We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Drummond

55-56 Woodbridge Road, Guildford GU1 4RF, England
+44 1483 579395
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good32%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (18 reviews)
“mixed roast” (3 reviews)
“chorizo” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
55-56 Woodbridge Road, Guildford GU1 4RF, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

my nephew and I visited the world famous andersons guitar shop next door and popped in for a 3pm midday lunch and couldn't have been made more welcome and had a better experience . The food was not only lovely and fresh and the tim...More

Thank lilyharveyandco
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took my daughter, her friend and Father for Sunday lunch. The place had a grubby feel about it. The barman assured me that they made the best roast anywhere. I was most disappointed, the food was served Luke warm, the meat tough, covered in congealed...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at The Drummond, responded to this review

Hi there, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. My Chef's are proud of the food we serve and can only apologise the food...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I came here with a mate who lives locally. What immediately won me over was the fact I could bring my dog inside. Well, If I was told otherwise, id have done a 180 and left. The place is extremely spacious. The staff are very...More

1  Thank Bonestorm109
General Manager A, Manager at The Drummond, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review Glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We will do even better if you visit again and hopefully get that extra star Hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Craig & the Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Table booked for 5 plus two babies. All our roasts were lovely but the service was pretty average. Miserable staff! Have to order at the bar which is fine but staff did not clear plates & told my husband it was because the prams were...More

Thank Shelliebee
General Manager A, Manager at The Drummond, responded to this review

Hi Shelliebee, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. My team are usually brilliant and I apologise they where not up to our normal...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently refurbished, the Drummond now has an excellent kitchen serving above-average pub grub with a twist. Well-kept bar, pleasant enlarged garden area, and it's dog and child friendly.The bar staff are cheery and on the ball. Bulldog Drummond features on the menus, and he would...More

Thank David C
General Manager A, Manager at The Drummond, responded to this review

Hi David, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Drummond! We look forward to your next visit! Take care! Tom & The Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Waited 1hr 20mins for food with a 3 yr old and a heavily pregnant woman. When complained got told that we were informed at booking (which we weren't) because the wait was long had 3 pints on an empty stomach which didn't help. The waiter...More

1  Thank Harlon H
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Walked past, saw the English Bulldog . Have one (bulldog)- went in. Nice look and feel. Friendly and fast service. Ordered pan fried scallops with chorizo. The chorizo was a bit burned (bitter) , the scallops , which was added later, was perfectly done. All...More

1  Thank Riël G
General Manager A, Manager at The Drummond, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and apologise that the chorizo was burned and not to your liking. We take great pride in our food and the kitchen team are not happy the...More

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

A really nice pub with a good menu and nice food, but it would've been a much better experience had the waitress smiled or made eye contact! It was just awkward and she was pretty hopeless with our orders too... Maybe she was having a...More

Thank TheLongStone
General Manager A, Manager at The Drummond, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Drummond take our reviews very seriously. We're really sorry that the waitress was not her usual best, as all my team are fully trained and enjoy working at The Drummond and are fantastic...More

Reviewed 3 April 2017

Following the refurbishment of the pub, we went for dinner and drink after work and had an awesome time! The service was spot on, attentive but not in your face and the food was great. The crown jewel of this place is the beer garden...More

Thank jasonlc87
General Manager A, Manager at The Drummond, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your review We are very pleased that you enjoyed the all new Drummond and that your visit was a pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer to enjoy the new garden...More

Reviewed 24 March 2017

I've been a regular at this pub for many years now and have kept coming back because of the great atmosphere and (usually) good food. However, over the years the prices have crept up, the food quality has diminished and the staff seem to be...More

1  Thank Hayden348
General Manager A, Manager at The Drummond, responded to this review

Hi, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Drummond take our reviews very seriously. We are sorry you feel this way about the team at The Drummond. We are a very close and friendly team who enjoy working here together...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Park Room Restaurant
16 reviews
.47 km away
All Bar One Guildford
202 reviews
.55 km away
The Beano Restaurant
72 reviews
.53 km away
The Stoke Pub & Pizzeria
199 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dapdune Wharf
91 reviews
.20 km away
Stoke Park
44 reviews
.50 km away
The Boileroom
25 reviews
.27 km away
Tunsgate Arch
23 reviews
.67 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Drummond staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$21
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 55-56 Woodbridge Road, Guildford GU1 4RF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Guildford
  • Phone Number: +44 1483 579395
  • E-mail
Description
The cream of Guildford pubs. You'll find The Drummond just outside Guildford Cricket Club, but you won't find another like it. There's always something good on, even if it's just in the culinary sense, so park yourself on one of our old-school bar stools and indulge in a plate of superb seasonal pub food, which you can see being freshly prepared in our open kitchen. Plus we've got more wines, spirits and speciality beers than you can shake a wicket keeper at. Put it this way, we know our Pilsner from our Peroni.
Thank you to everyone that takes the time to review us! We appreciate all feedback and look forwards to seeing you again soon or meeting you for the first time.