We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Devonshire

113-117 Devonshire Street | Devonshire Quarter, Sheffield S3 7SB, England
+44 114 276 6002
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (32 reviews)
“ham” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
113-117 Devonshire Street | Devonshire Quarter, Sheffield S3 7SB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Had to send funny tasting fish back,batter also under cooked.Replacement chicken pie was tasty. Staff were nice but service slow and repeated requests for condiments frustrating,they finally arrived when meals were half eaten. Will give them another try as hoping this was a blip.

Thank Anne H
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Came here sunday, Party of 20, food was terrible, mash potatoes over cooked, burnt yorkshire puds and the meat was inedible, only a selected few of us managed to empty our plates, service was slow took several different members of staff to come to our...More

Thank jacquel1970
Reviewed 1 week ago

1st visit. Massive gin collection. very relaxed and friendly feel. Barstaff are really friendly. Good prices. Didn't eat but it looked very nice. Will be going back and will probably eat next time too.

Thank PJLOCKW
TNBC T, Public Relations Manager at The Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to review us, look forward to you joining us again

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my partner went to try out The Devonshire's Sunday brunch menu. It was our first visit since the re-brand and first impressions were great. We ordered our food and 30 minutes later realized we hadn't received our food. I think the waitress must...More

Thank Charlotte H
TNBC T, Public Relations Manager at The Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Charlotte, sorry to hear that your visit below standard. Please could drop us an email to info@thedevonshiresheffield.co.uk with more information about your visit including what you had to eat, time and date? Thank you

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have visited for many years on Sunday and always enjoyed the surroundings and ambience and nice staff first visit after refurb to what is now a diner Awful booth seating and plastic tables no scope to have extra guests at your table as before...More

Thank Pammie B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited here in its previous incarnation this was a disappointment. Brunch of sourdough eggs and mushrooms was 2 thinly sliced pieces of bread, stodgy cold eggs and 2 lukewarm mushrooms for £7. We decided to leave without eating and the food wasn’t charged. Over...More

Thank Maryios
TNBC T, Public Relations Manager at The Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Mary, sorry that your visit was not up to standard. Please could email us on info@thedevonshiresheffield.co.uk with more information about your visit so we can look into this including date, time and you entire order. Thanks,

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First visit after the rebrand. Despite numerous staff behind the bar, 5 in fact, and only 3 people waiting to be served it still took a very long time to get drinks even after asking who was serving! Not the “Old House” we know and...More

Thank clumsyfairybex
TNBC T, Public Relations Manager at The Devonshire, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Bex, sorry that your visit was not up to our normal standard. Please could you email us with more information about your visit so we can look into this? Please could you include, date and time of visit. Thanks, info@thedevonshiresheffield.co.uk

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the Devonshire recently after its refurbishment (previously Old House) and we were not disappointed! Great pub serving a huge selection of drinks (the locally made Sheffield Gins are not to be missed if you're a gin fan) and it's got a great new look...More

Thank Julie S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in whilst on a night out after a friend had told us about the refurb. The bar looks great! Really clean and bright, feels a lot bigger than it used to and was easier to get served than had previously been the case! The...More

Thank Matt Q
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was recently in Sheffield for a Little Mix show and my friend was adamant that we went out for brunch afterwards and we found ourselves here and it didn’t disappoint. I made my own custom brunch with sourdough toast, sausage and fried eggs for...More

Thank Charlotte J
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Steam Yard
166 reviews
.05 km away
Lucky Fox
239 reviews
.07 km away
The Devonshire Cat
190 reviews
.15 km away
Tamper Coffee - Westfield Terrace
195 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Crack The Code
175 reviews
.22 km away
BrewDog Sheffield
99 reviews
.03 km away
Be At One Sheffield
43 reviews
.17 km away
Bungalows And Bears
90 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Devonshire staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
9:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 1:00 AM
Friday
9:30 AM - 3:00 AM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 3:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 113-117 Devonshire Street | Devonshire Quarter, Sheffield S3 7SB, England (Formerly The Old House)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Sheffield
  • Phone Number: +44 114 276 6002
  • E-mail
Description
A new venture with the design of an eclectic Georgian townhouse. The Devonshire is an all-day bar and eatery in the heart of Sheffield City Centre on Devonshire Street. We are here to be enjoyed throughout the day, be it for your first coffee of the day, brunch with friends or a leisurely dinner. Our modern British menu combines local, fresh and seasonal ingredients and is not to be missed. Our gin & vermouth menu is made up of a selection of what we love and the same goes for our cocktail, beer & wine lists - in a nutshell, we have it all. Treat yourself to a late night tipple throughout the week and on weekends enjoy our resident DJ's on until 3AM, every Friday & Saturday.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing