We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Bell & Steelyard

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, European, Central European
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
103 New Street, Woodbridge IP12 1DZ, England
+44 1394 382933
Website
Today
11:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 00:00
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Sat 11:30 - 00:30
12:00 - 00:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 63: English reviews
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a fascinating old pub, but it is also blessed with a friendly lively customer base. We enjoyed a very filling and good value meal , some excellent ales and a live band (Ramoras) who were great fun, and played a range of 60/70/80 covers, the highlight was watching the crown from Woodbridge RFC getting into a slightly goodnatured... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hugh G
northbanker117, Owner at Ye Olde Bell & Steelyard, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Hugh. Yep a great night was had by all, very pleased that you enjoyed it. We are at a loss to know how the rugby lads get so 'tipsy' as they seem to spill most of it lol Tom Bell and Steelyard More 

Level Contributor
134 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a yummy Sunday lunch here so was looking forward to a midweek return. I watched a lady, on Sunday, devour her pork belly meal and crunch away on perfectly cooked crackling and wiped her plate clean. So it was an easy choice for me to select this and some sweet potato fries (my fave) and a kale coleslaw... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria1719Cottage
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Just returned home from a very delicious Sunday roast and a pint. Glad we got in early as we hadn't booked and they were turning people away. Obviously a very popular pub 😀

Helpful?
Thank Jammie16
Bramford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

Visited this pub for the first time in many years. Only had a sandwich and a couple of pints of excellent beer but if the rest of the menu is up to this standard it should be very good. Lovely old unspoiled proper friendly pub. Excellent range of real ales. Will certainly go back and try something else. Great, friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank cobby2016
Hollesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Called in here on a Sunday lunchtime and had an excellent Sunday roast. Staff were very friendly and accommodating and there is a pleasant atmosphere in this obviously very old pub. We'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank Paulyn_04
northbanker117, Owner at Ye Olde Bell & Steelyard, responded to this review

Hi Pauline Thanks for great review. Very glad that your Sunday lunch came up to scratch, we do pride ourselves in our roasts. Thank you for your custom and hope to see you again soon Tom More 

Tring
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016

I am always reluctant to give negative reviews but I have to say that this place did not live up to any of the claims that they make in their publicity. Admittedly, we were there on a Monday evening when most restaurants are slow but this really did not justify the poor quality of food and service we received. They... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill2Liz
northbanker117, Owner at Ye Olde Bell & Steelyard, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had a bad experience with us. Yes it was a Monday and yes the staff on were part time but as you say this is no excuse. I can not understand why customers were told we were fully booked on a Monday evening but this is something I will get to the bottom of!!!!... More 

Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2016

Revisted the pub for a meal having been in prior for drinks earlier. As always the welcome was very warm and the menu catered for Coliacs. We both had the sizzling beef special that made a very nice change. The meal was excellent as usual and my dog well looked after. If you like your pubs to be pubs that... More 

Helpful?
Thank stuart w
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016

We were a party if 4 with a toddler and popped in because we had heard a ancestor had been a landlord there many moons ago ( although we got no further with that the lady was so very helpful) I wouldn't say the pub is child friendly,but they were so friendly and helpful and this is a traditional pub,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sozlovesholisays
northbanker117, Owner at Ye Olde Bell & Steelyard, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed our pub. If you would like to drop me a e mail with as many details of your ancestor as possible I will try and look him up for you. Hope the little one got his/her jelly babies. e mail abertawe123@gmail.com More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2016

After a three-year period we once again visited this pub although did not eat this time. The pub remains a beautiful spot with many old paintings and artifacts spread throughout the facility making for a very 'homey' atmosphere. The back garden is absolutely beautiful and it is obvious a lot of work goes into it by someone with a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allison C
northbanker117, Owner at Ye Olde Bell & Steelyard, responded to this review

Thank you Alison, glad you enjoyed our pub. You are correct in that we close for a spruce up on october 10 for ten days, nothing major just a wash and brush up. So glad you liked the garden, we are proud winners of the Woodbridge in bloom trophy this year. Hope you enjoyed your stay in 'Woody' and hope... More 

Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

I have visited this pub many times over the past few years and never been disappointed. Superbly kept beer,good food,no blaring pop music,dog friendly and no screaming kids.thank you very much.

Helpful?
Thank Colin B
northbanker117, Owner at Ye Olde Bell & Steelyard, responded to this review

You are very welcome. Thanks for your continuing custom. Your values when it comes to pubs match ours perfectly!!!!! More 

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Bell & Steelyard also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to Ye Olde Bell & Steelyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$22
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, European, Central European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Waitstaff
Good for
Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 00:00
Monday
11:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Thursday
11:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Friday
11:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:30 - 00:30
12:00 - 00:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 103 New Street, Woodbridge IP12 1DZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Woodbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1394 382933

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ye Olde Bell & Steelyard and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde Bell & Steelyard staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?