We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Purnell's

55 Cornwall Street, Birmingham B3 2DH, England
+44 121 212 9799
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good12%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tasting menu” (171 reviews)
“egg custard” (36 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
55 Cornwall Street, Birmingham B3 2DH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,429 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
61
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The whole evening was of absolute perfection. Treated to a night out by my partner, I couldn't fault one single part of the evening. Fantastic food paired with fabulous wine. Bravo!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely lunch at Purnell's and thoroughly enjoyed every element of the five course summer menu. The service is outstanding - the front of house team are friendly, informative, good humoured and thoughtful. The food is even better. We like Mr Purnell's style...More

Thank Anne H
Reviewed 1 week ago

A small intimate restaurant with a homely feel while being open and airy. I could see in to the kitchen and watch as the chef's prepared my delightful taster menu (Mr Purnell in presence). There was a warm, delightful lounge for a pre, or post...More

Thank billywebster
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had the 3 course lunch. Food was fabulous, service and atmosphere great. Missing the finishing touches that Adams is so good at delivering. Great to see these restaurants delivering such high level food experiences in Birmingham

2  Thank Nic W
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the £68 tasting menu and every course was delicious.There is a playful approach to the menu but at no point was flavour or quality compromised. We will certainly look forward to a return visit.

1  Thank Clare A
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit and it definitely won't be our last. Everything was spot on. Staff were friendly and efficient without being intrusive. Food was spectacular. We didn't want it to end! Wine was excellent too. Glynn was in the kitchen but unfortunately we...More

1  Thank bowlerwife62
Reviewed 1 week ago

Eat here with a group of friends and were seated in a lovely private room at no extra cost.We had booked a set menu deal but they were very accommodating in changing one of the courses. Every course was excellent and beautifully described by the...More

1  Thank Voyager28
Reviewed 1 week ago

We should be on commission for the number of people we've introduced to "Brummie Tapas"! This time there were eight of us and service as expected was excellent. Each course was delicious. If you're looking for something different in a Michelin restaurant at prices that...More

1  Thank bcfc1950
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

We glad you enjoyed the interaction at the Brummie tapas the relaxed informal dining experience that comes with it! See you all soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had the 10 years celebration menu (witch is the biggest) for 88 pound, witch felt as a real good deal. All the dishes were very good, nicely presented and at the end you felt just good. So very good portion wise. We did not order...More

Thank WimLeuven
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited for there before for the nine course dinner menu, I knew what to expect and it didn't disappoint. It's no point talking about the quality of the food and wine, as excellence is taken for granted at a Michelin Star restaurant. However, friendliness...More

Thank Jlwderby
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Asha's Indian Resturant and Bar
1,414 reviews
.13 km away
The Old Contemptibles
272 reviews
.17 km away
Purnell's Bistro and Ginger's Bar
1,107 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery
2,795 reviews
.26 km away
Town Hall Birmingham
460 reviews
.32 km away
Birmingham Cathedral
219 reviews
.26 km away
Great Western Arcade
44 reviews
.32 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bot-the-golfer
26 October 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from bot-the-golfer |
Thanks
1
Vote
Katie B
24 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Stuartmcl60 | Reviewed this property |
Hi. We were there well after 9. I think that must be the latest orders go to the kitchen.
0
Votes
michael c
22 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Clarelovesholidays | Reviewed this property |
Maybe in the day time but unsure of an evening if they call the restaurant they will advise
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Private Dining, Waitstaff
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Tuesday
12:00 - 13:30
19:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 13:30
19:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 13:30
19:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 13:30
19:00 - 21:00
Saturday
19:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 55 Cornwall Street, Birmingham B3 2DH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Birmingham>  > Ladywood
  • Neighbourhood: Ladywood
  • Phone Number: +44 121 212 9799
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing