We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marlborough Tavern

$$ - $$$, British,
35 Marlborough Buildings, Bath BA1 2LY, England
+44 1225 423731
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (53 reviews)
“fish and chips” (61 reviews)
“beef” (51 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Diner, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
35 Marlborough Buildings, Bath BA1 2LY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Booked for a dinner. Lovely interior and reached by a nice walk past the Royal Crescent. Food was delicious, generous portions and the mussels were huge!!

Thank NataliaKS14
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had easter lunch here with my husband and the roasts continue to be amazing! You get a yorkshire pud and cauliflower cheese at no extra charge with all of the roasts and my chicken came with the best bread sauce and stuffing. All of the...More

Thank Mrs_Ramjam
Fabia S, General Manager at Marlborough Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Mrs Ramjam, Thank you very much for your kind review and delightful photos, it is appreciated by the whole team! I'm so glad that you enojyed your roast here, and the pub itself. We look forward to your return! Best wishes, Fabia Selwood-Miller

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ate here recently for Sunday roast. Turned up late in the day without booking so some options had sold out. None the less the food was excellent, as was the service. Staff were attentive and patient with our slightly loud rowdy group. Nice garden that...More

Thank plm24
Fabia S, General Manager at Marlborough Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thanks for leaving such a lovely review, i'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us, and it was a pleasure looking after you all. We hope to see you return soon, Kind regards, Fabia Selwood-MIller

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ate here last Sunday with family. We were disappointed as we were expecting better food. The roast was average. My husband's chicken was quite bland and flavourless. The red cabbage had a very strong taste. The gravey ( red wine jus)was also a very overpowering...More

1  Thank woody4london
Fabia S, General Manager at Marlborough Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, I am terribly sorry to hear that our food did not live up to your expectations. I will look into the issues with the food, as that is not the sort of food we aim to serve here at the Marlborough Tavern. I hope...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

To avoid the tourist trap in central Bath, on our last visit I booked the Marlborough Tavern. Good location near Royal Crescent this well presented pub certainly felt welcoming. Having booked a table and turned up 45 minutes to early, I was okay that they...More

1  Thank Julie M
Fabia S, General Manager at Marlborough Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Julie, I am really sorry to hear what happened upon your visit to us. That is not the level of service that we aim for here, and I apologise that you had to wait at the bar. Here is my email, if you'd like...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The pub itself is really lovely and there's a nice atmosphere inside... however, we felt the portions for both main and dessert were very small, and still quite expensive. The creme brulee starter came in an espresso cup, so that gives you an idea of...More

1  Thank sazzle3001
Fabia S, General Manager at Marlborough Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sazzle, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I apologise that you felt the portion sizes were a little to small for the prices. The brulee dessert, is also accompanied by a polenta cake and sorbet, so it is 3...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on the introduction of new lunch menu, we had a voucher for half price lunch. It therefore was very good value but not sure would return sadly, the young lady serving us was very sullen and a bit frosty :( The food was...More

2  Thank lophead
Fabia S, General Manager at Marlborough Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. I am very sorry to hear that the service let it down! I agree, service does go a long way to a successful meal, and I apologise that you felt it...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place was recommended as a really good gastropub and it is . We had Sunday lunch here with some old friends after staying in Bath for the night . Packed with happy punters . Very good food . Good wine list and great service...More

Thank Nicholas M
Fabia S, General Manager at Marlborough Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nicholas, Thank you very much for leaving such a positive review about your sunday lunch, i'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time here! Best wishes, Fabia Selwood-MIller

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were attracted by the new menu and booked, although we did not expect pub to be busy at lunchtime. In fact it was full but, despite being busy, staff provided excellent , friendly and efficient service. We brought our dog and he was welcomed...More

Thank maggies54
Fabia S, General Manager at Marlborough Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Maggie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, I'm glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Marlborough Tavern, and i hope to see you return soon! Kind regards, Fabia Selwood-Miller

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I really like this place, I do, but ilI find the food so hit and miss it becomes a lottery’s Today we went and we both ordered the fish’n’chips. It was awful. My battered fish which lay on my chips and tartare sauce was so...More

1  Thank ElsieLondon
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 34 hotels in Bath
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
965 reviews
.13 km away
Queensberry Hotel
1,466 reviews
.46 km away
Country Living Lansdown Grove Hotel
759 reviews
.48 km away
Travelodge Bath Central
892 reviews
.69 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Circus Restaurant
2,013 reviews
.40 km away
The Green Bird Cafe
249 reviews
.30 km away
Rustico Bistro
711 reviews
.32 km away
Woods Restaurant
389 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
No. 1 Royal Crescent
2,237 reviews
.26 km away
Royal Victoria Park
1,039 reviews
.33 km away
Fashion Museum Bath
1,306 reviews
.52 km away
Botanical Gardens at Victoria Park
229 reviews
.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lamelia1992
12 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from caldavies | Reviewed this property |
Yes!!! That is why we went there!
0
Votes
JewelHB
28 September 2017|
Answer
Response from Darren_Bath | Property representative |
We open at 9am, but just for pastries and toast. Our sister pubs, The Hare & Hounds and The Locksbrook Inn both serve brunch on the weekend.
0
Votes
carx2ie
5 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Marco L | Property representative |
Off course!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$17 - US$34
Cuisine
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
9:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 35 Marlborough Buildings, Bath BA1 2LY, England
  • Public Transportation: Bath Spa rail station is a short taxi drive away (5 mins) or a pleasant 20 min walk. A City Sightseeing bus stop is directly outside the pub.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 423731
  • E-mail
Description
Situated around the corner from The Royal Crescent, The Marlborough Tavern combines the atmosphere of a local pub with the quality of a top restaurant. Two AA rosettes, a horde of local & national awards plus inclusions in The Michelin Guide and Good Food Guide bear testimony to their consistent delivery of high quality cooking. They have a clear approach to food ���find the best and freshest ingredients and to create great tasting, essentially simple dishes where the quality of the produce speaks for itself. Food is essentially ��� though not slavishly ��� English in character and takes advantage of locally sourced produce wherever possible. The lunchtime menu features a range of lighter dishes plus some traditional pub classics - and the Sunday roasts are legendary. They have an extensive wine list and selection of local ales. Outside they boast what is arguably Bath���s finest pub garden; a walled courtyard space, it���s perfect for summertime lunching and drinking.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing