We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 St. Thomas Street | Wells,Somerset, Wells BA5 2UU, England
+44 1749 672317
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 456: English reviews
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

I have been once before with my family for a Sunday roast and gave it a 5 out of 5. This time we were surprised with the standard of the food as we had some overcooked food for our Sunday roast. Also our favourite Bakewell tart was not as good as before and had thousands of raisins in this time... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChedRed
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Fine food and service at a fair price. Lovely and cozy. Good selection of draft beers. Having been there on a previous visit, we were happy to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob-in-Wells
devon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Had dinner here with my wife in early December. Very nice and cosy inside on a chilly winters night. Had a table in the window and were made to feel very welcome The food was very good and would highly recommend Will be back

Helpful?
1 Thank DevonVacationer
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our Christmas Day lunch at The Fountain. Good food, reasonably priced wine list, friendly and attentive staff. Unfortunately we were not offered the blinis or prosecco on arrival which prevents me giving 5 stars. Would love to return to Wells and The Fountain again sometime.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mishca999
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2016

We have been going to this place for years but recently it has gone down hill due to new staff and management. On a recent visit the staff were rude, confrontational and treated my party like dirt. This place used to be good but I would strongly recommend that you DO NOT VISIT this establishment.

Helpful?
3 Thank shen2159
Manager M, General Manager at The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub, responded to this review

What a disappointing and vague review. Thankfully we know the visit you are referring to and would like to clarify your comments with the situation from our perspective. You arrived late on Christmas Eve for drinks and even though we had been full for dinner service most of our tables had now gone and as such the duty manager on... More 

Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

A very busy pre-Christmas evening and the food and service were fabulous. The steak was perfectly cooked and the vege burger was very tasty. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank DrandMrs_G
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Out of the blue my brother suggested that we meet one evening. He booked into The Fountain which I have been too many years ago. It has an old-fashioned pub atmosphere but with a very contemporary menu. I started with squid which thank goodness was not overcooked, followed by Moroccan Beef which was really spicy, minty and delicious. The service... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Very disappointing - the veggie lasagne was awful - the fish and chips average - the service not great - this was our second attempt but won't be going back!

Helpful?
2 Thank Supersoozeh
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2016

We went to the Fountain Inn on Saturday for a birthday lunch having been impressed with previous reviews. At first glance the menu is not overly exciting, maybe daily specials might spice things up, but the quality of our meals was extremely good. The filet steak was one of the best I have ever eaten, cooked perfectly; the steak baguette... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clare V
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Called in at six when they opened hoping to have a drink or two and then eat but were told they were booked up later but we could eat straight away if we wanted to. Good decision! The food was superb, beautifully cooked and presented. We understood why they were booked up later on. This is a great place to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian F

Travellers who viewed The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$33
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 St. Thomas Street | Wells,Somerset, Wells BA5 2UU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 672317

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?