We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Unit 1 Sheffield Centre | St Paul's Place, Sheffield S1 2JL, England
+44 114 275 3815
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 302: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

There's nothing like good food and great company to turn your mood around. After black horrible day at work I thought I'd treat myself and went to cafe rouge had a lively meal and laughed until I cried Amanda you're a diamond and I can't wait to come in again the next time a need a cheer up. Without a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elle K
Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decided to take my Gran for lunch today and was told immediately as we walked through the door "we aren't accepting walk in's" which was all well because I booked a table after I stated this her flustered face said it all with a quick "oh sorry about that, Davis is it?" Indeed. There were onions all below on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank KDavis95
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience with us - we take pride in everything we do including the service we offer. So whilst you absolutely enjoyed your meal with us, we are sorry to hear the service was not to our usual high standards. So we may look into this further and provide a more personal response, we would... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After our visit to cafe rouge in Sheffield today, we left fairly displeased. First of all the hot drinks tasted rather strange and we were initially given the wrong drinks. However this was easily sorted. When the food arrived it was only luke warm and it seemed to be an inconvenience when we asked kindly for it to be warmed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan M
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls, responded to this review

Thank you Ryan for taking the time to review your recent visit - we are sorry to hear of your experience. we take pride in everything we do including the service we offer. We are pleased to hear that Cheryl was attentive and did all she could to ensure you were looked after. We would however like to look into... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely chain restaurant with good atmosphere and very helpful waitress but the worst moules I have ever had. Must have been cooked in seawater with a cupful of cream added - completely inedible. I challenged the chef to eat it himself. Real shame because it was a memorable day attending my daughters graduation.

Helpful?
Thank David D
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls, responded to this review

Firstly thank you David for taking the time and care to let us know of your recent visit. We take pride in everything we do, so are disappointed to learn your meal was not to the usual high standards at this restaurant. So we may look into this further we would welcome some additional details at our contact page -... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Disappointing food and atmosphere. I visited with friends and we all agreed it was such a shame because it's in a great location right next to Peace Gardens. Unfortunately unlikely to return, but credit to the waitress who dealt with issues around food in a professional manner.

Helpful?
Thank Jen T
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls, responded to this review

Thank you Jen for taking the time and care to let us know of your recent visit - we are sorry to hear your meal was not to the usual high standards of this restaurant. we would welcome the opportunity to look into this matter further so would request some additional details at our contact page - caferouge.com/howwasyourvisit. Thank you... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been here a few times and always been happy. But on 12th I wasn't. Visited with husband and daughter, my husband fancied a steak. We ordered his was a rib eye mine was sirloin both requested medium. Peter's was well done mine was rare and cold. The lovely waitress saved the day to be honest. Knocked 17.50 off... More 

Helpful?
Thank pitnjules
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and care to let us know of your experience. We strive to ensure our dishes are prepared to a very high standard and delivered promptly for our guests to enjoy - we are sorry to hear this was not the case during your visit and you were left feeling disappointed. We would appreciate the... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went with a voucher for steak and frites. We decided to have a starter. My partner had the Egg Meurette which she recommends. We ordered our Steaks well done and they were done perfectly (still juicy, but no red). We had a bottle of house Rose, which is the best we have both ever tasted. I would have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darren R
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls, responded to this review

Thank you Darren for reviewing your recent visit - we are pleased to hear overall this was a good visit and have taken advantage of the voucher deals really getting the best value from your visit with us. Thanks again for letting us know, and we do look forward to welcoming you back again. best wishes More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Poor service had to ask for everything twice. The first lot of food was cold sent it back however next meals were nice. Won't bother going again.

Helpful?
Thank Ldog1
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls, responded to this review

We value all feedback - it is by listening to our guests' comments we can continue to improve our service and your experience with us. So thank you for taking the time and care to let us know of your visit. So we may look into your visit further, we would welcome some additional details at our contact page -... More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Walked out! Place was freezing cold sat 20 mins without any acknowledgement from any of the staff! Will not visit again! Went to strada in Leopold square different story altogether!

Helpful?
Thank michael945
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and care to provide this feedback - we are most disappointed to learn of your experience but grateful you have let us know. We take pride in everything we do including the service we offer, so are sorry to hear on this occasion you left very disappointed with your visit. We would welcome the... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely experience for us. Midmorning on a cold, damp day - instead of just having a quick coffee somewhere on High Street - I decided on brunch at Cafe Rouge. We received warm, friendly welcome, ordered coffee and perused the menu.We had the English breakfast plate and another coffee. The standard of the cooking was top rate, bacon perfectly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beryl W
john_cafe_rouge, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls, responded to this review

We too are happy Beryl to hear the team at Sheffield are serving delicious experiences both for breakfast and dinner visits ! Thank you so much for letting us know, it's always great to hear when we get things right. All the team will be thrilled with your feedback, as we all are of course. Best wishes More 

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$25
Cuisine
French, European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Unit 1 Sheffield Centre | St Paul's Place, Sheffield S1 2JL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Sheffield
  • Phone Number: +44 114 275 3815
Description
Café Rouge Sheffield is set in the heart of the shopping district and is the perfect place to unwind after a busy day shopping, or a break in between! We've taken inspiration from the famous steel and cutlery production since the 19th century. You'll find little touches to delight throughout the restaurant, like antique pendants and romantic black & white photography. Don't forget to visit us when the sun's out as well and enjoy large outdoor seating areas.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Rouge Sheffield St. Pauls staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?