We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
A timber framed, 16th century cottage which has been converted by the owner to a traditional tea rooms. Get taken back in time with original family photos on the walls, Glenn Miller being played on the gramophone, bone china cups & saucers and a proper tea pot with tea cosy! Situated on the Market Square overlooking the magnificent Guildhall in the heart of the medieval village of Lavenham a warm welcome and a relaxed ambience is guaranteed. Freshly prepared ploughmans, doorstep sandwiches & light lunches using locally sourced produce, bread supplied by the bakers two doors away! Homemade cakes, scones & cupcakes. Traditional Afternoon Tea is a delight! We also offer a courtyard garden which
PRICE RANGE
C$7 - C$28
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
CUISINES
Cafe, British
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Parking Available, Gift Cards Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (971)
Filter reviews
966 results
Traveller rating
856
59
21
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
856
59
21
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones cake doorstep sandwiches pork pie lemon sorbet victoria sponge bread ham ice cream soup ploughman's lunch market square morning coffee looked amazing home made staff were so friendly lovely atmosphere
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

Just had a delicious traditional afternoon tea (courtesy of my sister.....thankyou) to celebrate our wedding anniversary. On arrival we had a lovely warm and friendly welcome.....wish I had asked the ladies name.....she had an American accent. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was charming....We had a lovely window seat. The food was delicious and so much of it plus as much tea as you could drink. Thankyou for a lovely afternoon 😘 We will definitely return to sample some of your other goodies 😉More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent choice for us today. We wandered in having not booked or planned anything and what a find this place was Perfect for a light lunch of sandwiches and cake - the door step sandwiches are not to be missed! Lovely surroundings and perfect staff...- all genuinely friendly. Best service we’ve had anywhere for ages and will definitely go backMore

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped in Lavenham for lunch on our way to Suffolk. Our lunch was great. Generous quantity and good local produce. The bread was lovely, from a few doors away. Service was friendly. Would recommend.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Mortimer, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your terrific review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your lunch - we are so lucky to have the best bakers as our neighbours! I hope you had a great time in Suffolk. Best wishes Amanda

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a superb tea room in one of the prettiest villages in the world .The food and atmosphere is like spending an hour relaxing in history ...The food was excellent .Its popular so booking can be a wise move

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Mortimer, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your five star review. I am delighted you enjoyed visiting my tea room and hope you had a wonderful time exploring Lavenham. Best wishes Amanda

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The weather was awful so we popped into Lavenham blue tea rooms and although it was busy we were given a table. The waitress to very welcoming and the food was absolutely delicious. The sandwiches were made to order and the scones were to die...for. Loved the egg timer used to brew the tea to your specification. If you are ever in Lavenham visit this lovely place.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Mortimer, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your review, I am really pleased that we were able to find you a table on a grotty day! I am delighted you enjoyed your lunch - and the tea timers which are always much admired and talked about! Thank you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is no wonder that this restaurant has a 5 star rating. The food is excellent, service is exceptional and the atmosphere is second to none. My family and I went to this tea room for lunch which was delicious (the locally sourced bread was...a lovely touch). After seeing everyone else's scones I also couldn't resist one - and I'm glad I didn't! It was huge and fresh and really tasty. Staff were so friendly and very welcoming. This restaurant really is a little gem and I highly recommend a visit if holidaying in lovely Lavenham. My waist line won't thank me because I will most definitely be returning!!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Mortimer, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your terrific, five star review of my tea room - you have made my day! I am so pleased you enjoyed your lunch and scones! We are very lucky to have the best bakers as our neighbours! I am delighted to read...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Another great visit to the Blue VintageTea Rooms. Amazing service and wonderful food as always. Amanda and the team were friendly, helpful and the cakes were delicious! Would thoroughly recommend_

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Mortimer, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your super review of my much loved tea room. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit, I am extremely fortunate to have such a friendly, supportive, hard working team. I do hope we will welcome you again. Best wishes, Amanda

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hi Amanda and team. Thank you so much for a lovely afternoon tea today, an early celebration for my up and coming 60th birthday. The freshly made sandwiches and cakes were delicious, every attention to detail was perfect. Super varied choice of savouries and sweet....Lots of cups of tea too. We were not rushed, all staff were very helpful, polite and made us feel very welcome and relaxed. We were able to spend all afternoon taking our time eating all the wonderful goodies. Thanks again. Will be recommending you to friends. Carrie and SueMore

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Mortimer, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Carrie and Sue Thank you so much for your kind and supportive review. I am delighted you enjoyed your afternoon tea, your compliments really have lifted all of our spirits. We do our very best to ensure each and everyone of our customers are...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Keen to try whilst on holiday. Felt cramped and lacking good ventilation (there was no space for us outside). We like to try simple cake + tea on an initial visit but unfortunately the tea arrived about 10 minutes before the cakes. Small point perhaps...but never had that at any other cafe and seems a no-brainer that one should enjoy the two together with tea at its hottest. A few days later as we travelled home feeling poorly we found we tested positive for Covid. No proof obviously but the whole week was a countryside walking holiday and this was the only single occasion we sat in conditions conducive to transmission. Would have used Tatum's instead at the time probably but they were closed for redecorating.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been visiting the Lavenham Tea Rooms for some time now. We often have guests staying and we often include a trip to the tea rooms during their visit. But unfortunately we have had the most awful experience there today. On arrival we decided,...as it was my friend’s birthday, we would have the Traditional tea. This we were told, by the waitress, after checking with the kitchen, would be a15min wait. That was fine, although we had already waited almost half an hour to get to this point. On ordering we waited just over an hour for it to arrive. The people on the table opposite us ,who came in after us,had pre ordered their afternoon tea and had been waiting for over an hour also. We felt we had no alternative but to voice our disappointment in the service…and unusually we asked for a reduction on the bill,to reflect such a long wait. This did not materialise, as it met with a rather abrupt response and I was told I had booked lunch and not the traditional tea. May I add they were taking in ‘walk ins’ when they were clearly struggling with serving the pre booked tables. Unfortunately we will not be visiting this place ever again. I am sad as the food has always been of excellent standard but the service and reaction from the staff was just too awful to want to walk through the door ever again!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Mortimer, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I apologise you felt I was abrupt when you informed me you did not wish to pay for your Traditional Afternoon Tea. I was doing my best to explain to you that when you had initially reserved a table for...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came here for a morning cuppa and cake and couldn't resist coming back later for tea - and more cake...! Such a friendly welcome, a lovely atmosphere and so nice to have nostalgic music rather than the usual stuff blaring out. The food was...absolutely delicious and I have no doubt that breakfast and lunch would be too. Good luck to the owners, they worked really hard and deserve every success. Hopefully we will be able to re-visit sometime!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Mortimer, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your super review - and for visiting us twice in one day! I am really pleased you enjoyed your time in my tea room. We do all work hard and try our very best so your compliments really are appreciated, thank...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked ahead - just as well as the tea rooms were very busy on a sunny Saturday! We had the 'full works' ploughman's lunch and a cheese scone with cream cheese and chutney - everything was delicious, and the portions generous. I couldn't resist...having Horlicks to drink! We're so glad we managed to visit during our stay in beautiful Lavenham and will definitely go back when we return to this beautiful county.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Mortimer, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for visiting my tearoom and for your five star review. I am delighted you enjoyed your lunch - thanks for booking on a busy Saturday. It was a pleasure to welcome you both. I hope you had a great time in Lavenham....More

Reviewed April 28, 2024

Really impressed by the warmth of welcome, service and food - which was absolutely delicious and ample. We had afternoon tea, couldn't fault it, every element perfect including piping hot tea. The chairs were very comfortable too and it was warm and cosy on a...very blustery cool April day. The team should be very proud of themselves. Have recently visited a very famous purveyor of afternoon teas in York which was twice the price, stingy and awful. This little gem knocks the socks off it. You will need to book unless you are very lucky.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Mortimer, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2024

Thank you so much for sharing your super review of your recent visit to my tea room. Your compliments really have made my day and make me so proud of Team Lavenham Blue and all of their hard work and efforts. I am delighted you...More

Reviewed April 27, 2024 via mobile

We have been here about five or six times for afternoon tea. The service was as usual excellent as was the afternoon tea. No downside. Recommended.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Mortimer, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2024

Thanks so much for your super review of my tea rooms. I am so pleased you enjoying visiting us and really appreciate your support of my small business. I look forward to welcoming you again for more afternoon tea! Best wishes, Amanda

Reviewed April 12, 2024

Really friendly helpful staff, delicious food and a relaxed setting. They even have a fantastic bathtub in the downstairs toilet!

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda Mortimer, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2024

Thank you so much for your five star review. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to my tea room. It was a pleasure to welcome you both, I hope you had a wonderful weekend. Best wishes, Amanda

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Swan Hotel
1,983 reviews
.13 km away
The Black Lion
255 reviews
5.74 km away
Bull Hotel
915 reviews
6.14 km away
The Crown Hotel & Restaurant
216 reviews
6.30 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Cock Inn
50 reviews
.53 km away
The Parlour Lavenham
86 reviews
.06 km away
Lavenham Greyhound
745 reviews
.07 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lavenham Guildhall
702 reviews
.04 km away
The Church of St Peter & St Paul
175 reviews
.39 km away
Little Hall Lavenham
158 reviews
.06 km away
Lavenham Farmers Market
19 reviews
.28 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Anne P
April 29, 2020|
Answer
Response from LavenhamBlue | Property representative |
Hi Anne our afternoon tea in a box includes a selection of finger sandwiches, homemade scone, clotted cream, jam & fresh strawberries, cupcake and a slice of cake. All delicious! We are happy to deliver up to a 15 mile... More
-1
Votes
MrsCDM
October 14, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from LavenhamBlue | Property representative |
Hi, thanks for your message. You are welcome to bring a pram into my tea rooms but as there isn't much space it would be great if you could book first so we know you are coming and can make rooms for you. Hope that helps... More
0
Votes
R0bNunn
August 22, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from LavenhamBlue | Property representative |
Hi Rob really good to hear from you - of course I remember you & Karen! I have reserved you a table for 31st August. Please can you let me know a time. Look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Amanda
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

LAVENHAM BLUE VINTAGE TEA ROOMS - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms

Yes, Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms offers takeaway services.

Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5