We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Darwin’s Kitchen

15 St. Marys Street, Shrewsbury SY1 1EQ, England
+44 1743 358870
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good24%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“porterhouse” (144 reviews)
“burger” (118 reviews)
“onion rings” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, International, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
15 St. Marys Street, Shrewsbury SY1 1EQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 940 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Margaret and I called into Darwin’s Kitchen for lunch today Quickly seated we were promptly served with our menus but we seated in deserted dinning room. As we were the only guests seated we requested a seat on main area and were promptly relocated We...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank jeremy_hartigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We attended on a Saturday night as a couple just for cocktails. The staff were really helpful with recommending cocktails, we stayed for quite a while and had a few drinks. We were served quickly each time we ordered a drink and didn’t think anything...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jennymawdsley
KarenL6591, Manager at Darwin’s Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Jennymawdsley Thank you so much for your feedback with regards to you evening. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon to try out some more cocktails and small plates. Kind regards Darwin's

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I strongly suspect this is a case of bad timing having read other reviews. My experience of their service leaves an awful lot to be desired but I see others have had good experiences. We (table of 5) ate early afternoon and there were about...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank slong5082
KarenL6591, Manager at Darwin’s Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon slong We are disappointed to read your review. I can only assure you that there were exceptional circumstances that particular day. We do hope you pop back and give us another try. If you do, please call ahead and ask to speak with...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very very pleased with the decision to eat at Darwin’s Kitchen on a Saturday evening. I cannot find fault with any of the experience. The staff were very welcoming and efficient throughout. There was a nice buzzing atmosphere. However the stand out was the small...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank taa08
KarenL6591, Manager at Darwin’s Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon taa08 Thank you so very much for your feedback. We are thrilled you had such a good evening with us and we look forward to you returning to try some more of our small plates out. Kind regards Darwin's

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for a working lunch. Decided on the fish finger sandwich but this is not your average fish finger sandwich. It was really nicely presented and tasted delicious. Lovely surroundings and decoration.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank l10207
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Slow service, even though the was only four other tables in. Cauliflower puree was cold, lumpy and lacked any form of depth or seasoning.scallops had zero caramilisation and we're cold. Really dissapointed that the food didn't match what was shown online in both presentation, care...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Jet01757842217
Stacey B, Guest Relations Manager at Darwin’s Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Morning We are investigating your comments with regards to food and service. We are still listed in the Michelin Guide, please find a link below to our page: www.viamichelin.co.uk/web/Restaurant/Shrewsbury-SY1_1EQ-Darwin_s_Kitchen-34iorsc If you could contact us so that we can verify your visit that would be...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great food! Small plates are a really inspired idea... everything cooked to perfection with outstanding service....we will be back 👍More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank barlowmarc62
KarenL6591, Manager at Darwin’s Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Morning Barlowmarc Thank you so very much for your review. I can assure you that the team works very hard to produce the food and service here so to receive that standard of review from yourself means the world to us. We very much...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I thought the atmosphere was lovely friendly staff. I had teriyaki beef with honey and ginger I found it a bit greasy and could not taste honey or ginger. My chicken kebab dish was dry. We found that the food all came at different times...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Laura T
KarenL6591, Manager at Darwin’s Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Morning Laura Thank you for your feedback. We are taking your comments on board with regards to the food and how it arrives. As we predominately serve small plates, we do send them gradually which may be what you are referring to. We are...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed a lovely lunch of wine & small plates to share, which were all delicious. Staff were very friendly & the waiting time for food was reasonable considering that it was all freshly cooked. The only downside was that, despite booking a table in...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Amy088
KarenL6591, Manager at Darwin’s Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Amy Thank you very much for your feedback. We are please you enjoyed your time with us. Apologies for being a little tight for space, hopefully we can find you a larger table next time! Kind regards Darwins

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stumbled across this place on the Wyle Cop today. We hadn’t got our two feet through the door without being pounced on, a little too much for us. We only ordered the Full English Breakfast £9 and drinks. The breakfast was tasty but a...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank beckyr365
KarenL6591, Manager at Darwin’s Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Becky Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We have take your comments on board and are looking at our breakfast portions. We very much look forward to welcoming you for dinner, please do let us know when you are thinking of...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Shrewsbury
Prince Rupert Hotel
1,361 reviews
.08 km away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
1,203 reviews
.17 km away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
719 reviews
.27 km away
Abbots Mead Hotel
211 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Angel Inn
5 reviews
.04 km away
La Lanterna
440 reviews
.04 km away
Bear Steps Coffee House
232 reviews
.07 km away
Number Four
936 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Mary's Church
275 reviews
.09 km away
Laura's Tower
105 reviews
.15 km away
St Alkmunds Church
23 reviews
.09 km away
The Parade Shopping Centre
9 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
824DeborahB
October 21, 2017|
Answer
Response from HMH4586 | Reviewed this property |
You’ll need to ask them directly sorry
0
Votes
Steve2605
February 4, 2015|
Answer
Response from robamat |
No but there are car parks near by
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
9:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 St. Marys Street, Shrewsbury SY1 1EQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Shrewsbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1743 358870
  • E-mail
Description
Darwin’s Kitchen enjoys a great location in the heart of Shrewsbury with easy walking access to the railway station, local tourist spots and many great independant shops and boutiques. Four stylishly decorated double rooms are complimented with contemporary en-suite bathrooms, flat screen tv's and free wi-fi access. Darwin's Kitchen is the newest addition to Shrewsbury based company The DiTella Group also comprising of The Loopy Shrew and Darwin's Townhouse. The Chefs have carefully created a menu offering guests a social dining experience. The Kitchen offers a wide range of small and bigger plates some British favourites and some inspired from around the globe. Darwin's Kitchen has created a warm and inviting environment, perfect for any occasion. Cosy up on the sofas with your morning coffee and paper, catch up with friends in their tropical, leafy conservatory, treat your nearest and dearest to dinner in The Dining Room, a firm nod to Charles Darwin’s roots and style
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing