We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cock and Bell Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JR, England
+44 1787 379807
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 232: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited this pub to see what the pub was like as we wanted to find a nice pub to have drinks and a meal in after we get married. Rest assure it won't be this pub! I was looking forward to a coffee and cake like advertised on the web site. When we got the we were told there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bonnyhood
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good value - nice hot plates and nice tasty roast beef. Very friendly and efficient service too although the pub was very busy.

Helpful?
Thank marilynsX1528IE
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were visiting Imagine Gallery in Long Melford and arrived in time for a quick lunch. Long Melford has several pubs and coffee shops and we chose the Cock and Bell as it looked as if it offered a quick service; it certainly does. A good, old fashioned and character full public house: oak beams, small windows, wooden floors and... More 

Helpful?
Thank EnglishNige
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Visited here two weeks running and had great meals both times. Brilliant pricing when you have a family of 6 to feed compared to many of the other establishments in Melford. Good service and though we did have a fair wait on a sunny bright Saturday lunchtime the kids enjoyed sitting outside with their drinks watching the world go by.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Had a meal there with family and some friends to celebrate an upcoming event. We all had a variety of mains, no complaints from anyone, can highly recommend the lemon meringue pie for dessert. It was a good atmosphere, staff were very polite attentive but not intrusive. Altogether an enjoyable relaxed evening

Helpful?
Thank missyblue64
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Met with family for a meal on a Saturday evening. Lovely atmosphere. We met quite early so it wasn't busy. Food was lovely and large portions staff were very friendly but not intrusive. Overall great evening out. Will definitely go back again.

Helpful?
Thank grlewry
Suffolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I can't understand all these negative reviews about the Cock and Bell posted on this site. Its always busy; and you are lucky at times to find a seat. Its the busiest pub in Long Melford. My wife and I have eaten here umpteen times over the past three years. The food -it is pub food- is excellent; and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Satisfiuedcustomer
sjfourie, Manager at Cock and Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind honest words. We are so grateful to have fantastic customers like yourselves. It is fantatsic when we can really show our team that their hard work doesnt go un noticed. Thank you again for your custom and we will hopefully see you again soon Kindest Regards JP, Sam and the team. More 

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We are often popping in evenings and weekends. The staff are always polite and friendly. Service is always with a smile. Food is great and cooked we've no complaints. we have had dinners for two up to parties of 55 in the restaurant. Would we go back of course. Why wouldn't we! Can be slow when its relly packed out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samwebb70
sjfourie, Manager at Cock and Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We always pass on such compliments to our team. Thank you again for coming to visit us so often we are so lucky to have such wonderful customers like yourselves. We shall see you again soon. Many thanks again Sam, Jp and the team More 

1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Food clearly microwaved. Steaks were all cooked wrong. How hard is it to cook rare steak? Food was bland and dry. We definitely won't be returning

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne J
sjfourie, Manager at Cock and Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Suzanne thank you for your comments. We take everything on board. We did in fact replace your steaks and you actually had no bill to pay as we do always take complaints seriously. However as i recall you swore and used foul language to management and staff. Making one team member cry. This type of behaviour is not tolerated.... More 

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Service is crap food sent out wrong won't ever visit again management are terrible complained and they told us never to visit again!

Helpful?
Thank TjR0cks
sjfourie, Manager at Cock and Bell Inn, responded to this review

Hello thank you for your review. As per your partners review before this one we take all complaints seriously. You were infact given a brand new steak which was finished completely. You then did not pay the bill of £55 and swore at staff. Became aggressive and made one team member cry. Our team are amazing and we will always... More 

Travellers who viewed Cock and Bell Inn also viewed

Long Melford, Babergh District
 
Long Melford, Babergh District
Long Melford, Babergh District
 

Been to Cock and Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Babergh District  >  Long Melford
  • Phone Number: +44 1787 379807

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cock and Bell Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Sudbury, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cock and Bell Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?