We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rodney Stoke Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Wells Road, Wells, England
+44 1749 870209
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good26%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“apple crumble” (4 reviews)
“steak” (19 reviews)
“mash” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Wells Road, Wells, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

After many years of using The Rodney Stoke as our local, it appears to have gone downhill like a stone down a well after being taken over by Butcombe. What was once a welcoming pub for a midday meal we now find a near-empty car...More

Thank Witzendwizard
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi There, thank you for taking the time to write a review, obviously we are sad to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit. We understand that change can be upsetting for some, however things like the menu changing and not having a hard cover...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Devastated Use to be one of the best Sunday dinners around shocked and stunned car park was empty food came out in all fairness beef was good, roast potatoes anaemic ,carrots and parsnips slushy no flavour,even the tea came out with sour milk and wouldn't...More

Thank Kayleigh S
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, however I need some more information to answer your review satisfactorily, and definitely need to know when you popped in as our Sundays are very busy, but not everyone arrives at 12...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyable meal with fantastic service by a very attentive team of staff Food excellently cooked and clearly made with fresh produce Very highly recommended

Thank Albia-Newton
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi There, Thank you for your lovely review, we aim to please. Your review will be shown to our staff members as it great when they get recognized for the great job they do on a daily basis. Thanks again Kind regards Jacqui General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stumbled on this place today and were very pleased we did. We had a beautifully cooked and presented roast meal in comfortable surroundings.

Thank gr8caravans
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. I have to say our roasts are delicious and I love our big Yorkshire puddings. Hope to see you again soon Kind regards Jacqui General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After reading on the menu that the bread was supplied by local artisan bakers - was very disappointed with the bread and olives starter as the bread looked like yesterday’s left over French stick chucked under the grill to soften it up!! However, our mains...More

Thank JanJohnHywelCristyn
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I'm sorry you were disappointed with the bread we use but the olives do come with toasted bread. I can reassure you that it is not toasted left overs. We do have our new...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

None of that claggy fat sodden batter here people! A good sized piece of fish covered in a tempura light crisp batter, served with perfectly minted crushed peas, a handsome pile of super chunky chips (I couldn’t finish them all!) and a homemade tasty tartare...More

Thank KarinAlder
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, our fish is delivered fresh on a morning straight from Brixham, Devon and I have to admit our fish batter is pretty awesome. We are glad you found us and hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I recently visited this pub to meet a friend for dinner. We have been coming here for many years but this was our first time since it had been taken over, It was nice to see some familiar faces with the waiting staff who were...More

Thank sar3451
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. I have spoken with our head chef and he will be happy to prepare your friend a sausage sandwich at your next visit, so do...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Living in Cheddar we did not want to travel far on this Saturday lunchtime, so decided to try out the Rodney Stoke Inn as it has recently been taken over by Butcombe Brewery. We thought it had been refurbished, but on entering realised it was...More

Thank Trina A
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of your visit with us, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and the food. We are very excited that we will be having a refurb once the summer season has finished, however we don't have a date...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I were passing, and she already knew of the pub and said that as we drove by she would buy me a pint, so in we popped. It is a lovely looking building from the outside, well kempt, and the interior and...More

Thank Strictly-5-Star
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi There Thank you for such a lovely review, I am happy to say that now spring is here (doesn't feel like it some days however) we are open for food all day. So definitely hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for your...More

Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

A large dining area and a bar if you have a dog with you. Good menu for lunch time and the food was freshly cooked to order at a time to suit. Very tasty and great value. Very friendly staff, a nice welcoming place to...More

Thank David R
JACQUELINE R, General Manager at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hi There, Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we pride ourselves on our warm welcome as we don't just have locals we also have a lot of holiday makers. As a managing couple we love our not so little pub and love...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Wells
Wookey Hole Hotel
1,135 reviews
5.33 km away
Reservoir View Motel
56 reviews
6.43 km away
The White Hart Hotel
367 reviews
7.86 km away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
225 reviews
7.86 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Westbury Inn Pub
102 reviews
2.25 km away
Wyevale Garden Centre
48 reviews
2.27 km away
Ice Dreams
242 reviews
4.11 km away
Lion Rock Tea Rooms
727 reviews
4.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wookey Hole Magical Mirror Maze
413 reviews
5.47 km away
Ring o Bells
35 reviews
5.52 km away
Wookey Hole Caves
3,381 reviews
5.31 km away
Cheddar Crazy Golf
168 reviews
4.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Nicholas H
February 18, 2018|
Answer
Response from JACQUELINE R | Property representative |
Hi There, we are taking campsite bookings and our tariffs will soon be uploaded to the Butcombe website. We are still adults only site and dogs are still allowed.
2
Votes
AndyWCP17
February 11, 2018|
Answer
Response from stewart o |
trip advisor check all reviews before they are posted, some reviews don't get posted and its out of the control of the business.
2
Votes
Howard M
August 17, 2016|
Answer
Response from Hazel M | Reviewed this property |
Yes, in the bar area & outside in the garden
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wells Road, Wells, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 870209
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;