We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fat Hippo Jesmond

35A St. Georges Terrace | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2SU, England
+44 191 340 8949
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (365 reviews)
“onion rings” (40 reviews)
“dirty fries” (10 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 21:30All hours
CUISINES
American, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
35A St. Georges Terrace | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2SU, England
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Living close by we come here if we want guaranteed fast service with great burgers. If you can get the week deal then it's definitely worth it - the mac and cheese balls and dirty skins for starters are really good. As for burgers, the...More

Thank Beth T
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Only a couple of other couples in there yet they managed to get every one of our orders wrong ! Got two of our chips wrong and a burger wrong! Yet there were as many staff as customers ! Very confused how you can get...More

Thank Emma B
FatHippoRestaurants, Brand Ambassador at Fat Hippo Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're glad to hear you received such friendly customer service, but its disappointing to read that there was a mistake with your order. With regards to your experience with our service this is something we will be investigating to make sure training is implemented where...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food is really tasty and the staff are friendly. We spent spent a while arguing over who had the tastiest burger but we couldn't decide because they were all gorgeous. I had the Candy Man burger with Dirty Fries and a Fat Hippo IPA....More

Thank Stephen B
FatHippoRestaurants, Brand Ambassador at Fat Hippo Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great to hear you enjoyed your burgers so much! We look forward to seeing you return again. Thanks, Mercede

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Fat Hippo - Jesmond. 2 courses for £11.95. We ordered extra onion rings and upgraded the fries to dirty ones with cheese sauce and bacon. There was 3 of us with drinks it was £50. Lovely place, small but cosy. Worth a visit. Would return...More

Thank melanieann88
FatHippoRestaurants, Brand Ambassador at Fat Hippo Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

I'm pleased to hear you had such a great time! I have passed on your comments to the restaurant manager, we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks, Mercede

Reviewed 16 May 2017

Heard good things about this place on our hen weekend stay in Jesmond. Wow, it was all very true. The burger we had here was amazing. So tasty and incredible. Highly recommend to anyone!

Thank Samantha T
FatHippoRestaurants, Brand Ambassador at Fat Hippo Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. Glad you had such a lovely time! Hope to see you again soon. Thanks, Mercede

Reviewed 15 May 2017

Fat Hippo in Jesmond the best burger I've ever had. The Fat Hippo was my choice of burger. The sauce they put on it is outstanding. Will definitely be back very soon!

Thank James M
FatHippoRestaurants, Brand Ambassador at Fat Hippo Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thanks for the lovely review! We're glad to hear you had a great time. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks, Mercede

Reviewed 13 May 2017

We really wanted to like the fat hippo after having an amazing burger from them at an event elsewhere but were left feeling a bit dissapointed. The restaurant itself is well decorated but seems a bit sticky and unclean, however the staff were speedy and...More

Thank EnJM
FatHippoRestaurants, Brand Ambassador at Fat Hippo Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

We're sorry to hear you felt disappointed by your experience at Fat Hippo Jesmond. If you would like to discuss your visit further, please contact our general manager Matt on matt@fathippo.co.uk Thanks, Mercede

Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Very obliging staff and an OK Burger. Milkshake and sweet potato fries all arrived quickly and hot, just the burger was not that exciting but I guess what else would you expect. Clean and well run.

Thank Dik B
FatHippoRestaurants, Brand Ambassador at Fat Hippo Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thanks for acknowledging the friendly and efficient service, despite the fact that our food let you down on this occasion. We're always looking for ways to improve, and we'll certainly be -taking your criticisms on board. Thanks, Mercede

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Visited here on a Saturday afternoon. The staff were friendly, the burgers were OK but had much better however the chips were diabolical! They consisted of deep fire stale fat with no potato in them. We complained to the waiter and he offered some fresh...More

Thank Chris19_09
FatHippoRestaurants, Brand Ambassador at Fat Hippo Jesmond, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

We're sorry to hear you felt disappointed by your experience at Fat Hippo Jesmond. It makes for a disappointing read and it's certainly not the sort of experience we'd expect you to have at any of our restaurants. I have passed on your comments to...More

Reviewed 30 April 2017

Tasteless, bland and incredibly average. The burgers are far too small, the brioche bun is nice, but the meat is a letdown

Thank CharlesJeff
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bistro Forty Six
382 reviews
.18 km away
Dabbawal
281 reviews
.15 km away
Arlo
397 reviews
.18 km away
Cake Stories
78 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Jesmond Dene Park
996 reviews
.91 km away
The Great North Museum
641 reviews
1.40 km away
Wylam Brewery
104 reviews
.93 km away
Newcastle Mansion House
56 reviews
.92 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Fat Hippo Jesmond staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$19
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 35A St. Georges Terrace | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2SU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 340 8949
  • E-mail
Description
Fat Hippo specialise in the good kind of gluttony: making indulgent burgers that have you loosening your belt buckle before you've even started!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing