We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Townhouse

16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
+44 1789 262222
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good28%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“ham hock” (4 reviews)
“cod” (9 reviews)
“calves liver” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Soups, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Went here with an elderly friend for Saturday lunch. The staff were very attentive, the food well-cooked and tasty and a decent wine list. The staff were happy for us to take our time between courses and we ended up spending over 4 hours on...More

Thank MidlandsElaine
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Always happy to look after you and you are more than welcome back when ever you are in town again Thank you for your kind words, hope you can come back and see us again very soon Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my first ever review and unfortunately it's not a good one. The Townhouse seems to be all style and no substance.it looks beautiful but I really wasn't impressed with the food at all. I really don't like to complain but I came away...More

Thank Sarah W
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Sorry to read all about your experience and as you can see from a lot of our review of late this doesn't really sound true to form, I have sent you a direct message and look forward to hearing back from you. Many Thanks...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time we have visited The Townhouse and have not been disappointed. The staff are helpful and friendly and the food is prepared to perfection. The menu was limited as it is a special Sunday menu, but really nice food.

Thank marsh1windsor
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great news that you have been looked after so well twice now!! We look forward to the next time as Sundays are proving great fun with our live music and cocktail offer Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here but the experience was average. Although we had reserved a table we were given a table by the front door. The service was efficient and the starters tasty. However, the mains were far too salty. The dessert was delicious....More

Thank Howget
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your kind words, hope you can come back and see us again very soon Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a nice meal in a very quiet restaurant. The food was served in reasonable time and was quite tasty. The duck was a bit tougher that I normally like. No draught beer!

1  Thank Brian D
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, what a shame you never noticed our cask ales, we have 2 fantastic ales on from Brakespear. MAke sure you try them next time you join us for supper Many Thanks Neil Hanson

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband's choice for his birthday meal. Our family party all enjoyed themselves. The staff were very accommodating when we had to change our arrival time at the last minute. The food arrived at an appropriately leisurely pace so that we could savour our delicious...More

Thank WildRover007
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed your husbands birthday visit, hope we are now your venue of choice more frequently!!! Kind Regards Neil Hanson General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was lovely and the portions were just right. The atmosphere was great and the staff were attentive and couldn't do enough. Everywhere was clean and the prices were good.

Thank go_harbinger
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback, we look forward to you returning soon Kind Regards Neil Hanson General Manager

Reviewed 1 July 2017

This was the third time at the Townhouse in the last month. The Pre-Theatre set menu is great value (£16.50 for 3 courses!) and the food very good. The Ham Hock salad starter was very good and the Haddock & Chips was very well done....More

Thank Rob N
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you for the feedback and I am so happy you enjoyed the dishes on our new summer menu Don't leave it too long to return!! Best Neil Hanson General Manager

Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

I was left disappointed, and it was a shame. The staff were friendly but the two young girls seems inexperienced. We asked for a bread board and was served sliced slightly stale bread from what seemed like a supermarket loaf. Not what you expect (to...More

Thank Joanna381
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Sorry to read the comments but thank you for making us aware of some attention to detail we need to concentrate on, Its a shame you feel you wouldn't return but as we wont get chance to show case any changes we make but of...More

Reviewed 22 June 2017

We had been left hanging across the road waiting for food so walked in here looking for a table (Tuesday 20th. June 2017 around 20:00). The guy on the door was very nice and polite and showed us a table and got our menus. He...More

Thank garstonian
townhouse17, General Manager at The Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Lovely to read your comments and hope to see you soon Many Thanks Neil Hanson General Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lambs Restaurant
1,739 reviews
.21 km away
No 9 Church St
804 reviews
.07 km away
Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar
2,816 reviews
.17 km away
Sorrento Restaurant ... a taste of Italy
825 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hall's Croft
647 reviews
.21 km away
Shakespeare's Schoolroom & Guildhall
213 reviews
.01 km away
Tudor World
716 reviews
.24 km away
River Avon Chain Ferry
165 reviews
.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Fusspot43
10 April 2016|
Answer
Response from townhouse17 | Property representative |
Thanks for the question, Fusspot43. Yes we serve breakfast to non-residents between 8am and 11.45am. We have a menu with all items individually priced from a croissant or toast with butter and preserves (each priced at... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$18 - US$52
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Stratford-upon-Avon
  • Phone Number: +44 1789 262222
  • E-mail
Description
Relaxed dining with a great pub feel in a historic 400 year-old building. Daily changing specials and just about one of the the best gin-lists in the area.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing