to wait long for our food. Ordered two Canadian breakfasts. Giant portions, not greasy, amazing pancakes. Already planning on coming back!

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 21, 2023

First visit and I can see why it’s so popular. Really good fried (non greasy) breakfast. It’s made very clear that you can’t book and therefore might have to queue but they turn the tables around quickly. But in my opinion it’s worth a brief...wait; the food was top notch. Digging deep for a criticism; no black pudding on offer. Pricing was sensible and service was friendly.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 30, 2023 via mobile

Wanted to go here for ages but its a very popular busy venue. It's walk in only no booking, so you have to pick what you think is a good time and be prepared to wait. Ordered the Canadian and it was epic! Delicious. I...was stuffed. Really good food. Very tasty. Hubby had the pancakes which were fluffy and satisfying.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 29, 2023 via mobile

Our son who is a student at Uni recommended we try here when visiting and it was a great choice. We all loved our choice of breakfasts (full English and the Canadian). Coffees and Juices too. We visited on a Sunday morning at around 9am...and experienced no long queues. Nice atmosphere and clean. We will be back!More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 15, 2023 via mobile

After a relatively short wait in the outside only queue, bring a coat and an umbrella, we were seated in a lovely enclosed sun room. Once seated you need to pick your meal and then stand in another queue at the register to order so...don’t dally! We both had the eggs Benedict and some coffees. Coffee was good. Worst Benedict we’ve ever had. Room temp in toasted/grilled muffin, cold avocado, and the sauce was mostly mayonnaise without any mustard, butter, salt or many other ingredients you would expect to be included. Very poor and cold breakfast and what appeared to be a very long wait for those after us.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 9, 2023 via mobile

Never been able to get here because it’s always so busy so was looking forward to coming. Found a quiet time but as soon as I got in the door the staff were super passive aggressive not being pleased they were quieter than normal and...left us sitting for 10 minutes without telling us to order at the counter. The toilet was broken with workmen working very loudly on it in the background. We had a traditional breakfast and eggs Benedict with a lemon iced bun. Both arrived quickly and looked good, the breakfast tasted good; however, the sauce on the eggs benedict was really bland and the Easter lemon flavoured pastry I had tasted of icing sugar with no discernible lemon flavour in the icing or lemon curd within. It’s pricey here so I expected better.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Donnington House Hotel
12 reviews
.36 km away
Tower House Hotel
25 reviews
.63 km away
The Narrowboat, Reading
35 reviews
.90 km away
Sure Hotel by Best Western Reading
1,272 reviews
1.00 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Monty's Cafe
165 reviews
.13 km away
Gulab Indian Kitchen
635 reviews
.83 km away
"Piwnica" Restaurant
190 reviews
.50 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Museum of English Rural Life
197 reviews
.72 km away
Reading Abbey Ruins
146 reviews
.85 km away
The Cole Museum of Zoology
30 reviews
.91 km away
South Street Arts Centre
25 reviews
1.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Eric N
September 26, 2023|
Answer
Response from Clare B | Reviewed this property |
Walk in only.
1
Vote
Heather N
April 3, 2023|
Answer
Response from natalieclaira | Reviewed this property |
I’ve never seen dogs in there, but I think they’re allowed in the patio.
0
Votes
Ambassador58497
June 26, 2021|
Answer
Response from davrob04 | Reviewed this property |
I think so but not 100% sure, give them a ring they are really lovely there
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CAFE YOLK, Reading - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cafe YOLK

Yes, Cafe YOLK offers takeaway services.

Cafe YOLK is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5