We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hope & Union

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Single-use or sanitised menus
  • Contactless payment
Updated 20-08-24 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hope & Union
Updated 20-08-24 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Bar and kitchen in Stockton's cultural quarter. We have a marvellous menu, perfectly kept cask and keg ales, premiums spirits, quality fizz and a brilliant bottled & canned craft beer range. We are Hope & Union! A unique bar & kitchen nestled in Stockton’s vibrant Cultural Quarter. We have a huge range of drinks including perfectly kept cask and craft keg ales, premium spirits, wines and craft bottled & canned beer range. We are proud to be in the CAMRA 2020 Good Beer Guide. Our Crowler machine means you can take home any of of our cask or keg in a 1.8 pint sealed can. Our food is fabulous; a small but perfectly formed menu alongside daily specials showcases our H&U Kitchen Crews talents. H&U
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Delivery, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
246
23
5
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
246
23
5
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scotch egg burger loaded fries halloumi onion rings chicken parmo pulled pork potatoes salad restaurant week amazing food vegan options great beer fantastic atmosphere sunday lunch love this place great little place
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came for drinks. Felt so welcomed. Went to the toilet and the ladies toilets had pads tampons and deodorant ready. So pleased.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Hope and Union, Owner at Hope & Union, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much, we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit, we'll see you again :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi, Me and my mum visited your bar yesterday about half 3. We sat where the window seat was were the sun was blaring. We got served by a nice lad called Stevie he was very nice and polite. We only had drinks while the...weather was so nice! I also got talking to the chef Stewart he was very chatty and polite. Stevie and Stewart were so lovely I also had photos with them. Me and my mum will be deffo coming back here again soon.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Hope and Union, Owner at Hope & Union, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for this lovely review, I know Stevie & Stewart will be really happy to read this :) Thank you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I dined here this evening. We were sat near a bunch of lads who couldn’t string a sentence together without swearing or talking about taking drugs…. If I hadn’t paid a deposit I would have walked straight out. My wife and son...had burgers and the buns were burnt. I had a chicken pasta with pepper sauce, which was OK but the pasta was homemade but far too thick. A bottle of white wine was nearly £23. Quite a disappointing experience, obviously the staff can’t control the language of the clientele but if you have younger children I would avoid this place.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Hope and Union, Owner at Hope & Union, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am really sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to Hope & Union, you say we can't control the language of our clientele however, if you had made us aware, I would have controlled it and this would have been dealt with. The team are...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for lunch today. I had Parmo and my daughter had chicken and mushroom pasta. Both were yummy. Service was excellent. Looking forward to going back.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Hope and Union, Owner at Hope & Union, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we massively appreciate it :) See you soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited hope and union on Thursday night with my friend. We ordered two starters and we were really disappointed to see the size of them considering the price. Two small prawns for me and three small halloumi fries for him. I politely mentioned this to...the lady serving us and she said the portions are small because of the high quality. However, this is a bar just off Stockton high street not exactly fine dining. We decided not to stay for the main meal and went to pay. My friend was then shouted at by the chef for not wearing a mask. The chef shouted it twice and when my friend explained he was sorry the chef replied ‘thought so!’ In a very rude manner. Portion sizes should match that of other restaurants that was only a bit of friendly advice which was responded to with rudeness.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Hope and Union, Owner at Hope & Union, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey Kelly, thanks for the review, I was expecting this as the team on Thursday had made me aware of your visit. Firstly, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. I find your comments about fine dining/Stockton High Street etc...odd - we didn't say...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely venue. Staff and the chefs are great- super friendly, accommodating and attentive - who go above and beyond what you’d normally expect for a Thursday evening! They’re a real credit to the place. We 4 had some lovely food and drinks- will...definitely be back!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Hope and Union, Owner at Hope & Union, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much! Absolutely thrilled to read this, I will make sure the whole team see. Thanks again and we'll see you soon :)

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for tea with my partner and the food was delicious with great portion sizes. The atmosphere in the beer garden was great and staff were really friendly and attentive. Will definitely be returning and would recommend!

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Hope and Union, Owner at Hope & Union, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you, thank you! The whole team is so grateful for such a lovely review - thank you!

Reviewed May 4, 2021 via mobile

We had booked the table almost 3 weeks in advanced. When we arrived we were sat on one of the lower tables where half of our table wasn’t under the canopy - it had been raining most of the day so we asked if we...could move to the free table under the raised part of the beer garden under the heaters which was declined. We were advised another table had booked this, yet there isn’t any option to book specific tables on booking. It seemed the table had been reserved for a regular, in my view. We had to ask 2 members of staff about a table move and it took around 10 minutes before our drinks order or menus were given. We ordered drinks and food (including paid side sauces) and no sauces were given when food arrived. I had to wait around 10 minutes and ask 3 different members of staff for the sauces we had ordered. Equally when our food was given our drinks were just about empty - no offer or order for drinks. We only ended up having 2 drinks in the two hours we were there due to the lack of service - had staff been attentive to our table we would have had opportunity to order a lot more. The food was amazing, I can’t fault that at all. However the very disappointing service is enough to put me off booking again. It may be that the table is out of staffs eyeline hence the lack of service - perhaps make sure if you book you’re on the raised platform rather than on the sides!More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
Hope and Union, Owner at Hope & Union, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am so sorry about the issues you encountered during your visit, I do apologise and can assure you that isnt most peoples experiences. We have done our best with getting as many safe tables in that we can but the time of year and...More

Reviewed April 30, 2021

Just had a meal at hope and union, food was gorgeous and the staff were friendly with good customer service. Thankyou we will visit again soon. 😊

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Hope and Union, Owner at Hope & Union, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2021

Thank you for leaving a review, the whole team are really grateful! Thanks again and we'll see you soon :)

Reviewed April 26, 2021

I’m a long time frequenter of H&U. It’s my favourite spot for great booze and amazing food. I’ve yet to see any other eatery that has matched H&U for keeping standards up through COVID. The food and service has stayed at a ridiculously high bar...throughout what I can only imagine has been a horrendous time for the full staff. You have our gratitude and loyalty guys, good to have you back 🥰 P.S BEST. ONION. RINGS. EVER! 🤘More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Hope and Union, Owner at Hope & Union, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2021

BEST. REVIEW. EVER! ;) Thank you so, so much!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hampton by Hilton Stockton on Tees
189 reviews
.34 km away
Premier Inn Stockton-on-Tees (Teesside) hotel
716 reviews
1.74 km away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees (Preston Farm) hotel
551 reviews
2.50 km away
Metro Inns Teesside
117 reviews
2.68 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Remember
119 reviews
.09 km away
Wags & Whiskers Pet Boutique & Canine Cafe
48 reviews
.09 km away
Shakes Ice Cream Cafe
23 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
ARC Stockton Arts Centre
60 reviews
.26 km away
The Georgian Theatre
18 reviews
.03 km away
The Stockton Flyer
16 reviews
.11 km away
Splash
75 reviews
.31 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
NorthStar30175911078
February 20, 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ryandL1466WU | Property representative |
click the menu link Alan we are now delivering
0
Votes
Terry M
October 11, 2019|
Answer
Response from Terry M |
Just spoke to the bar, they do accept pets, so we'll have a hearty breakfast there after walking the dog ;-)
0
Votes
holsagain
April 24, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CrustyRoll | Reviewed this property |
I would book yes
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hope & Union

Yes, Hope & Union is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Hope & Union is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5