We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Welcome to our 15th Century inn where our modern twist on the traditional creates a wonderful setting to enjoy our food, sample our local ales, explore our wine list and rest a weary head. Set in the picturesque village of Long Melford in the heart of Suffolk, we celebrate all that is great about our fantastic region – its people, provenance and personality. ​
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours
CUISINES
British, Bar
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Private Dining, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Wine and Beer
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
211
84
33
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
211
84
33
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef sunday roast melford hall lovely lunch room chestnut presentation village pubs
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovey warm welcome on a rainy Friday lunch time from the fabulous staff at this hidden gem. Delicious food, fabulous menu, stunning dining room with lots of light and huge tables allowing you to relax. Can’t wait to return.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good morning, Thank you for leaving us a review, nothing like a spot of lunch to cheer you up on a gloomy day! We hope to see you soon, Chloe

Reviewed April 22, 2024

My second visit to The Black Lion, a very nice lunch in a great location. Good choice, menu information and service from Joe O, thanks very much, we'll be back.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2024

Good morning Steve, thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We are so pleased to hear you had a positive experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Many thanks, Chloe

Reviewed April 19, 2024 via mobile

From the moment we walked in, we felt so welcome. Shown to our room & explained everything well. We had rooms 9 & 4 and they were beautiful & well kept. Nice big rooms with a lovely bath. Dinner was superb, we was very well...looked after by Maddie & Joe O. Amazing food & service. We had the picpoul (white wine) & Appasimento (red) with dinner, great prices for great wine. We got a lovely night sleep & went down for breakfast where Joe L couldn’t have done more for us. Again, amazing food with even better service. We’ve stayed at a-lot of Chestnut group hotels, but this one is by far the best & we come back every year and will continue to do so. Highly recommend.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2024

Good morning Faye, thank you for taking your time to leave us this delightful review. We are so pleased to hear you had a positive experience with us and were well looked after by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!...More

Reviewed April 17, 2024

Absolute amazing place. We stayed here with our dog for our wedding anniversary. Its a little gem in a beautiful village taking you back in time. The food was amazing as were the staff. We will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2024

Good morning, thank you for this lovely review. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself. We love it too! Many thanks, Chloe

Reviewed April 7, 2024

This restaurant is beautiful. The food was exceptional. I had the arancini and my husband had the veggie roast. It is very dog friendly even in the restaurant. Joe O was very attentive and fun. Thank you. We will be back!More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2024

Good morning, thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear you had a lovely experience with us, we love welcoming dogs as much as humans! We do hope to see you soon, and will be sure to...More

Reviewed March 31, 2024

We had a lovely Easter Sunday roast at The Black Lion. Everything was delicious and the service from Joe O was excellent! Joe was so attentive and helpful. They have good vegetarian options too - the butternut squash and spinach wellington was very good.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2024

Good afternoon, thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We are so pleased to hear you had a positive experience, made even more special by our lovely Joe! We do hope to see you again soon! Many thanks, Chloe

Reviewed March 29, 2024

The Black Lion was recommended to us and I can see why. Service was amazing with Joe O looking after us, food was fabulous and the atmosphere was so relaxing. I would highly recommend. Excellent experience.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2024

Good afternoon Elaine, thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience, especially being served by our lovely Joe too! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks, Chloe

Reviewed March 28, 2024 via mobile

We had a Sunday Roast on Palm Sunday which was very tasty and well presented. We were late in the day (17:15), but the food was very food and NOT dried out, showing the quality of the catering. We ate in the bar area. It...was airy and bright. We walked up to the Black Lion from where we were staying with a view to attend the service at Holy Trinity. It was quick which allowed us to make the 18:30 evensong service at Holy Trinity. Would we eat there again? Yes.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2024

Good afternoon, thank you for leaving us a this wonderful review. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your visit to The Black Lion, we like the roast dinner too! Many thanks, Chloe

Reviewed March 25, 2024

When you arrive in Long Melford this hotel looks gorgeous as you pull up to it and inside it has some beautiful charm to it. We stayed for one night and booked dinner at the hotel too as we just wanted to relax. Booking in...went very smoothly and we were informed where we would be eating dinner and where the other facilities were. We were booked into room 5, in hindsight now we wish we had gone back to reception and asked if there were any other rooms available as the road noise was very loud. The room was right on the busy main road and it was so noisy it was like the window was open and this was due to there being no double glazing which i think may have helped to reduce some of the noise, the cars constantly went by from the time we checked in until gone midnight and then started again just after 6am so not the most restful night's sleep. The room was lovely but definitely needs some sprucing up. It was very chilly even with the radiator on and unfortunately the fan heater provided did not work. The bar area with the open fire was lovely to sit in and chat and our meal in the evening was very tasty and Cyril was a great host in the restaurant. Unfortunately we did have an overly loud group of people sitting next to us who seemed to take over the whole room but obviously that is not the hotel's fault. All of the staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful and a credit to the hotel. We loved the area as it is beautiful and there is so much to like about the Black Lion. Would we return? yes but we would not want to stay in room 5 again and we'd love to see the rooms after a little TLC.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2024

Good morning, thank you for taking your time to leave us a review on your stay. I am sorry to hear you didn't overly enjoy your stay in room 5, we are aware of the problems we are facing with the windows, the building is...More

Reviewed March 22, 2024

We stayed at theblack lion for 2 nights and ate there the 2nd night .we booked a table for 7.30 but went down at 6pm to play a board game before supper . There was no space in the bar area but they let us...go to our table and play the game without any pressure to order food . We finished the game at 7.15 and then enjoyed the most lovely meal . The scotch egg starter and the prawns were top notch . Then the sea bass and haddock and chips also delicious . Throughout the evening we were looked after by Jo who in our opinion is first class and made the evening so relaxed During our stay all the staff have been brilliant . I almost forgot !! The full Suffolk breakfast thus morning was to die for !!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2024

Good morning, thank you for taking your time to leave us a review, and what a lovely one to read too! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and I will be delighted to pass your kind words onto Joe. Many...More

Reviewed March 15, 2024 via mobile

Poor food no taste like warm really disappointing however the staff were friendly and the service was good I will not be going backMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2024

Good afternoon Chris, thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us. I would like to hear about your visit in a little bit more detail, please can you send me...More

Reviewed March 11, 2024

A walking group of 19 descended on The Black Lion at 10 on Wednesday 6/3/24 (booked in advance). We were welcomed and served the tea/coffee we had requested with no delay. The lead member of staff was exemplary. We returned after our walk for lunches...we’d ordered at drinks to find a room laid out in an excellent manner that suited us all. Food arrived promptly and was of excellent quality. We shall certainly return both individually and as a group when next walking in the area.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2024

Good afternoon Kenneth, thank you for taking your time to leave us this review. I am delighted to hear you all had an enjoyable experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon (with walking boots too!) Many thanks, Chloe

Reviewed March 9, 2024

Super cosy ambience, great quality food and the team are really wonderful. Was also really impressed with the 0% sparkling rose. Lovely place to dine.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2024

Good afternoon, thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. I am so pleased to hear you had a positive experience with us. The sparkling rose is delicious, so delicate! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks, Chloe

Reviewed February 25, 2024 via mobile

Most amazing Sunday lunch, first class service, tacos great, shared roast out of this world, could not fault anything .. beef pork chicken, perfect yorkshires clearly cooked on site, parsnips, cauliflower … great desserts too .. will be back

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2024

Good morning, thank you for leaving us this wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear you loved the food. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Many thanks, Chloe

Reviewed February 19, 2024

We stayed 3 nights with our 2 dogs, very dog friendly, they even provide dog beds, bowls & a snack in case woofers get peckish staff are lovely & always on hand, the food was amazing, BEST SUNDAY ROAST , we hope to return soon...our humans , kind regards Rolo & Dilly xxMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Marketing at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2024

Good morning, thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We are so pleased you and your pooches had a delightful stay. We hope to welcome you back soon! Many thanks, Chloe

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Black Lion
255 reviews
.00 km away
Bull Hotel
915 reviews
.70 km away
The Crown Hotel & Restaurant
216 reviews
.84 km away
The Mill Hotel
2,118 reviews
5.28 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Long Melford Tea Room
239 reviews
1.08 km away
Scutchers Restaurant
263 reviews
.09 km away
Tiffin's Tea & Coffee House
343 reviews
1.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Holy Trinity Long Melford Church
190 reviews
.05 km away
Melford Hall
463 reviews
.92 km away
Kentwell Hall
827 reviews
1.34 km away
Imagine Gallery
6 reviews
.72 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
483angelaa
September 25, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from QuietSarah | Reviewed this property |
I can't remember if they do but do call them I found them very helpful
0
Votes
Mark L
April 21, 2019|
Answer
Response from Chestnut_Collection | Property representative |
Mark L, Thanks for the question. Yes, we allow dogs in our bar area. We also allow dogs in a selection of our rooms.
0
Votes
RoyJ1084
February 18, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chestnut_Collection | Property representative |
Unfortunately we do not have a television in the bar, nor are we licensed to show sporting events. Apologies for any inconvenience
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BLACK LION, Long Melford - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Black Lion

The Black Lion is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5