We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ruby Cantonese Restaurant

29 St. John Street, Lichfield WS13 6NU, England
+44 1543 251144
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good20%
  • Average12%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“sizzling beef” (3 reviews)
“noodles” (3 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
29 St. John Street, Lichfield WS13 6NU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Evening dinner with friends, this great restaurant, unassumingly placed in Lichfield was a great find. Friendly attentive staff, great food and even things not on the menu for our spice loving friend. Eat enjoy and eat again quality at a very reasonable price.

Thank phillgoldsmith
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review we at the Ruby are so happy you enjoyed your meal & was well looked after by our wonderful staff..We hope to see you at the Ruby again in the near future 😀

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ruby was recommended by colleagues who had visited earlier in the week. Really enjoyed the evening, the food was delicious and arrived quickly. Everything was fresh and well cooked. Will certainly return.

Thank Robert G
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow thank you very much 😀These are the lovely reviews we love to see & so happy you enjoyed your evening with us..hope to see you again in the near future 😊

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have been to China Town in Soho London many times, but this place blows them all away. The Ruby food is always good and I just keep going back.

Thank 184adrian
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow thank you so much for your wonderful review we at the Ruby do really appreciate it..looking forward in seeing you soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited with an adult family group and failed to do our research first - we had not realised it would be all you can eat buffet. When we requested the a la carte menu we were told we would not want it! We insisted but...More

Thank kategrew
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Actually we would not welcome you back because all you did was complain & was very rude at the table in our packed restaurant that our well mannered customers wanted to be seated elsewear..You really do need to learn some table manners

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here on a Wednesday as a group of 18 people with 1 child for a birthday. Food was cooked fresh tasted wonderful and there was plenty of it. Thoroughly enjoyed the all you can eat Chinese and prefer the food being cooked fresh to...More

Thank Mrs Rachel H
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your lovely review 😊We look forward to seeing you back at Our Ruby in the near future

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Visited The Ruby on recommendation and on arrival were surprised on the shortage of customers, however the buffet had lots of choices and was served with politeness and efficiency. The food came with large helpings and was very enjoyable and good value at the price....More

Thank Mary B
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

We came to celebrate my son's birthday. Unfortunately it wasn't what we'd hoped for, despite costing over £100. The restaurant is now an 'all you can eat' type establishment which has adversely affected the quality of food and service. There's efficient service and there's intimidating...More

2  Thank Budomaid
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for your constructive review 😊Seems like to me you was very well looked after by members of my top quality staff..top service you had there then 😊I am wondering though how did my king prawns 🍤 turn into battered balls 🤣

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We went today for lunch to celebrate my daughters birthday . As we arrived I felt immediately rushed by the manager. He asked us for drinks orders, 6 of the 9 had already arrived and ordered drinks (all non alcoholic at this point) I (tried)...More

Thank Emma P
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

We can't appollogize enough for the bad service you was given by our manager & I can assure you this won't happen again..It's is very rare my husband or myself are not there on a Sunday lunch but on this occasion we was at my...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

This is only the second time I've been to Ruby's in Lichfield (my more regular haunt was the one in Leamington Spa which is also brilliant). Went with some old work mates and had a stunningly good meal. Don't be put off by the "All...More

Thank Steve D
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

We love customers like you 😊Thank you so much for your wonderful review we truly do appreciate it..We are so delighted that you all enjoyed your time with us at the Ruby Lichfield & we look forward to seeing you again in the near future...More

Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

In a party of 25 I Found the man who served us more interested in taking our money's and was worried we would all run off rather making sure we were satisfied with our stay. Took 1 hour before we even got to order a...More

1  Thank MATT G
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lal Bagh
773 reviews
.17 km away
The Angel Inn
89 reviews
.15 km away
Lime Pickle
31 reviews
.10 km away
Brewhouse & Kitchen Lichfield
121 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lichfield Cathedral
1,448 reviews
.48 km away
Beacon Park
248 reviews
.26 km away
Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum
251 reviews
.25 km away
Erasmus Darwin House
231 reviews
.49 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
James1539
8 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Norreena H | Property representative |
Hi James Thank you for your question However I consider all my waiters & waitresses to be top quality staff & it would be totally unfair of me as a boss to single any of them out on trip advisor who is better then who, Why... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29 St. John Street, Lichfield WS13 6NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Lichfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1543 251144
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing